We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Clean, and Welcoming Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Modern decor, comfy beds, friendly and caring staff. Most importantly, within walking distance of excellent shopping and dining in Waikiki! Valet parking only, but it's worth it in the heavy traffic...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deth2NW0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Aloha Deth2NW0,

Thank you for your review! We know it takes some effort to write a review so we value each review from every guest.
We are so happy that our staff was so outstanding and able to provide you with everything you needed and wanted.
We hope that this experience you had will lead to another stay here with us!
We look forward to seeing you again!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel is great. The rooms are clean, nice, food is great. You can't hear people next to you. It's also located in a great area, not too busy around that area and if you want to eat out of the hotel Cheese Burger restaurant is right next door, they have happy hour that run late in the evening. if you have a rental car, be prepared to pay $30/day for parking, but all hotels around the area have the same deal...can't get away from it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank 777anthonyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Aloha 777anthonyv,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate every review that is written, as we use them to better understand guests needs and to correct problems we may have.
Thank you for giving us a such a high rating! We are always so pleased when we see that. It means that we have done our job right and someone has left happy.
We hope that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Nice and clean hotel. Complimentary internet in the lobby and business center. Parking is $30 per night, valet only. Rooms are loud BUT it is located in the middle of the city, so whoever would want to complain about that would be just silly...

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank eflikimlkfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Aloha eflikimlkfk,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your stay.
We are happy to hear that you were satisified with the cleanliness of your room. Our staff works hard to make sure that each room is impeccably clean and each guest completey satisfied.
We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Doubletree Alana strikes me as a medium range business class hotel which, due to its location, also caters to a lot of tourists. It’s not in the same class as the big resorts nearby, but it could be a good alternative depending on what you are looking for. I stayed here recently for two nights while in town on business. The hotel is on busy Ala Moana on the western edge of Waikiki. You will have to walk a few blocks to the beaches or most of the shopping and restaurants. There are a few restaurants close by, notably Cheeseburger Waikiki (see my separate review), Todai and Tony Roma’s. The hotel lobby area is up a short escalator (or one story up on the elevator) from the driveway. The lobby area is small. Parking is by valet only ($30 per day at this writing). I got free wireless internet access but this may not be available to everyone. The hotel met the basics for me: although my room was rather small, it was clean, quiet, had a comfortable bed, and the temperature control actually worked. My room also had a balcony and a small fridge (no microwave). The in-room safe stopped working after the first day, a minor inconvenience. There is no complimentary breakfast. I had breakfast at the on-site ‘Trees’ restaurant and it was fine. On a weekday morning during tourist season I had to wait for a table. I did not have the breakfast buffet, but it looked very good with an on-duty chef making omelets and waffles. The breakfast buffet was $23 which by Waikiki standards is cheap. Although not my preferred place to stay when in town, I would stay here again

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gypsyuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Aloha gypsyuno,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth and detailed review! Reviews like your help our current and future guests know what to expect.
We apologize for the inconvience you experienced with your in room safe. We hope though, that aside from that, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we will see you again in the future!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel located within walking distance of anything you'd like to see or do.
Both standard suites and penthouse rooms are nice with a good view in upper levels.
Offers shuttle to and from Honolulu international and taxi service if needed.
Valet parking standard so no hazzle.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank ColbyButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Aloha ColbyButler,

We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time spent with us!
We hope we were able to meet all of your expectations and needs while you were here.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Belated review by only a few days:

Here for overnight on a work trip, the Alana met most of my picky demands. At our arrival the staff was nice but present my coworker and I with the news that his room was not ready. So, they knocked off parking ($30'a day i'm guessing). It was a nice location and walking distance to the beach, which I sadly didn't have time to visit on this trip. Decor, beds, and small things were great.

The downside to this place, most Doubletrees charge for breakfast unless you're a gold or diamond member. Not a huge deal. But since my stay was rather short, I never had time to veg out and surf the web. Seemingly this place must live under high pressed order. Most Doubletrees have wifi included it seems or staff are generous to give access. Not so much here.

In this day and age, wifi might be a deal breaker for some...ie my Wife. If in the future I end up here, I might pressure my company to steer away from this Hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank Point432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Aloha Point432,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay with us. We enjoy reading reviews and they are also very helpful to future guests.
We apologize for the inconvience you experienced of not having your room ready on time, as well as the internet charge. We always strive to give guests the best experience possible, and it appears that we fell short.
We hope that the next time you visit Oahu you will have a chance to enjoy the island. As well as giving us another chance at correcting what you disliked during your past stay.

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great hotel to have a Comfortable stay and easy access to most of the places. All the basic facilities have been provided without any fuss. Only thing, I didn't like in the room is the distance of TV from the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Koushik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Aloha Koushik M,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about you stay with us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, but are sorry about the discomfort you experienced with the tvs distance to the bed. We will look into a way to remedy this issue.
We do hope that we will see you again in the future!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
741 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,650 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $177 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing