We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoubleTree Alana Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Portland, United States
2 reviews
“DoubleTree Alana Waikiki”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Good quality . . . room was very comfortable. Very convenient location . . . easy to get anywhere from here. Staff was very friendly and accommodating to any requests. Definitely will return. However, having a min. 200 character count on a review is annoying.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dennis M. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha Dennis M. J,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay.
We are pleased that we were able to make your stay here so enjoyable!
We look forward to seeing you again!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    530
    315
    115
    56
See reviews for
345
337
110
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel located in a busier more congested area. Close to Hilton Hawaiian Village Shops and Activites. Decent walk to central Waikiki. Spacious, clean rooms with balcony views between other buildings. Small basic lobby, could use more help at the check in desk. Room was not available until after 7pm. Bell check was efficient and reliable. Was able to store bags before room was available, bags were then delivered to room upon request.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Martina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha 7519claridge,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We use reviews to better our service and give future guests a better stay.
We want to sincerely apologize for the length of time it took for your room to be ready. We will be looking into the cause of the delay in order for this to not happen again.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a wonderful stay.

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Room was small compared to other hotels in the area. Location was great walking distance to places to eat. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if your looking for long term stay. Maybe for just overnight. I liked the Modern Honolulu better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha Jocelyn M.,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience while staying with us.
We want to apologize that you were not completely satisfied during your stay.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you are in Honolulu.
We hope to see you again!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Though there were a few minor issues with our room, the customer service at the DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki was great! The personnel at the front desk were very professional, greatly knowledgeable about the island, extremely helpful and just plain friendly. They were great at getting directions to sights/attractions. Skip the concierges ( pretty useless and not helpful or knowledgeable) and ask at the desk. We had a couple of problems with room, but maintenance staff was quick to repair. Good rates and great location. Rooms were nice and CLEAN!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Aloha blcats,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We always enjoy hearing about guest experiences.
We want to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with your room, but we are happy to hear that the problems were quickly resolved by our maintenance team.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great property and great location at the western edge of Waikiki (Hawaii), but staff services were sadly limited and disoriented. The first clue is when the restaurant staff indicate, repeatedly, that items from both their food and drink menu are not available. The food available was greasy (rarely do I use this term) and poorly prepared. The second clue was the 6:00 AM call from allegedly the front desk trying to scam my credit card. Fortunately, I refused to provide the number and received a blank look from the front desk when I reported it. Oddly, internet access is available for free in common areas, but $9.95 per day in the room for very, very limited and uneven wifi connectivity. It is though this property is an anachronism that just hasn't kept up with the times, including assuring that food and beverage supplies are available for restaurant, bar and catering services.
On the plus size, the rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. House keeping was thorough and reliable. A daily LOCAL newspaper was provided, which I greatly appreciate!

Room Tip: Personally, I prefer a high floor to get away from traffic noise and get a view of something, even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumtux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Aloha kumtux,

Thank you for taking the time to express the issues you experienced with us. We use feedback from guests to improve our service and hotel.
We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced while staying here. As a full service hotel we should always be able to meet the needs of our guests and beyond. We will work on resolving these issues as quickly as possible.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with an exemplary stay the next time you are in Waikiki.

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaaawa, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Affordable Rates and a Great Staff. Will definitely stay again. The room was exceptionally comfortable and clean. The food had great flavor and priced right. Lobby kind of small if a crowed shows up but with the knowledgeable staff your check in quick and up to your room you go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 706samuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Aloha 706samuell,

Thank you for providing us with feedback about your stay.
The goal of every employee is to assure that every guest has a wonderful stay. We are happy to hear that was the case with you.
We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good midscale hotel. Not beach proximate but beach access is an easy 5+ minute walk. Waikiki restaurants and stores are within walking distance but are farther than the beach. King room was fine. Queen rooms looked good for a family. Rooms was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Aloha Tony D,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,311 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,294 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing