We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rennovations made a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Delaware USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rennovations made a difference”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have stayed at this properety for years. It had become dated. But after the renovation, this hotel is much better. The rooms are crisp and clean and the service has improved (same staff, just happier people). Althought not on the beach, it is a short walk to all that is Waikiki. Will stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppiraino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    524
    309
    115
    52
See reviews for
341
332
107
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My 3-night stay @ The Doubletree by Hilton was even more than I expect from a hotel. The service from the A+ staff always started with a smile and ended with a smile. The service was top notch no matter if I was dealing with Housekeeping; Porters/Valet Service; the Front Desk or the staff the small restaurant, Trees (their prime rib could stand up against the 5 star restaurants). Then there were the warm cookies, the heated pool, the lovely rooms, the crisp white linens, the fluffy towels and the in room coffee pots. My only request/suggestion would be to get rid of the paper coffee cups. Would I come back? Absolutely! Recommend to my friends? Most assuredly!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife. As a Hhonors Gold member I received a room upgrade and complementary continental breakfast. Thus the stay started out well, but then there were the small problems.

1) The room was too cold and even if you turn the A/C off it regularly comes back on.
2) The water in the bathroom stank. I think that their water tank on the roof probably was due for a cleaning several years ago.
3) The continental breakfast was disappointing. On the first day, none of the food had labels on it. We couldn't tell which container was 2% milk and which was skim, for example except by looking at the color of the puddle under the spout! The bagels were not real bagels -- too breadlike. We had oatmeal on all 3 days. One the last day, they finally put out some containers with brown sugar, raisins, etc. which they obviously had forgotten to put out the first two days.

The location is a bit remote. It's about a 15 minute walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center and perhaps a little less to the Waikiki section of Kalakaua. A car is recommended.

Room Tip: Oceanview isn't worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trobb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We tried the Doubletree after a friend recommended it. I went on-line and found a deal with breakfast included. My husband called the Hilton directly and asked for the same deal. They told him he could get it through them with the government employee rate. Our first morning we were surprised to find no breakfast was included. We are a family of five with 3 teenagers and were counting on the breakfast. When we asked Rebecca at the desk if she could help us, she simply said "no you should have booked on the internet." Upon our return to Waikiki, we chose to stay at the ilikai. Still no breakfast, but the staff is kind and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torresjkafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Aloha torresjkafe,

Thank you for your review as we appreciate and value your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the miscommunication when you made your reservation with us and for not providing other options that included breakfast. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity when your travels bring you back to Honolulu so we have a chance to make your stay right. Mahalo (thank you) for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,
Michael Wilding
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very nice motel. Close to beach and other Honolulu places. Staff was very helpful. The room was very nice, clean and well maintained. The only complaint I have is no free WiFi in the room - you have to buy it per day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Very Unimpressed. As a HHonors Diamond member, I thought the benefits would be better. Received coupons for a continental breakfast (very sparse) with an offer to upgrade to scrambled eggs for $7. $30 a day for parking. Other Hilton hotels in the area offer much more at better prices and are closer to the beach. Was told I would be charged $100 for an early checkout, ridiculous! Had to request a late checkout of 2pm on the last day due to my flight leaving at 6pm and was asked by the cleaning staff several times when I would be leaving.
Would rather sleep in the park.

Room Tip: City view rooms give a good view of the alley. Ocean view rooms require binoculars to see the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Aloha Tim F,

Thank you for your review and the opportunity to improve on your experience. We are priveleged to have had the opportunity to serve you and appreciate your loyalty as a rewards member. We're disappointed that our amenity offerings were not what you expected. Your feedback is essential to ensuring we meet our expectations as a Diamond member and thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

If you are looking for a just a quick one or 2 night stay in Honolulu this hotel is the one. It's off the beach (but very walkable to it) so it's not a premium like the Waikiki hotels. We were on Oahu for just 2 days before continuing to Kauai. The staff was friendly, and warm. They all had smiles. Our room was clean and well done. It appeared pretty newly renovated. The bathroom was great...BEST SHOWER HEAD EVER....I have never had a great shower in a hotel before...but after a 12 hour flight from the east coast it was the best. Tons of water pressure and a great layout in the bathroom. Overall a wonderful hotel. Thanks so much!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room up high and on the front side of the hotel. it gets a little noisy with the garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullyinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing