We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton DoubleTree Alana in Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed February 11, 2014

First of let me start by saying I wouldn't have been able to stay without the fine help from the staff. I booked my room through Hilton reservations. Although I specifically asked for Waikiki, I was booked on a different island. Immediately after booking five rooms for our work staff we thought of an accommodation issue and learned of the mistake. The other Hilton transferred us to the Double Tree Alana where I would encounter the first of many exceptional people. I spoke to Elsa who right away saw the issue and set out to solve this issue. Despite having many things to check every so often she came back on the phone and told me she was still working on the reservation and apologized profusely for it taking so long. When all was said and done she had fixed our rooms and clarified the issues. Later the hotel General Manager called and wanted to make sure the problem was resolved. I was able to tell him yes in complete confidence. Finally when it came time for us to check in I got to meet Elsa who remembered the reservation and greeted me warmly and sincerely. It was at that time I learned of the issues that she had to overcome in securing our rooms. Unbeknownst to us the NFL pro-bowl was in town and she had kept an eye on our rooms so that there were no issues with our reservations. Our rooms were comfortable and accommodating. During the week that followed I saw Elsa and Rebecca many times and they always had a smile on their faces and no matter what they were doing they always greeted me by name and offered me a fresh warm Double Tree cookie. As a side note I want to thank Josie G. for taking the extra steps in keeping my room clean and her super pleasant demeanor to make sure she was not bothering me. The folks there at the Double Tree, every person at the desk and that I came across made sure to spread Aloha at every chance they had. My Thanks to Mr. Wilding for a excellent team.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for rooms high enough so there is little street noise as possible.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was my first ever stay at a Doubletree. The room and amenities were excellent. The location was easy to get to. The hotel is easy walking distance to restaurants/ shopping/ other stores. The 200 word minimum is a bit excessive

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Michael H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Standard double queen room in Honolulu that could be found anywhere stateside. Everyone at the counter was extremely helpful. Only negative was that $20 breakfast was a little unreasonable. Otherwise clean bed and room, decent stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I travel for work and when I go to Honolulu I stay at this hotel. It is within walking distance to Waikiki without paying the super high room prices. Most people who stay here are business travelers so unless there is a big tour bus it is normally fairly quite. The rooms are decent and the beds are plenty comfortable. Parking in all of Honolulu is horrid so if you have a rental car be prepared to pay for valet which I think is $30 a day. The breakfast is just ok. The continental breakfast is your basic fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, pastry, etc.. If you want eggs you will need to pay for the buffet breakfast. It is very tasty but for the limited options and the high price I wouldn't pay for it everyday. The bar/lounge opens at 5pm and the dinner food is some of the best food in the area. I recommend eating at least one night there, besides, the bar staff at night is fantastic. The combo of Earl, Wilfred and Natalia always make sure you are taken care of. Plus I regard Earl as one of the best bartenders on the island. The front desk and management staff have always been friendly and helpful with any of my needs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel staff was patient, knowledgeable and helpful with every inquiry. The management team was very caring, you could tell this carried over to the staff. The room was comfortable and very close to anything you wanted to do. I slept better on their bed/pillows than I have in 5-6 years. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to everyone I know that travels there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Pretty Average. Rooms were reasonable and well appointed. Just love those cookies at check in. The location in general is downtown and there are lots of city noises - sirens people in the room above you. The complimentary breakfast was on the week side, but you could buy up for hot food. Parking is horrendous so having valet parking is nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyra_casaviveconfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We live in Oahu and sometimes need to stay in Waikiki for business. We stayed at this hotel the first time simply because it was affordable. We found it to be better than any other hotel and now we ONLY stay here. The customer service is genuinely great (as opposed to the sugar coated phony you might find in other hotels.) It is also clean and updated, We love it

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
243 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $190 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing