We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu
2 reviews
“Great place for a meal”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A Hawaii and Waikiki resident for the past ten years, I've watched this hotel quietly go through various changes, Recently I had a chance to experience the great service and quality dining personally. The staff was friendly and helpful, the bathrooms were clean, and the restaurant had a nice ambiance. The fresh herbs from the poolside garden really enhanced my pasta dinner, and it was great to watch it made in front of me to my specifications. Despite our having a large party of around 20 people, the waitstaff was very attentive to our needs. I look forward to returning and seeing how the restaurant menu evolves. I will definitely consider this hotel as a venue for any future events, and I will definitely recommend this hotel when I make suggestions to visitors. It's worth it for those famous cookies alone... :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbsolutChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Aloha AbsolutChaos,

Thank you so much for your review and for visiting us on Pasta Night! Wednesday Pasta Nights are a team member favorite and is always a great time to mingle with our guests. The herbs from our garden are a wonderful addition to our property that brings a freshness to our ingredients that can only be experienced with a "home" herb garden.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    532
    316
    115
    56
See reviews for
346
338
110
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a very nice stay. The employees here are 5 stars. Everyone was outstanding. Especially Earl at the Tree Restaurant. Do not miss him. The Hotel is in a good locations. Walking distance to the beach. Very clean Hotel. Good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha K F,

Thank you for your review! Earl definitely makes our restaurant a fun and enjoyable environment. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you here again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

To start off, the food was excellent thanks to Brandon Mezurashi, the executive chef. Pasta night was loads of fun too. The manager, Jessica Heath, runs a great hotel with an amazing staff, all friendly and so helpful. Ask them about tours, good shopping, etc. and they have the answers. Jennifer is very hands on with her guests, making you feel extra special.

A big shout out to Earl at the bar, amazing cocktails and conversation, Danny at the front desk, really nice person, Jacob, front desk manager, also extremely friendly and informative, and finally, Lemomi, hope I spelled it correctly, she's a doll, events coordinator, great meeting her.

I will definitely come back to this hotel the next time I'm in Hawaii. Thanks again to the staff for making my stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: I was in 1420, has a great big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha Matthew R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community! Your compliments have been shared with our team members and are greatly appreciated. Please do come back to visit us soon...we look forward to welcoming you!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were looking for a hotel close to Ala Moana Shopping Ctr for our last day on the Islands to shop for gifts to bring back home. Being a former resident of Hawaii we are very familiar with this location and picked it because it is not in the heart of Waikiki and away from the crowds and noise, and we knew it was nice! We also needed to be at the airport early in the morning and did not want to get stuck in traffic with a long way to go through Waikiki which can be very bad. The room was clean, well stocked with coffee, refrigerator, and everything else to be comfortable, and we were given extra warm cookies to bring back home too. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha Jan M,

Once a kama'aina, always a kama'aina! Mahalo for choosing our hotel to complete your return home. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are looking for good value in Waikiki you can"t go wrong here. My wife and I stayed here at the end of our cruise and were really surprised at the comfort, convenience and hospitality we experienced here. The location is the only factor separating this hotel from the pricier options on the beach. For us, this was not an issue. The hotel was conveniently located in the downtown area close to great restaurants, stores and only a short walk to the Beach. If you want a great hotel at a better price point, you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha LMPMP,

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us! We are so glad to read that you found our hotel to be an great value. We hope you visit us again soon and appreciate your feedback.

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our last stop on our 2 month mammoth Honeymoon trip around the States and we wanted to treat ourselves by staying at a nice hotel. We are glad we chose this hotel, everything was excellent. Very comfortable bed, friendly staff and we got a warm cookie on arrival which was nice after a long flight from New York.

The only downside to this hotel is that you have to pay for wifi in the rooms, its free in the lobby but didnt really fancy sitting in the lobby all night to use the internet so we ended up tethering our phones.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cassie-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Aloha Cassie-Andy,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Honeymoon grand finale at our property! We are so glad you enjoyed the friendliness of our team members and the comfort of our Sweet Dreams DoubleTree by Hilton bed. Our warm chocolate chip cookie is definitely the best way to start any hotel stay! We do hope you visit again. (Maybe for an anniversary trip?)

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent property. Close to beach, but not so near that its crowded. Same for shopping. Great staff. Pool in shade majority of day, north side of building. Some lounge chairs are in sun - perfect combination.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Aloha Alison,

Thank you for your staying with us and sharing your experience! We appreciate your feedback and have shared your compliments with the rest of our team members. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,315 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
372 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing