We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really Nice Kama'aina Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Nice Kama'aina Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were looking for a hotel close to Ala Moana Shopping Ctr for our last day on the Islands to shop for gifts to bring back home. Being a former resident of Hawaii we are very familiar with this location and picked it because it is not in the heart of Waikiki and away from the crowds and noise, and we knew it was nice! We also needed to be at the airport early in the morning and did not want to get stuck in traffic with a long way to go through Waikiki which can be very bad. The room was clean, well stocked with coffee, refrigerator, and everything else to be comfortable, and we were given extra warm cookies to bring back home too. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha Jan M,

Once a kama'aina, always a kama'aina! Mahalo for choosing our hotel to complete your return home. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    465
    276
    95
    48
See reviews for
305
283
92
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are looking for good value in Waikiki you can"t go wrong here. My wife and I stayed here at the end of our cruise and were really surprised at the comfort, convenience and hospitality we experienced here. The location is the only factor separating this hotel from the pricier options on the beach. For us, this was not an issue. The hotel was conveniently located in the downtown area close to great restaurants, stores and only a short walk to the Beach. If you want a great hotel at a better price point, you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha LMPMP,

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us! We are so glad to read that you found our hotel to be an great value. We hope you visit us again soon and appreciate your feedback.

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our last stop on our 2 month mammoth Honeymoon trip around the States and we wanted to treat ourselves by staying at a nice hotel. We are glad we chose this hotel, everything was excellent. Very comfortable bed, friendly staff and we got a warm cookie on arrival which was nice after a long flight from New York.

The only downside to this hotel is that you have to pay for wifi in the rooms, its free in the lobby but didnt really fancy sitting in the lobby all night to use the internet so we ended up tethering our phones.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cassie-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Aloha Cassie-Andy,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Honeymoon grand finale at our property! We are so glad you enjoyed the friendliness of our team members and the comfort of our Sweet Dreams DoubleTree by Hilton bed. Our warm chocolate chip cookie is definitely the best way to start any hotel stay! We do hope you visit again. (Maybe for an anniversary trip?)

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent property. Close to beach, but not so near that its crowded. Same for shopping. Great staff. Pool in shade majority of day, north side of building. Some lounge chairs are in sun - perfect combination.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Aloha Alison,

Thank you for your staying with us and sharing your experience! We appreciate your feedback and have shared your compliments with the rest of our team members. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There was a security/safety issue during our stay there. Asked to switch rooms because of this and was put on the lower floors. (Hilton honor members stay on the higher floors). Lower floor was dirty and grungy. The room itself was dark and gloomy. (did not look like the picture on the website). plus it was on the street level so did not want to open up the curtains. Door would not completely shut, had to tug on it to lock into place. side light by the bed did not work. Shower stall leaked water and there was a flood in the bathroom when you were done. Waitresses at breakfast weren't helpful and only after we were done eating did they ask if we needed ketchup, more coffee, etc. Elevator and vallet service stops after a certain time at night, so you could be left stranded on the lower level for a while until you find security to send the elevator down so you can go to your room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Aloha Wendy,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We regret to hear about your disappointment during your time with us and we do extend our sincere apologies for the various challenges that you experienced. The comfort and safety of our guests is our number one concern and we apologize you did not feel totally safe on our property. We are continuously striving to enhance our overall guest experience so we thank you for your feedback. We hope you return and provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The room was nice and clean, the staff from bell desk to the front desk and everyone in between were friendly and efficient. Warm cookies...yummy! The valet staff were especially nice and helpful. Special mahalo to Jeff for the hospitality. ..true embodiment of aloha spirit! Would recommend to family and friends, kamaaina and from out of state.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank healanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Aloha healanim,

Mahalo for your great review! We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and efficient. I feel the same way about all our team members! Thank you for sharing your experience with your family, friends and everyone in the Tripadvisor community.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Valet is $30, they did not bring up all of our luggage, the bell hop stood around and waited for his tip. We paid over $300 for 1 room. There were 4 adults and one child...2 FULL size beds, no breakfast, had to pay for internet service. The pool was out of service, there was NO view. It was an awful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Aloha Ann C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We regret to hear about your disappointment during your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you encountered and I urge you to please contact me if you would like to discuss these in further detail.
Our goal is to have each guest have an enjoyable stay and I am sorry we let you down. We are continuously striving to provide the best service to our guests and to enhance the overall experience. I hope that if travels bring you to our area in the near future, you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate the service you have come to expect from a member of the Hilton family.

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#52 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,874 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing