We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hawaii Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel was up to par however, being a Hilton Honors Member we did not get any perks! Prepare yourself because it's expensive! There was no warning with regards to breakfast (2 separate breakfast stations) no sign indicating charges. No free continental in fact, the American buffet (omelets, meats, & potatoes) cost more! When all was said and done, the breakfast was $69 for 1 adult and 2 children! My children only had eggs! On another note, do not I repeat do not let them give you a room next to the elevators/housekeeping closet! That's right, we got a room next to both and we could hear the elevator all night cleaning crew AM! When ask to switch rooms, they said the hotel was booked and we could not be moved!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha Cindy N,

Thank you for staying with us! We truly appreciate your review and listen to your suggestions. Yes, we have two prices for breakfast with the American breakfast buffet priced only $6 more than our Continental breakfast buffet. We continuously monitor our comparable hotels to ensure we price ourselves correctly. My apologies that we were not able to move you and your family. We have been sold out many times in the past two months and would have surely accommodated you if we had rooms available. Since your stay, we have brought in our elevator provider and they have made changes to reduce the noise level.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    520
    306
    113
    51
See reviews for
336
326
106
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is short walking distance to shopping and the beach. The staff is great about recommending places to go on the island as well as best transportation options. Valet group does a fantastic job...waited a couple of minutes for the car each morning. For hilton honor members, having complementary daily breakfast is top notch. Definitely will be the first choice on the next trip back to HI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha Dan K,

We are so glad you are planning to visit us again! Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to ask our team for suggestions at any time - we all have personal experiences and preferences to share that will guide you to the best activity/dining option of your choice.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, CA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Go to the Hilton Hawaiian Village across the street. The Double Tree has no laundry, could not set my AC for any temp above 66, failed to give me spare toilet paper 2 days in a row and had no decaf coffee for 4 days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha Cynthia J,

Thank you for your review. We apologize your experience at our property did not meet the high standards of the Doubletree by Hilton brand. We have communicated within the correct departments to ensure your voice is heard and the same does not happen in the future. We do hope you give us another chance to prove we are an ideal choice for your Hawaii business travel.

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This Hotel was very nice. Rooms were kept clean, rooms were quite and security excellent. Good value for the money. Location is within easy walking distance to Waikiki Beach, via the Hilton Village Complex. There are numerous stores close by. You also have short walking distance to various bus stops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank u0050565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience! We are so glad that you and your significant other enjoyed your stay. We are definitely ideally located to numerous activities as well as walking distance to the beach.

We very much appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overall the hotel was clean and the elevators worked. It was not too noisy because it is at the end of the busy area. Parking is ridiculously expensive ($30 a day) and they require it to be valet. There is also no free wi-fi in the rooms and nowadays Internet is a must.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Roseann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha Roseann C,

Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for your review and choosing to stay with us! We are glad you found your overall experience to be positive. We truly appreciate your feedback and do appreciate your comments on the additional charges. We keep a close watch to ensure we are priced competitively versus our comparable hotels and will continue to keep our hotel resort fee free to reduce the additional charges that are not included in the room rate.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

There was a time not too long ago that you could not pay me to stay at the Waikiki doubletree. Those days are behind me. This is still not my first, second, third, or even fourth choice, but I will stay there again. The hotel itself has undergone a massive overhaul. Before i thought an antibiotic ahoild jave come standard with each room. Now the rooms are bright, spacious and keeping with the times. The bathroom on the other hand is small enough that changing your mind about what you were going to do there requires you to go back out into the main room.


The valet (valet parking only) is a little more put together than other area hotels, but be careful driving your car into the driveway, its a tight turn and I nearly pulled a fender off my rental car.

If your going for vacation the hotel is a food choice, if you travel for business then you might be in the same cup as me, that Doubletree will do in a pinch, but give me something with a microwave and a fridge big enough to holds more than a thought of a drink.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k-mart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Aloha k-mart78,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us! We are so glad you like the renovations and find the property to be completely different from what it used to be. We are continuing to make improvements in areas such as the pool - you may have noticed that we have brought in new furniture as well as a lush herb garden.

We hope to see you here again soon and to continue to improve so that we may eventually become your first choice!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for five nights and this is a wonderful hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and very efficient - front desk, breakfast, security and housekeeping. Somehow, the manager found out we were celebrating our 49th wedding anniversary. She called and arranged to have a fruit plate with chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room with a card from the staff. If I were traveling to Honolulu again, I would definitely stay at the Doubletree Alana Waikiki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha Murray S,

Thank you for staying with us and congratulations on your anniversary! We are delighted you chose to stay with us to celebrate your special day. We hope you visit us again next year for your 50th anniversary...we would love to see you again!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing