We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre cruise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Excellent value for location. Walkable to beach. Easy cab ride to pier. Arrived day early, booked Pearl Harbor tour for morning of cruise day, hotel granted us a late check out. Very accommodating. Warm cookies on arrival are a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Aloha Cindy K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! You are absolutely right - it is a breeze to get to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu AND the pier from our hotel. Your time is limited for land excursions when you arrive from a cruise, so finding a hotel that takes you away from the most congested areas of Waikiki is definitely a plus.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you again!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

For the price the room should be cleaner.
Dust all along baseboards, especially in the bathroom.
Completely glasa shower enclosure has soap scum build up.
No complementary coffe bwcause the homesa will help themselvea.
Coffee maker in room does not work.
Refrigerator had something left in it that might have once been a mushroom.
Very little bathroom counter space.
No electrical outlets near any mirror in the room.
Cable for some channels are constantly pixelating.

1  Thank royflfam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Aloha royflfam,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and truly do use your feedback to improve our service. We are so sorry that your experience at our property was not in line with what you should expect of a Doubletree by Hilton property. We are reviewing our inspection procedures and will be sure to utilize your advice.

We do hope you choose to stay with us again so we can prove that our standard of service is mush higher than you experienced.

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very friendly and professional service. My family and I had been taking a driving tour of the island for two hours so by the time we checked-in we were hot, tired and cranky. The warm smiles (not to mention the warm cookies at check-in) turned everything around! The room was clean and quiet and the air conditioner worked very well. The American-style breakfast was delicious and a good value for the money. Free internet and printer services in the lobby for flight check-in, etc. but not free WiFi in the rooms unfortunately. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the beach but it does have some nice restaurants nearby. Overall a very positive experience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Aloha David S,

Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for your kind feedback! We are so glad you decided to stay with us and enjoyed the friendliness of our team members. They are a joy to work with...of course it makes it even easier to be happy when you're surrounded with the aroma of delicious chocolate-chip cookies all day!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent three nights in this Hotel last may: only 10-15 min walking from Waikiki Beach and the main stores and restaurants in Honolulu, nice and confortable rooms, well equipped and very clean; everything seems brand new and the staff is extremely nice. At the front desk you can ask for complimentary just baked chocolate chip cookies.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FedericoStea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Aloha FedericoStea,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your staff. Our staff is grateful for your kind words and you are welcome to come back anytime for our complimentary warm, chocolate chip cookies.

Please do visit us again!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Required valet parking $30/day. We didn't knowuntil we drove up. The Internet is only available in the room for a fee. Free internet in the lobby is inconvenient. The room was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cookies were delicious. We used the pull out bed and is was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha Dana B,

We very much appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing to stay with us! Our housekeeping team was pleased to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room. You put a smile on the faces of our other team members by your compliment of their friendly and helpful service.

Your review is heard and we truly take your feedback to heart. Thank you again for visiting us!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Housekeeping staff should go through a re-fresher course on how to clean a room. Front Desk staff and Bell Desk were helpful and friendly but housekeeping was less desirable. Overall ok but if you can find another property please do. Hilton Hawaiian Village is across the street and hotel is near various attractions

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank AirForceONEMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Aloha AirForceONEMD,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We truly appreciate every opportunity to improve our service. We are reviewing our housekeeping procedures and apologize for not meeting up to the standard expected of a Doubletree by Hilton property. We do hope you give us another chance to give you the experience you deserve. Our front office and bell team hope to see you again and appreciate your compliments!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Recently stayed here one night. Check in was quick and efficient. The clerk was very cordial and even upgraded us to a suite. (I think it was because of our hilton honor status.) She offered us yummy warm chocolate chip cookies, which we look forward to every time we stay at Doubletree. The room size was decent and the bed was comfortable. It was nice to have a small fridge in the room. The only negative I would say is that the size of the bathroom was kind of small. But looking at photographs from other travelers, I think the bathroom size varies. There was a small gym and pool. Overall it was a great one night stay.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha Tempdragon,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed our cordial staff and yummy chocolate chip cookies. They are both exactly what you can expect at every Doubletree by Hilton around the world...the only difference is our Hawaii cookies are made with Aloha! Yes, you are right in that there are a couple different bathroom size options - our front office team is happy to assist you in selecting the perfect room for your next stay.

Mahalo (thank you) again for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
676 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $184 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing