We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but $$$” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, but $$$”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was a last minute reservation, room rate on a week night was $250 incl tax. room was nice, clean, no view, just a little pricey for what it seemed to be. 200 characters seems like a lot for average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank go401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha g o,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We advise booking in advance for our rooms as Waikiki/Honolulu has been quite busy lately, which might skew the rates (for most, if not all) a little higher for Waikiki's hotels. We hope to have you back with us!

Mahalo,
Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    515
    302
    111
    51
See reviews for
333
318
105
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coburg Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very close to Waikiki and the Ala Moana Center and of course the cookies were warm! The staff was courteous and helpful. Short wait for car to come up. Room was big enough and clean. Rate was reasonable. We spent all of our time with family, but this hotel was easy to find and convenient for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheriolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha sheriolson,

We hope you enjoyed your vacation with your family and are happy to hear that your enjoyable stay here assisted on a pleasant vacation. We hope you stay with us again the next time you're in town.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is very good value for money and is walking distance from the Convention Center, Waikiki beach, shopping and dining. It is unlikely to have a beach view but any higher floor should give you something to look at in Honolulu. Staff were helpful and HHonor gold members get free Wifi access, but you need to re-new the access every 24 hours. Cookies are great as always! Note if you park at this hotel there is no self-park option your car MUST be valet-parked.

Room Tip: Any upper floor for a view of something in downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Trini-trekkers,

Thank you for your post and for staying with us last month! We're glad that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our signature Doubletree by Hilton chocolate chip cookies. We'll save more delicious cookies for the next time you return.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Your like or dislike of this Double Tree all depends on how you like to travel. If you want a resort, lavish pools, private beach, etc. then this is not the hotel for you. We really enjoyed this property though - it is clean, modern and a good central location. I believe the property was recently renovated, which I loved, so everything felt rather news. Only drawback was the mandatory $30 a day for valet parking (but give or take a few bucks, that is what all the hotels charge). Hotel is in walking distance to several restaurants and Waikiki Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha moviechic8,

We're glad you enjoyed our property! Thank you for staying with us and for this post. We hope to have you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Honolulu.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

It is a great hotel and has very helpful and courteous staff. I will come back to it because it is a fantastic hotel. All the staff were ready to help in any way. It is the best hotel in the whole of Wakiki. Soad Mansour

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soadmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Soadmans,

Thank you so much for your compliments. We will pass this on to our staff members to let them know your thoughts on their level of service, which is only second to the safety of our guests. We look forward to your next stay!

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for business Feb 9th-13th. We travel quite a bit and this hotel meet every need. It seems to have been updated recently, the decor was modern and clean. Internet worked great, and we used a conference room which was perfect for our group. Even though we prefer King size beds, we usually get a room with two queens since they seem to be larger rooms. This room was quite large for an average hotel room. The noise when the lanai doors are open is loud, but that is Waikiki not the fault of the hotel.
The hotel is not on the beach and does not have an ocean view, at least not from our room. But it did have a nice mountain view, we were on a high floor which I think is more desirable all around.
Would not hesitate at all to stay here again for business.
Employees were welcoming and quite friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jentravels60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Jentravels60,

Thank you for your time in posting about your stay and also to you and your husband for choosing our hotel. It's so good to hear that our level of service met your expectations and needs during your business trip. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time your travel brings you to Honolulu.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sorry Hilton. Im an Honors member but it sure was not an honor to stay here. On line showed great suites, nice beautiful Lobby and rooms...you name it. This place was a dump. I had a suite....Stained curtains, carpet. The fold out couch was a mess. The mattress was so old my friend slept on the floor. I can see things being out dated etc.....but this place was bad. The location isnt too bad but please.....clean it up some.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cigars-in-Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha Cigars-in-Paradise,

Mahalo for your feedback and for choosing our property during your stay in our area. We are very sorry for the problems you encountered, especially with the level of cleanliness of your suite. We've recently gone through a renovation and have updated our rooms with new beds and fold out couches in our rooms, as well as other changes in the aesthetics of the room. As for the cleanliness issues you mentioned, we're addressed that with our housekeepers and can assure you that we are working to improve and will continually strive to provide the best service there. We hope that you give us another opportunity to provide a rewarding stay with great service.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing