We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed January 8, 2013

we had 7 days at hilton village, which is a great hotel, but then me, and t up with more family, and stayed at double tree for last 3 days, excellent value, great staff. good breakfast, nice bar, pool very small, but mins from beach. this must be one of the best value hotels, if you use it well,.ie by going to local outback restaurant, which again is 5 mins away, and excellent value,plus ABC stores next door, for drinks for your room, which has a small fridge.Next door is also burger bar, so if your tired you can fall out of this hotel. Its also well situated, near Alloa Mona centre(center), and other way is the town centre.tax is under 5% , so great buys to be had. If hotel not busy, they will upgrade, if Hilton member. saunders family.

Room Tip: tell them you know us, as we have stayed 4 times before, kidding, try to book early, and ask for upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hondis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Aloha hondis1,

We're very happy to have had you and your family with us! Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing about your stay with us. We look forward to having you back with us when you're back on the islands.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

True, I picked the smoking room as it was the right size and there were no non-smoking rooms left. We did make it clear that we would prefer a non-smoking room but it seems none was available. "Smoking Room" is an understatement. It was a "Smoking Den". The first night we could not sleep because the stench was so intense. We advised the front office and they cleared the smoke and put a special filter which made it more bearable for the next couple of nights. Now the good part: Great Doubletree Service. Great Doubletree Cookies (plenty of them). Nice size room. Excellent in room Coffee (Wolfgang Puck). Perfect location in Waikiki. Near the action but not too near. Easy access. Nice surroundings. They do respect the HHonors Gold Status (Internet, Continental Breakfast and Cookies) Nice Bell Boys. Nice supervisor (gave us Cookies). If it wasn't for the smoke I would have rated it better. They should have done the smoke cleanup before we arrive and not waited until we complained. It was really unbearable. Otherwise good value (if you get a non-smoking room).

Room Tip: If you are stuck with a smoking room ask them to "refresh it" before you check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Aloha ViajeroESQ,

First of all, thank you for staying with us and for posting about your stay with us last month. Secondly, we are very sorry to hear about your experience with our smoking rooms. We're happy to say that we've decided to go environmental (and health) friendly by eliminating our smoking room options in the Spring of this year!

We hope that you'll give us another chance to provide a great stay for you and your family!

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was not our first choice, as we preferred to stay in a more upscale and larger beach-front resort. However, visiting Hawaii during Christmas week made our options extremely limited, even though we booked our trip in September. The nicer resort hotels were either sold out, or the rooms started at $500/night. Although the location isn't ideal, it was still very good. It's a 5-minute walk to the beach and about a 10-minute walk to the central Waikiki shopping district. Lots of good restaurants within a 10-minute walk. It's one block from the Hilton Hawaiian Village, which is a large beach-front resort with a big collection of nice shops and restaurants. We had a city/mountain view room and paid about $200/night. Our view consisted of more city than mountains, but being from Florida, we were more interested in seeing the mountains than the beach. The staff was extremely friendly, and the hotel was very clean and well-kept. The pool was very basic, and not one where you would want to spend your Hawaiian vacation. The food at the on-site restaurant was excellent. If you want a hotel with a lot of resort-type amenities (beach, lagoon-style pool, multiple restaurants on-site, etc.), you will want to stay somewhere else (and pay considerably more). However, if you plan to spend most of your time exploring Oahu and just want a nice place to spend the night, this hotel is a great option.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ERFSU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Aloha ERFSU82,

Mahalo (thank you!) so much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay last month. Thank you for giving our hotel a chance and we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the service provided by our team. We aim to provide a rewarding experience for each of our guests and are pleased to hear that we met the level of service that you expect from your first choice hotels!

We hope that you'll give us another thought the next time you're in town.

Happy New Year,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Let's start by getting one thing clear, this hotel is not in Waikiki proper but Ala Moana. This is good if you don;t want to be on the busy strip that is Waikiki. The good news is that it's about a ten - twenty minute walk to Waikiki so you can enjoy the business there but stay in the relative quiet down the road.

Here are my thoughts on the hotel:

1. The location is good with lots of restaurants and amenities nearby. The area is also relatively quiet.
2. The staff are friendly and helpful especially the concierge folks
3. We had a "suite" which is really one room divided by sliding doors. For a few days with two adults and two teenagers it was fine but think twice for a longer stay.
4. We had two problems... the first was a water glass that had medication left in it by the previous occupants and the second was the room was not set up for four people when we arrived. Both problems were quickly rectified but probably should not have happened at all.
5. I read the comments on parking...it is $30 per night and is valet only. I knew this in advance and so was prepared. This was added to my bill later and not requested in cash as one person has written previously.

We did not use the restaurant or pool. The pool did not look very inviting and frankly when you are a few minutes from a beach why go there?

Overall if you get a deal which was under $200 per night for us I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scapaflow40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Aloha scapaflow,

Mahalo for staying with us during your holiday travels and for taking your time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page. Thank you for your compliments, as well as your recommendations for service and guest stay improvements. We will definitely keep them in mind as we aim for better service for all of our deserving guests.

Mahalo and we hope for another chance to welcome you back to our property.

Happy New Year,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Especially during 'high season' a good, affordable hotel is hard to find. While it is a challenge, I've stayed at this Doubletree twice now and believe it is an excellent choice for many visitors to Honolulu. Staff is competent and friendly (front desk, housekkeeping, and especially valets) and the rooms are clean with excellent, comfortable mattresses. You won't have a lot of extra space in the room, but there is a small pantry, swimming pool and business center. The biggest disappointment is the restaurant where the 'free' breakfast is absolute minimal and the dinner menu will have you walking down the block (in any direction) for much better fare. The hotel is one block from the beach (and the much more extensive and expensive Hilton Hawaiian Village) but what you lack in beaches here, you get back in terms of peacefulness and freshness, as this is Hilton's newest property on Oahu. It is also convenient to Honolulu's well designed public transportation system. In my opinion, this hotel is an excellent choice for couples and single travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Aloha signabob!

We're so pleased to see your satisfaction with our service and want to thank you so much for your recommendation. We aim to provide the best and most rewarding service to our traveling guests and are glad you were not disappointed. We look forward to having you here for another stay.

Happy holidays and have a great New Year,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here for a family reunion. We were unaware that we were staying during the same week as the marathon when Waikiki is overrun by Japanese tourists! Waikiki was crowded, tours were cancelled and overbooked (we were pipped 3x by tour groups for the submarine, pearl harbour and a waikiki tour). Our little Aussie group of 4 was very unhappy with our Waikiki experience.

However - our hotel experience triumphed. Although we are Sheraton preferred guests, we had read bad reviews for the Princess Kaiulani and the Moana was booked out. I had stayed at other American Doubletrees and had enjoyed the experience. When I told my partner we would get warm cookies upon checking in, the deal was sealed and we booked here.

From the moment we walked in, we felt at home. Our flight landed at 8.30 and at that time only one room was available. The staff allowed us to check in early - and although I had only booked a city view, we had a King Ocean View on the 16th floor. The room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. I'm not kidding about this, I usually can't sleep in strange beds and the mattress and the duck down pillows were heaven after long days walking, walking and walking more through Waikiki. Our parents were upgraded to an Ocean/City corner room when it became available early that afternoon.

The staff were incredibly accommodating to all of our requests and they all knew Waikiki very well and were able to give walking/tram/bus directions to all of the spots that we wanted to get to. The valet staff were very courteous and quick to call cabs and shuttles when we needed them. The cleaning staff made sure that our rooms were spotless. I have read some of the reviews about the noise, but we were pleased that when shut completely the glass sliding doors blocked out almost all of street noise - and there were nights that road crews were working - not to mention a marathon outside the hotel.

We would visit Hawaii again (we have plans for the other islands) but we would only spend 1 night in Waikiki again (mostly for Waikele!) but we know that we would only stay at the Doubletree again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kailimccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Aloha Kailimccoy,

First of all, we hope you and your family had a lovely family reunion! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Your post will be shared with all of our staff members. It'll definitely put a smile on their faces to know that the goal of providing a rewarding stay was met on your experience with us. We really look forward to providing another great stay the next time you're in town.

Happy Holidays,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very courteous. The room was clean and spacious. We were on a high floor facing the mountains, so it was relatively quiet for Waikiki. I recommend this location for all of you marathoners. It's a short walk to Ala Moana, and after the marathon busses drop off at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, which is just across the street. The only inconvenience is that we requested a late check out, so that we would be sure to return in time from the marathon, but they couldn't confirm that until after 6am, which is later than the start of the marathon. So, we decided to check out. However, they kept our luggage for us, so we picked it up afterwards. It all worked out.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalola77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Aloha Kalola77,

Thank you for joining us on marathon weekend and for your kind post regarding your stay. We're glad that we were able to accommodate and provide a pleasant experience during the marathon week and we look forward to having you back with us again for the next marathon!

Happy Holidays,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,713 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
731 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $178 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing