We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over on our way to Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed one night as a rest point on our way to Maui. Our room wasn't quite ready as we were too early for check in. We were politely told that we could go and come back again if we wished. We declined as we were beat from a 10 hr flight over and so sat in the lobby quietly. Musta been the thing that spooked em cos our room was quickly ready! Ta-dah!
I quite liked our superior room. It wasn't big but it did the trick.But it did look clean & fairly newly remodelled. Nice colours of browns & teal.
I cant comment about traffic noise as we hit the hay hard but woke refreshed. Abundant pillows & a big king bed.
Breakfast was..well...a little uninspiring. $16US got a cold breakfast but $22 would get you a fresh, made to order omelet by the chef right in front of you. Quick frankly, we could've found a better breakfast. I love that there was vit D in my milk! You guys are smart!!!
But we loved the location. We walked to Ala Moana shopping centre in about 15 minutes. Theres plenty to see along the way.
PS: We adored the cookies (biscuits here!!) they were slightly warm too! mmmmm

Room Tip: If you aren't a natural breakfast eater, dont worry so much about getting breakfast with your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Aloha AuntyMoo,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay this past August. We’re happy to have had you with us even if just for a day. We’re so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you also enjoyed your time in Maui. We look forward to having you back again in the future – we promise we’ll still have our warm and delicious Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookies waiting here for you!

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent five nights here on business. It's a nice hotel with OK interior. Rooms are not the largest but adequate. Bathroom was nice. $30/day for parking is maybe a little much. Wi-Fi is pretty good, but will sporadically drop.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viktr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Aloha Viktr,

Thank you for staying with us on your business trip. And thank you for your feedback about our price of parking. Parking in the Waikiki area can be a bit on the higher side, so we try to offer the lowest prices here at the Doubletree by Hilton Alana Waikiki Hotel. Our apologies on the Wi-Fi connection sporadically dropping while in use. We will be sure to address that issue with our internet provider. Once again, mahalo for your comments and we look forward to another chance to have you back at our hotel the next time you’re in town.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was in oahu for just 3 nights, was in Kauai for a wedding before and figured I would extend my vacation a few extra days.

Some of the good things about the Doubltree-nicely remodeled rooms. The gym is available 24 hrs. Location is great, walked everywhere I wanted to go.

Some of the negatives- since I have gold hilton honors status i receive free continental breakfast. The free breakfast at Hapmton Inns are MUCH better than at this Doubletree. You have the option of spending $9 extra to get the hot buffet items, which were all cold, the only thing hot was the omlete that was made to order. Very disappointing. Also frustrating, the internet connection was SLOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW. Also not sure when the hotel was built but the pool location is not very good. By 2pm there is no sun left on the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snf8track
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Aloha snf8track,

We’re very sorry that the food quality did not meet you expectations. Here at the Doubletree by Hilton Alana Waikiki Hotel, we work continually to improve our menu offerings so your feedack will be kept in mind while we work on our improvements. We are also sorry that our Wi-Fi connection was a concern during your time with us. Thank you for helping us improve by sharing your experience with us. We hope you’ll stay with us the next time you’re in the area and let us know how we’re doing

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent three nights here on a business trip and was looking forward to yet another stay at a DoubleTree Hotel.

Positives:
-Bathroom was attractive and well set up
-Room was cleaned well-
-Pool was heated and very comfortable
-Fitness room adequately fitted
-Express checkout made leaving quick and easy
-Complimentary newspaper
-Ice machine very accessible
-Very comfortable bed


Negatives:
-Outside noise (bus, sirens, people yelling) can be heard into the room and I was on the 16th floor. Hotel is located in Waikiki which is not known to be a quiet zone.
-Internet access is charged per device
-No self parking
-Had to talk to the front desk staff several times, however, there was only one occasion where I was acknowledged (I'll be right with you) I really appreciated hearing it that one time. Another time, I was trying to explain a situation to a Chinese front desk person seemed to be getting frustrated with not understanding a situation I was trying to explain. It was never resolved (she said she would check with the person I spoke with) and I ended up paying for something I was promised would be waived. Obviously she never checked nor got back to me about what I spoke to her about.

Despite that, I had an enjoyable stay again and would definitely recommend others to do so as well.

Room Tip: -Parking is $30/night. -If you're a light sleeper, bring something to help muffle the sound as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauiRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Aloha MauiRanger,

Mahalo for your response with the pros and cons of your stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Alana Waikiki Hotel. We’re glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us and thank you so much for your recommendation! As for the negatives, we’re very sorry about your experience at the front desk. If you have time, please feel free to send an explanation of what should have been waived to HNLKA.DS@HILTON.COM so that we can get your situation resolved. Thank you again for your feedback regarding our hotel and we look forward to having you at our hotel in the future!

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Always stay here when in Honolulu but always expect something different. Room was small. I work a lot in the evening and depend on the internet and the wi-fi here is very poor. Seems like I had to log in dozens of times each night. Room and hotel is so-so clean. Continental breakfast didn't offer much but the supervisors attitude made up for all the deficiencies, a very hard working girl that knows what service is about.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Aloha Gary S

We appreciate your feedback regarding the speed of our wireless internet service at our hotel. We’re sorry that it didn’t work well during your stay. We are so sorry that the cleanliness wasn’t up to your standards. Gina, the restaurant Supervisor, gives her many mahalo’s for your compliments! Once again, thank you for your feedback on our services and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon and had a fabulous experience!

It is very rare to encounter a hotel where every staff member from front desk, to bar, to valet, to housekeeping treats guests to the very best of his/her ability. Each question we had was treated with urgency, respect, and knowledge. An especially big rave review for Ace at the front desk. He was always extremely pleasant and helpful. He really went above and beyond on every question we had. When we asked him about buses to Pearl Harbor, he was knowledgeable and went so far as to print off a schedule and dig up some brochures to personally deliver to us in the business center. A true class act. Also our housekeeping woman was always friendly and asking about our stay.

This hotel was apparently recently remodeled and was always clean. Showers were a little small, but awesome and very adjustable. They room was laid out in a way that you don't feel like you are in a perhaps somewhat smaller room. We really appreciated the opportunity to skip a few days of room cleaning in exchange for $10 meal coupons.

As for location, we really liked it. It was a quick 5 minute walk to the beach, and a fairly easy stroll to the action of downtown. So you aren't really in the middle of the 'party' action, but that makes for a more quiet sleep, imo. We didn't mind the 10 minute walk to the big shops and restaurants, although there are still a good little selection of restaurants right next to the hotel and with a nearby ABC store you have everything you need at an arm's reach.

Of course have to end with, as everyone is raving, the cookies are delish!!!!! Wish they would leave one on your pillow at night! ;) I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on an upper floor and at the end of the hall. Very quiet. View of city/mountain wasn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtgirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Aloha mtgirl222!

First of all, CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR MARRIAGE! We’re honored to have been the host hotel for your honeymoon and we’re very happy to hear that we were able to create a rewarding and pleasant trip for you newlyweds! Thank you so much for your kind compliments and your words (along with a pat-on-the-back) will be passed to Ace, we’re really proud to have him on our team. Lastly, thank you for helping our environment by taking advantage of our “Reward Yourself” program for a $10 coupon. We hope to see you and your new husband again when you’re back on the Island for a vacation.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here the first time I was in Waikiki and I have to say I was disappointed. The hotel was old in the hallways and reminded me of old Miami Beach before the building were demolished. They should have finished the remodel.

There is only 1 restaurant and the service is very slow because the kitchen is on another level. I just ordered a Cesar salad and it almost took 40 minutes. I almost fell asleep at the table and asked for it to go.

I also didn't feel like the front desk staff knew much or made any effort. I've been back to Waikiki 2 times since this trip (I've been there 3 times within the year) and I will not come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Aloha Alysia S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us last year. Our wish is to provide each and every guest with a rewarding travel experience through our caring and thoughtful service. We’re very sorry your experience at our property was not up to our usual high standards. We’ve addressed the problems you mentioned with our restaurant and front desk staff, as well as property presentation. Thank you for alerting us to these issues, and we hope you’ll give us another chance if you return to our area.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,681 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $197 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing