We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Downtown Access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Downtown Access”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've stayed at this property on half a dozen different occasions, each time on business. The hotel is clean and centrally located, within easy walking distance to the beach and to downtown Waikiki. It is also walking distance to Ala Moana shopping center. If you're adventurous, you can also walk to Honolulu. The hotel could be more "business friendly," but the staff it's a reasonably priced option for downtown. I will definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank thigrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Aloha thigrig,

Mahalo for your comments and your continued patronage towards the Doubletree by Hilton Alana. We look forward to having you back with us again! Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even better!

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    531
    316
    115
    56
See reviews for
346
338
110
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Arrived to a power outtage...phone doesn't work in my room.... rude customer service. Menu isn't updated with options they actually have.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dawnandzade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Aloha dawnanddaze and thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Doubletree by Hilton Alana.

There was a power outage last Wednesday (July 11th) lasting between 6:45am and 7:34am. Hawaiian Electric Company informed us taht the power outrage affected parts of Honolulu, Hawaii Kai and Kalama Valley very early in the morning. Our backup generators went into effect within a minute of the power outage to secure lighting for the hotel. My sincere apologies for any inconveniences the power outage might have caused. We take great pride in the high level of service, quality of product, and in providing the spirit of CARE for our guests during their stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and will follow up on them.
Once again, I thank you for your comments and hope that you'll give us another chance if and when you visit Honolulu again in the future.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at this wonderful hotel. Our criteria: high-quality value-for-money home-base to explore Oahu. Family of 4 on our third of three islands. Great beds (2 queens ... we found no other high quality hotel that would guarantee queen beds in the Waikiki area), large clean bathrooms, balcony views of the city of Honolulu and the mountains, fast elevators ... free cookies every day ... reasonably cheap parking (valet only). We are explorers. Walking is how we experience our world on vacation and we preferred not to pay a huge premium to stay on the beach but to spend the difference on food and fun activities. The hotel is walking distance to all of Waikiki and surrounding Honolulu ... it proved to be a perfect location for us.

Room Tip: If you like balconies, and you like heights, pick a room on one of the top floors. Clean air, breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Aloha Dan P,

Thank you so much for your kind words to our Doubletree by Hilton Alana Hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed the rooms, views, and especially our special Doubletree chocolate chip cookies! We also are very glad that you were able to explore Waikiki and enjoy the food and activities here on the island. We hope to see you again here at the Alana when you plan any future trips!

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We are military, stayed for a week during our move out. The staff helped us from the beginning ... We had reservations for all but 1 day, they found us the extra day when we checked in. Set us up for 7 days with adjacent rooms for our kids. The housekeeping personnel were extra friendly and always helpful (same lady all week, Elvira ... Tops). On checkout, took care of all the 'military' stuff (tax exemption, faxing TLA paperwork, etc.). Even got us a late checkout on a full occupancy day because we are flying out late. This is the best service I have had in a long time. Room was clean, nice blankets, my wife is a hotel snob and the blankets even lived up yo her expectations. Pool was clean, nice workout rom. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumdrgooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Aloha Gumdrgooby,

First of all, we hope that you had a smooth transition to your new home! And we want to thank you and your family for your service to our country! Secondly, thank you so much for your kind words to our staff and hotel. We will be sure to let Elvira know of your appreciation. Lastly, we hope to welcome your family back to our hotel when you plan a family vacation here on the islands!

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I came to Honolulu on business -- yes, some of us do that. We were a group of four; each of us had complaints (which will be going to Hilton management).

First issue was check-in. Three of the four of us were Gold status with Hilton; none of us were given the perks that should come with it when we checked in. I asked about it, and was assured by the clerk that I wasn't Gold. So, I called corporate -- of course I am Gold. Corporate refused to call the hotel to straighten them out, but when I called the desk and asked them to call corporate to check, they said "Oh yes, we made a mistake." Mistake times three? Doesn't work that way, sorry. In general, reception was busy and surly. They were not at all useful in recommending restaurants.

Then, I got a handicapped room -- not a huge problem, but it would have been nice if they had asked if that was OK. Issues were that the shower, since it was open, flooded the bath, and there was no counter space because of wheel chair allowances. OK, maybe they were short on rooms. The room was adequate, although there was no place to hand wet towels or bathing suits. No microwave, but a coffe maker.

Another of my companions asked to switch rooms after his first night -- his had a cockroach invasion -- bathroom, counter and floor, and the coffee area. (They did so and gave him a nice room.)

The pool is on the 3rd (or so) floor. I went out one night and was surprised it was empty but soon learned why. The way it was set up strong winds were channeled through the pool area making it cold to swim; there is no spa. Also, the design of the pool stairs made it difficult to swim laps -- there was no real turnaround area at one end.

My room had a lovely view of the roof of the downstairs and the next door hotel. Couldn't see anything green unless I went out on the lanai and leaned over to see the park at the end of the street. As I type this, I can't hear my music over the sounds of the road (and possibly construction) that are coming through the (closed) window. I was also unable to bring the temperature of the room below 74 degrees – a bit warm for sleeping. I would have left the door open, but the proximity to the next door balcony, not to mention the street noise, made that an unwelcome option. Not a holiday hotel --- I've done worse in downtown Pittsburg!

Being Gold, once it was straightened out, gave me complimentary continental breakfast buffet. OK meal (cereal, toast, bakery), although short on fruit choices. My non-Gold colleague paid for his breakfast; $16 for a bowl of oatmeal and a pot of tea! If you opt for the hot breakfast it is $22! Definitely not worth it.

I won’t come back, even for business. There has to be someplace better to stay. Hilton, get your act together! One expects better than average in a resort town, not worse!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 50ish_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Aloha 50ish_Mom,

First of all, thank you for your review of Doubletree by Hilton Alana Waikiki Hotel. We try our best to make sure Hilton Honors accounts are attached to rservations so that we can provide the benefits that come with the accounts. Our sincere apologies for the hassle that you and your guests experienced here at the Doubletre by Hilton Alana; we will keep your comments in mind for the future to make improvements to provide a better and more rewarding stay for our guests in the future.
We are truly sorry for the unfortunate experience that your companion went through regarding pests. We have alerted the professional pest control company that we work closely with and are proactively taking care of issues with pests that occur on our property. As far as your comments regarding busdy/unhelpful staff members and pool observations, I will pass those to the approproiate department(s) for review. The Hilton Hawaiian Village has the Mandara Spa that allows our guests access to the use of the spa services and have it charged to their room here at the Alana.
We are very sorry that you weren't happy with your guestroom during your recent trip to Honolulu for business. We try to accommodate all reservations but ocassional we can't meet every room request. We are also very sorry for the noise issue that you encountered during your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Alana Hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one conern and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Your review ill help us correct similar issues in the future. We hope that the next time you're in HOnolulu, you'll consider giving us a second chance and stay with us again.

Aloha,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The location is the only Plus to this hotel. Its located on the downtown strip and close to the beach. But, I had to ask for towels several times and the worse part is the roaches that were in the bathroom walls. I dont mean a few but there were even baby roches. I told the front desk so maybe they can get some one to spray.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Aloha Jay C,

We sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate experience that you had at the Doubletree by Hilton Alana Waikiki Hotel. Our guests' health and safety is extremely important to us and we focus a great deal of our time and attention to them. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and correct any pest situation that mightoccur. We have shared yoru comments with our staff and promise that the situation has and will continuously be addressed.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great group stay. We had a group stay at the Doubletree Waikiki on for 53 nights and the other 25 nights. The staff is very accommodating and very welcoming. The travelers raved about the new rooms and the service received from the staff. We have had some customers travel back in the last six months and they always request the Doubletree. OurExtendedstay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurExtendedStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Aloha OurExtendedstay!

Mahalo for taking a moement to share yoru positive experience here at the Doubletree by Hilton Alana. I'm happy to hear that your group enjoyed their long stay with us and we're so very thankful that you chose our hotel to host your group! We lok forward to being of servvice again and welcmonig the group on their next stay! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Aloha,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,312 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,302 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing