We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Solid Option for Honolulu - unless you must be by the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with Family in one of the Suites as part of a larger vacation to Oahu and the Big Island.

Last time we were here, we stayed at the Ali Tower at the Hilton Hawaiian Village – the Room and Tower were superb, but you can’t disguise how big/impersonal the HHV is, a fact I was reminded of, when went down there one evening for a Firework show by the beach.

The Doubletree is what I consider the Hilton Hawaiian Villages “Little Brother” – its 10mins walk from the HHV and the beaches, and you can easily get to the other parts of downtown Honolulu, either walking, driving or taking the “Trolley” buses. There are several stores and places to eat within the area, either local or one of the chains – although if you are a Red Lobster fan, be prepared for a wait, I was told the one by the Hotel is the only one in the area.

Because it is smaller, it almost has a boutique feel to it, a big plus is that getting to/from the room and out and about was quick and east.

Granted the Hotel Building is a little older, but it has had a renovation recently and I was pleased with the room and the public areas. Being in a Suite was definitely a plus, gave us a little more room to move around, so if you have the option I would go for it. As others have mentioned, try and get a higher floor room, but don’t worry about a view, the ocean view is one of those – “Its over there” types

The Staff was fantastic, warmly greeting us when we arrived after a Very Long and Tiring flight, and remembering us throughout our stay, asking how things were and asking after my Son – who sadly was unwell for one day, which sucks on a vacation!

As others have mentioned, the Parking situation isn’t great – but $30 a day is in line with most other hotels in Downtown Honolulu so I guess you cannot fault them for that, a little investigation and if you don’t mind a little walking back/forth there are cheaper options.
I didn’t like their business center– we needed to print out tickets for an activity, but to do anything in there – even check email - required $$$ in the slot .

I guess it depends what you want – this isn’t a resort hotel , but it doesn’t pretend to be, it isn’t a 5 star Hotel with all the trimmings, but it doesn’t pretend to be that either. Unless you need either of those, or you need to be right in the middle of the action, I don’t think you can go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Go High! - Don't worry about extra for an Ocean view unless you must see the Sea!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is an ok and quiet 3 star hotel close to the shopping district. Not too much hassle on the street. However it is about 10 min to the closest beach and is sharing with Hilton village a few minutes away.

If you are a honors member, you will be disappointed due to the lack of amenities that other doubletree hotels provide in the mainland. E.g. Are 30 buck overnight parking, no American breakfast buffet, no complimentary upgrade of the room and very slow Internet. Despite which side your room is, the views are the same, so I suggest not paying extra to have a higher floor or a sea view room . The biggest thing is that there is no self parking and we are stuck using services from valet. I think this is quite annoying as every time you pull your car in or ask them to bring your car, a tip is expected ( and I mean not just a couple of bucks) but about 10 dollars. The front desk is ok, I will not rate them as ooh- wow. The breakfast was also sub standard and I don't know why they are charging nine bucks to upgrade from a continental breakfast. The fitness centre also needs renovation.


After walking in the nearby shopping district, I saw plenty of other hotels and with cheaper rates plus breakfast options. If I was not a honors member, I would have chosen them over doubletree. In fact I would go ahead and advice all honors members, particularly diamond members to not to stay here - I know your expectations and this hotel cannot fulfill any of those. While it was an average experience here, the bathroom shower and the bed was comfortable. This may have been the reason I agreed to continue my stay, else I would have left and stayed at a nearby hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest booking for a night or two first and try to hotel hopping to get a better idea what's ne...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwajustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Located about a block from the beach. Came to Hawaii to spend time on the beach, not hang out at the hotel, so the location was great and the price was less than properties right on the beach. Check in was efficient, staff was pleasant, continental breakfast was good and free as an HHonors Member. Higher floors are quieter. You can park in the public garage on the next block for $16 to avoid the $30 valet parking. If you want to save $40 a night and don't mind walking a block to the beach, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM_2793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

If this property had free WiFi in all rooms, it would be superb although you can pay $10 per day for WiFi in your room. It is a nice 5 minute walk to restaurants and shops in Waikiki as well as Ala Moana Shopping Centre and Beach Park.
Staff are friendly, but hotel probably lacks a good concierge.
Rooms spacious and clean with nice decor.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-Truss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Alana the first week of January, 2012. It is a nice place in a location that makes it convenient to walk to both shopping and the beach. The rooms are nice, but be aware that there is only a shower, not a bathtub. Light passes freely from the washroom to the sleeping area, so it is not ideal for guests who wish to rise and sleep at different times. The employees were friendly, but seemed somewhat less knowledgeable and helpful in arranging transportation, dinner reservations, and activities planning than I would expect from most hotels of this type.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Seven minutes walk to the beach, five to Waikiki or about 10 to Ala Moana shopping. Decent breakfast, nice rooms and of course the doubletree chocolate chip cookies are to die for. About 3 minutes walk to the Hilton Center, across the street from Ft. Derusy.

Room Tip: Of course, the higher you go, the better views. I was on the 6th floor, poor views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pekopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Employees are great. Not great for a business person. Near most downtown stuff but missing Airport shuttle, very slow internet, have to pay to use the business facilities. Was told there was a shuttle but none when I arrived. Careful using the other shuttle services. Reliable shuttle isn't that reliable. Wanted to stack people like cord wood then the dispatcher supposed to have sent the second unit, that got screwed up.

Room Tip: Don't know how to get away from the sirens that run up and down the streets all night, only prob...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#33 of 84 in Honolulu
1,488 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $189 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing