We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet hotel”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great, quiet hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2010

My husband and I just got home from a 3-night stay at the Halekulani, the last stop on our Hawaii trip. We felt really pampered by good service, in a great location. The Halekulani felt like a haven of quiet in the intensity of Waikiki. Our partial-ocean-view room was exceptionally quiet, which made for a great night's sleep.

We especially enjoyed lounging by the pool all afternoon, ordering off the menu of delicious drinks (Mai Tais and Lava Flows) and sandwiches, plus the best french fries I've ever had, served in a beautiful black lacquered box. It was a relaxing environment, with not too many kids around -- and those who were around were well-mannered and well supervised by their parents.

Staff was generally very attentive and solicitous. Frank at the concierge desk was particularly helpful. The HWAK servers were generally good, although the hostess was a tad snippy one evening.

My only suggestion is that they should give out leis at check-in, as many high-end hotels in Hawaii do. That would have been consistent with the Aloha spirit we encountered at the Halekulani.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,806
    469
    156
    52
    40
See reviews for
666
1,208
67
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Halekulani lives up to its reputation of elegance, superb service and luxury. This was our second stay here...and we enjoyed a one week stay without any problems at all. The hotel is quiet, sophisticated and upscale--and makes you forget that you are in the middle of Waikiki. The Concierges are wonderful and can really make your visit special. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clefsdorsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

A truly lovely hotel. Don't leave your wallet behind but worth the extra. The staff are very welcoming and the whole place spells Hawaii.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonlighter92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,533 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom diamond-head suite here and the room was really nice. However, we were paying about 2 grand a night and they had to move us because they first tried to put us in a suite (same category) over looking a roof to the ocean. Umm. Ya. I don't think so. So we moved before we unpacked. We were staying with our kids and my in-laws. So here is my review:

The Good:

The room was beautiful and the view (after moving rooms) was spectacular.
The hotel had a very low key glamorous feel to it. Not overdone, but classy.
The location was nice, right on the beach.
It was not crowded.
There are some nice shops right in the hotel. I bought a bunch of Vera Wang stuff and had it shipped home.


The bad:

The pool was tiny.
It was "too quiet"

The Ugly:

None

I would recommend this place for a romantic getaway if you have to be near shopping and night life. Otherwise there are plenty of other more beautiful places to go. I don't recommend it for families with kids. We got more than a few dirty looks from people that we brought kids with us. Hello? It's Hawaii!

Anyway.. I would come back some day after my kids are all grown up.


Note: I can not remember exact date of our stay, if that matters.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelissaBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My family (wife and 3 y.o.) planned a trip to Hawaii in the middle of May (the week before Memorial Day) to avoid the crowd for memorial day/graduation etc. We needed to "get away from it all" and have a nice, memorable vacation that we can remember for 2009. For Honolulu, we considered the Halekulani and The Kahala (Hotel & Resort). We also considered the Ritz-Carlton in Kapalua, Maui.

Although we are tourists ourselves, we really want to stay away from big, noisy crowds. We also want to be near a beach without making a beach trip a whole excursion in it of itself. Prior to our trip, we decided to stay at the Halekulani on the first half of our trip, and then move to the Kahala for the second half. We wanted to get the vibe of Waikiki and then end it with a relaxing stay away from the bustle. We also wanted to be able to experience both hotels in one shot.

What we did not realize was how secluded the Halekulani was from the hustle & bustle of Waikiki, and how nice the room would be. We upgraded to an ocean front room on the fourth floor, where our room overlooked the beautiful orchid pool, and then the ocean just beyond it. We slept with our balcony doors open every night so that we can hear the waves. The hotel was removed enough from the crowds, yet close enough to walk to the main strip of Waikiki and the shops. At first I was a bit weary because of how seemingly close the hotel was to the main strip, but it was far enough that our room (and resort) was surprisingly quiet. The staff was courteous and helpful. Everyone was just so friendly. And, we felt completely secure on the resort. What we enjoyed about staying at the Halekulani were 1) the view and sounds of the ocean, 2) the nightly entertainment at the House without a Key (music and performances), and 3) the easy access to everything. Our stay was comfortable and relaxing. The hotel and the staff truly deserve a 5-star rating.

We visited the Kahala mid-vacation, but we just did not get the same "wow" feeling as when we first walked into our room at the Halekulani. So, we cancelled our reservation at the Kahala and extended our stay at the Halekulani. We had no regrets doing so. In fact, we did not even think twice about the cancellation and extension. We enjoyed our stay, and we are looking forward to coming back. Next time, we will be staying at the Halekulani exclusively.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Conrad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Halekulani is doing everything it can to earn its coveted 5 circles award (this is the highest level which Trip Advisor accords properties). From the moment one checks in to the moment of check-out, guests are regaled with countless services and gifts.

My wife and I spent four nights here after vowing to return after 23 years. Although we were not in their data base (non-existent in those days), we were welcomed back. Much has remained the same. After swiping our credit card number, we were escorted to our ocean front room (our package included an upgrade and daily breakfast). Our first reaction was one of dismay, as the Sheraton Waikiki built its property to block a sizeable portion of the view. I cannot believe that the zoning commission would approve such intrusions. Fortunately, our views were indeed ocean front and we averted our glances from the monstrosity to our left. Moments after our cordial hostess left, a procession of gifts began, from fruit platters, to cheese platters, and even a large box of Hawaiian made cookies. Of course those nightly little presents on the pillow still arrive. By the end of the first day, we indeed felt spoiled.

For breakfast, we had the choice of either the full buffet at the House Without A Key or the American Breakfast (a set menu) at Orchids. Since the offering at Orchids was somewhat restrictive, we opted for the HWAK buffet and were rewarded by a lavish array of fruit, beverages, hot and cold dishes, including fish, and of course pastries. What most guests do not realize is that just about everything is made on the premises, including the pastries.

In fact, we availed ourselves of a behind the scenes tour of the hotel. Ten of us got the chance to see kitchen operations, floral assemblies, laundry facilities (amazing!), just to name a few. If you are interested in this tour, sign up with the concierge. It is offered only on Friday's. Oh yes. You will receive even more goodies and a couple of surprises that you need to experience for yourself! Our guide/escort was Auntie Melba, who at 80, is a virtual historian of Hawaiian culture.

I also recommend the Wednesday night managers (there is more than one) cocktail reception, during which time the staff mix with their guests to ascertain any problems that might occur or simply to get to know their guests better. This is very similar to the reception given at the Four Seasons in Wailea, Maui. I do wish to commend Mr. Shimizu for his graciousness and humility in making us feel like honored guests.

Another perk at the Halekulani is the opportunity to visit several museums. And these are free to guests. Hopping on TheBus is a fascinating way to explore the city and to get to meet the locals. Unfortunately, one of the offerings--a night at the Honolulu Symphony--is no longer available as the city has withdrawn funds for the concerts. As of this writing, the Symphony is no more--at least for now. But do explore the Bishop Museum, the Museum of Contemporary Art, and the Academy of Art are all of which are worth exploring.

Upon checking out, many staff were truly concerned that our transport had not yet arrived. Even Mr. Shimizu made an appearance. I need to stress that we are very ordinary visitors and do not wear fancy clothes or accessorites. At the Halekulani, every guest is made to feel special. Now that is as it should be.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Spent a glorious week at the Halekulani with my wife, two kids under 5 and mother-in-law. Had two rooms, adjoining, on the family plan. Simply fantastic stay for every reason. Service was perfect, with valets, waitstaff and other staff greeting us by name by day 2. Turndown service, fresh ice in the rooms twice a day, great food at House Without a Key, perfectly clean pool with attentive attendants and free ice cream in the afternoons. Very authentic and well done hula show every night on the patio. We had a great time and would recommend the hotel to all. Expensive, but worth every penny if your are going to stay in Waikiki.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing