We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Robinson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
219 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

From the minute you arrive to the time you leave you are made to feel welcome & at home. We stayed in room 1464 which is a diamond head ocean front room. The views are spectacular with an excellent balcony. The bed was very comfortable. There is a refrigerator & safe in the room. Plenty of closet space & drawers for clothes. The bathroom is quite large with a large tub & glass shower. The only downside was the water in the tub & shower never got very hot.
We went to the managers party one evening. The provided plenty of appetizers & drinks. Every employee we encountered was very friendly. The concierge was was helpful with directions & reservations. The Halekulani is the best hotel on Waikiki beach.

Room Tip: Spent the extra money & stay in a Diamond Head Ocean Front Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,778
    461
    152
    52
    38
See reviews for
650
1,192
66
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on honeymoon - we were hoping for beautiful luxury and it did not disappoint. The rooms are great, the staff are attentive, the food is absolutely delicious and the poolside restaurant was probably our favourite place to eat for the whole of our stay in Waikiki. The poke is the best on the island. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a bit of luxury - we were sad to leave and we would definitively stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geeinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The staff of this hotel is what made my stay so enjoyable. Everyone anticipated how they could make my stay more pleasant and they all seemed to be in really happy. From looking at photos, I had the sense that the hotel might be a little dated, so I was happy to find my room perfectly maintained and the entire hotel kept in perfect shape. The food was very good with both tasty and healthy options. People watching at the hotel was fun with a lot of Japanese and Australian guests. The hotel doesn't have the wow-factor of some newer resorts, but this place is flawlessly run and so extremely pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Halekulani favorites:
Beautiful pool; Understated elegance; quiet setting tucked away from the rest of Waikiki; proximity to Kalakaua; great staff; HWAK's dining; sunset drinks with hula and live Hawaiian music; free tours of Honolulu Museum of Art and Shangrila.

This is a compact gem amongst Waikiki giant resorts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wing49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have just returned from a delightful five-night stay at the Halekulani with our three children, ages 14, 12 and 10. This hotel offers an absolute oasis of serenity in the middle of the hustle of Waikiki - while still providing easy access to all the action. Staff are super attentive and helpful, from the mini tour on arrival to familiarise guests with the facilities, to the server who appears poolside the moment you pick up the menu. Housekeeping was exceptional and there were lots of gorgeous little touches, such as the melt-in-the-mouth chocolates, the fresh fruit platter, the individually boxed seashells and signature bookmark, that appeared as if by magic in our rooms each day. If you have kids, take them to dinner one night at the Cheesecake Factory. The concierge will call ahead and save you half the wait-time on your arrival.

There were enough families staying in the hotel for us not to feel out of place… but no shrieking children in the pool, either. The Halekulani struck that perfect balance, with a mix of honeymooners, families and older couples.

The management and staff are utterly professional and the level of service, combined with the idyllic setting, make this a memorable place to stay.

Lastly: Pack your goggles or mask so you can appreciate the beauty of the coral and the sea life just metres away from the sandy beach in front of the hotel. And stop by to meet Angie, the wild bird the pool staff nursed back to health, and who now makes herself at home on their shoulders!

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean-view room (533) with an interconnecting vestibule to our children's room...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Chaylee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

“Halekulani Hotel was perfect heaven for my summer trip”, my grandchild said. It definitely was as he said. We spent 4 nights staying here during family summer vacation, and it was greatest time ever. The hotel staffs were pleasant, professional, and friendly with warm greeting “Aloha”. I remember to ask a staff to keep an eye on my baby grandchild for a moment while he was swimming, and she was very helpful, careful to him. I felt very satisfied with her enthusiasm; because in some hotels we have been, staffs gave a nod and left him alone. In detail, y room was spacious, comfortable with modern and luxury design. The impressive thing here was amazing sea view from private balcony. I spent time sipping a cup of tea when breathing wild air from the beach. It was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ggodoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Yes, Waikiki beach in my mind is the Vegas of the Islands. However, the Halekulani hotel, while being in the middle of the action, is relatively chill. We were there leading up to Easter weekend and we're not overrun by families with kids running wild. It's certainly not a mature persons hotel either, with lots of younger (mid 20s-30s) couples from across the Pacific. One thing that I did notice is just how noisy the area is. Not from parties in rooms etc, but helicopters over the water, police sirens, traffic etc and we had a beach front room. It brings me back to the Vegas thing.

The hotel, while older has been remodeled to the T. The rooms were some of the better appointed rooms I have experienced in a hotel. Heaps of storage in the bathroom for my wife's 'stuff' and a cool closet that opened with sliding doors both in the room and the bathroom. All in all, if you are looking for a little oasis, excellent service and very accommodating staff in the hustle and bustle of Honolulu, this is your place.

PS, if you are looking to rent halfway decent surf or paddle boards, there is a store directly over the road called Ty gurneys. Nice people but there equipment blows. I took my care 2 miles down the road to 'Go Bananas' and rented a Surftech board for a fraction of the price for 2 days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkiBiker970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,846 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing