We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star plus...”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Five Star plus...”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

It is probably possible to find something to criticize at the Halekulani but to do so would give the term 'nit picking' new meaning. Having traveled extensively in Asia and Europe, often enjoying five star hotels with historic reputations, ranking the Halekulani at the five star level goes without saying. Suffice it to note that the quality of the facility--room, restaurants, services such as the pool, fitness center, etc. all are exceptional. What makes this hotel is simply it's staff. Their combination of customer service, anticipation of need, unobtrusive but ever-ready response to guests' interests, and efficiency are remarkable. The hotel's orientation toward its Japanese visitors testifies to the fact it understands cultural and social requirements to reach that culture's highest standards. Remarkably, at the same time the staff is equally attuned to the styles of other international and American guests, providing to each the 'best of all worlds' in their experience. Our week-long stay was excellent. It's an expensive hotel but for those for whom expense is not an issue, one to be recommended without reservation to friends and acquaintances on their way to Honolulu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harngtngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,806
    469
    156
    52
    40
See reviews for
666
1,208
67
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Plain and simple, this is a great property, beautifully maintained, perfect service and everything one could want in a luxury hotel. Doesn't even feel like it's on Waikiki. Be prepared to pay big bucks, but it's worht it.

Room Tip: Oceanfront in the original building, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samolocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed 4 days at the Halekulani...it was wonderful! You're greeted with a true aloha welcome. You're escorted to your room and every feature and amenity is explained. We stayed in a Diamond Head suite which is well worth the extra charge. Best view of Diamond Head anywhere...still have the photo as my screen saver. The Room Without a Key is the best location in Waikiki to watch the sunset. The pool is incredible, the chairs are so comfortable and the pool staff is attentive. It is a true oasis in the middle of busy Waikiki. Close to shopping and restaurants, we didn't even rent a car. The conceirge service is unmatched anywhere...you ask for it and they make it happen. Orchids restaurant is fabulous as always. The staff is amazing and greet you by name. Excellent experience and well worth the price. The Halekulani knows how to pamper you. We went on to Maui and the Big Island while both were very nice...neither compared to the quaintness, peaceful environment and first rate service of the Halekulani...not even the Four Seasons!

Room Tip: Diamond Head Suite or at least Diamond Head view rooms are well worth the extra cost...breath taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It's been over 10 years since my last trip to Waikiki.....the Halekalani was always my hotel of choice in my prior visits......but since it had been so long.....I decided to check the TripAdvisor reviews on Waikiki hotels.....and to my surprise.....there were some negative reviews along with the great ones on the Halekalani....after looking at the top hotels....I decided to take a chance on the Halekalani and be prepared for some glitches....I found none.....I stayed in two different room categories.....the Oceanfront Diamond Head View and the Jr Oceanfront Suite.....both rooms were updated.....and in great condition......(I actually preferred the less expensive Diamond Head view room although you must get the right location)......the service was warm and professional......my requests were honored with a smile.....I think many of the complaints are from guests who've stayed in resorts on the other islands first and then here last and compare the hotels.....very unfair......you really can only compare this hotel to other hotels in Waikiki......my guess is many of those with complaints were booked by a travel agent who did a poor job of explaining the difference in islands/resorts........when I return to Waikiki....it will be at the Halekalani.......the location.....the views.....the rooms.....the service.....all very special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TulemarDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel and we really liked it here. Very quiet, very low key, right in the center of Waikiki. The rooms felt a little aged but everything was super clean and well cared for. Excellent staff and service (for the most part). Some of the quietest rooms we have ever stayed in. I would have called this a 5-star but we had a few very minor issues with the room, and drink service around the pool was not the best. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillDiane2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is not an inexpensive hotel, but the room was immaculate, and supplies ample. The TV system was not that convenient to use, but they had many channels. We had an Ocean View, which was perfect. We could watch the sunset into the ocean and hear the music from the shows at "House without a Key". We really couldn't find one thing to really complain about. The housekeeping was great, food at the restaurants were generally wonderful, concierge service which we used quite a lot, were fantastic. The porter & valet service were "spot on." We will definitely return here.

Room Tip: We had an Ocean View and it was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the Halekulani hotel was fabulous. We stayed for 9 nights in an ocean front Diamond Head view suite (no. 767), which was ideal, everything we wanted. Great view, good layout, and good facilities. All staff were always very pleasant and obliging - nothing was any trouble to them. All restaurants were great, and the day spa was excellent. This is a beautiful hotel of the highest order.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank br40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing