We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Wakiki hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Wakiki hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

They are the best not just because of the location: the service and attention to detail is unsurpassed in this area. If we had our kids with us on this trip, we'd stay at the Hilton. But for a couples trip it's hard to beat the food, service and decor.

Amex customers- we booked through Amex, and were upgraded upon arrival to a Diamond Head suite- I have included a couple photos. I didn't think the $500 upgrade was worth it when I looked online, but the views are awesome.

Room Tip: Check the pics of the Diamond Head suite view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejfmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    451
    148
    52
    38
See reviews for
637
1,171
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The most recent incident of racial discrimination that has been in the news has brought back bad memories of my own terrible experience at the Halekulani Hotel. A while back we stayed at this hotel for a seven day holiday and paid thousands of dollars for a prime Diamond Head view room. We enjoyed their restaurants and views very much but I was appalled by the security guards acts of racial discrimination. Whenever I walked back to my room, I was watched with a look of suspicion and on one occasion even followed up to my floor by a security guard. He watched me until I walked into my room! I was hurt by the inference that I didn't belong and I was a committing a crime. I am part Hawaiian and I have darker skin. If I were a Japanese national or white, I would not have been treated this way. I will never stay there again. I recently stayed at the Kahala Resort and was treated like royalty there! If you are a person of color, I highly suggest you stay at another hotel. The Halekulani security guards WILL ABSOLUTELY ruin your vacation. Don't give your hard earned money to a company that condones racial prejudice. Get your act together Halekulani! Show some respect to the people of Hawaii.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
78 Thank Kamaaina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Two thumbs up for this perfect luxury complex.
Probably the best design rooms.
Attention to details and service's delivery perfect.
Ideal ambiance for every hour of the day.
Best experience at all the three hotel restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south to the pool courtyard are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERTO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Honolulu is a nice place to escape for the weekend when you live on Kauai. This property is a good escape from reality.
The service was fantastic, as always. from the moment we arrived until we sadly departed, the Halekulani went above and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon-Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

So, this is a great hotel. The ambiance is essentially perfect for a luxury vacation, or, say, a honeymoon. I stayed in a Diamond Head view room and it was wonderful. There are a couple of things which you should be aware of, particularly if you are here on business.

1) This is not a business hotel. The amenities you expect, pressing, even a coffee maker in the room (!) are missing. Again, if you are here on business, this would probably be a strange choice anyway.

2) The room was crazy expensive for what the size and amenities. The room was around $900 per night. This is not the high season. I expected it to be much larger than it was. It was quite small - well appointed and very well located, but extremely expensive for what it is.

The concierge was awesome and recommendations were perfect. Again, great execution and premium price all around.

Room Tip: The Diamond Head view room was spectacular. The view really makes the entire thing worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFTraveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is the ONLY place to stay in Hawaii if you value good 5 star accommodation. Recently refurbished, the hotel exudes class in every way. I always enjoyed returning to my hotel after days out touring. The hotel and its position is like a calm oasis that allows you to escape the noise and chaos of Waikiki whilst still being the action. Wonderful service where nothing is a problem, I will be booking my next vacation at Halekulani should I ever visit Hawaii again. Simply stunning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlmgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I hadn't been to Honolulu in many years, and was somewhat reluctant to spend precious vacation time to go there, but when the opportunity came up recently, we decided to take the chance. I was really pleased with our decision, and the Halekulani was a big part of that reason. The hotel is not "drop dead" fabulous as you go in, but the quiet elegance and quality become apparent quite shortly.

Our Diamond Head view room was not large for three persons, but it was very high quality, with a very comfortable bathroom. What made it quite bearable, however, was the fabulous balcony and killer view. We were lucky enough to have a balcony that had a high degree of privacy because the hotel jutted out a little further on the right side, which gave us the ability to be out there without anyone really overlooking us. I would definitely inquire as to whether one of these types of rooms was available should I check in again. And I loved sitting out there day or night and watching the passing scene on Waikiki. Our housekeeping service was flawless and prompt, which is another big plus for this hotel.

The restaurants at this property are top notch. I could have been happy eating only at the hotel. The House Without a Key was a great casual venue. We had a good lunch and dinner there, and their drinks are great. Only downside is that the evening entertainment only lasted until 9 p.m., and I would have been happy to sit out there listening to Hawaiian music much later.

The Orchids restaurant is a step up in quality and atmosphere. Such a pleasant patio. Very reminiscent, for us, of some great Asian hotel. Absolutely cannot recommend the breakfast here highly enough. The madacamia nut pancakes with coconut sauce were so good, and didn't drown you in sugar. All the baked goods were super high quality, and the service was wonderful. We were here on an American Express Platinum rate, and could have had the all-you-can-eat breakfast at House WIthout a Key as well, but Orchids was just too wonderful. The building in which Orchids is located is just a lovely venue, with a gorgeous lounge area and La Mer restaurant is located upstairs. We didn't eat there, but it looked beautiful.

I actually loved the whole relaxed and elegant pace at the Halekulani. It definitely insulates you from the masses at Waikiki, and that is welcome! The only other place I would consider staying in this area is the Royal Hawaiian, as that is so unique, but it would be hard to pass up the Halekulani should we return. Definitely a relaxing and wonderful way to reacquaint myself with Honolulu. Now if United hadn't made us 4 hours late on our return, the trip would have been perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingsroadgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing