We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing, Best Hotel I have been to in Years!!!Thank you Halekulani” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, Best Hotel I have been to in Years!!!Thank you Halekulani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I want to state that staying in Nice Hotels is One of my Hobbies. I am currently going through a major custody battle and it has been a very hard time for me. I have lived in hotels for the last couple of months and am extremely disappointed in how I have been treated especially with the amount of money I have spent. After being at several hotels I found the Halekulani to be a breath of fresh air. The staff and management went out of there way to accommodate my needs and even found a room for me when the hotel was at full capacity. I want to thank this hotel and there staff for the incredible accommodations and for working so hard to make my stay enjoyable. I would go back there at any time and see why they have five stars all around. The hotel is a little pricey but you get what you pay for. Thank you Halekulani!!!
Annie Stirling

Room Tip: Make sure you book way ahead of time as I know this hotel fills up very fast. It is also recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniestirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    417
    138
    47
    34
See reviews for
593
1,092
60
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was a joy to stay at the Halekulani for three nights. We stayed there as part of our honeymoon. The rooms were the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in and were maintained to the highest level.
The staff were very pleasant and polite, any request that was made was efficiently returned with the desired results. It was also nice to have some sort of dress code after dark, as this is lacking in most resorts these days.
The rooms are a little small, so don’t be shocked that they are smaller than the average room these days. We got upgraded to a Diamond Head room as we booked with Amex. I was expecting a better room, because of the large nightly fee paid, but all in all it was a nice way to start out honeymoon.
All of the restaurants are of great quality. Try to have breakfast at both restaurants.

Room Tip: Book wil Amex for an Upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjr-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the ONLY place to stay in Hawaii if you value good 5 star accommodation. Recently refurbished, the hotel exudes class in every way. I always enjoyed returning to my hotel after days out touring. The hotel and its position is like a calm oasis that allows you to escape the noise and chaos of Waikiki whilst still being the action. Wonderful service where nothing is a problem, I will be booking my next vacation at Halekulani should I ever visit Hawaii again. Simple stunning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlmgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at this five star hotel for six nights. Years ago it catered to those who wanted to experience the best that Honolulu had to offer. Now, seems to be filled with those who can just pay the prices. Very little discrimination. Witnessed a group of young Japanese berate a staff member. We later spoke to the manager on duty defending the staff. Very sad to see some guests who leave their rooms at 7 am to place towels everyday at the exact same spot around the pool. No class; or, if any, third. Food was excellent in the dining room; jackets are required even for lunch. The more informal restaurants are good too. The pool attendants are professional; the general manager was very accommodating for special request that we made. All staff are very deferential, which in the case mentioned above, was disappointing. This "Gateway Befitting Heaven" has slipped over the years. Now catering to nouveaux riche. Those who understand who they are would do better at the Ala Moana.

Room Tip: Ask what parts of the hotel are undergoing renovation. They are renovating a wing at a time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a joy it was to stay at the Halekulani! This was our first trip to Hawaii and we did a lot of research about where to stay but this hotel far exceeded our expectations. We felt so special here and the warmth from staff at all levels was genuine.

We booked through Amex and on arrival we were upgraded to a partial ocean view room which was just beautiful. The outlook owas over both the pool area and out to the ocean. As preferred we were given our two double beds and there was ample space in the closet for two people. Decor is fresh, bright and simple. It was a pleasure to be in the room.

The ambience of the grounds and the pool area are so peaceful and serene but also luxurious and glamorous. The pool is lit up beautifully at night and we very much enjoyed the bands that played in the House with a Key. Service by the pool was outstanding. We were not left long to wait for drinks or food. Eric the waiter was very charming and helpful!

Breakfast was included in our room rate which is good value. The omlette stand was a highlight. It was so gorgeous sitting out in the sunshine looking at Diamond Head to start the day.

We dined at all three resturants: House without a Key (great for casual fare and sunset cocktails) - best MAI TAIs in Hawaii and we tried all of them; Orchids was a nice choice - I enjoyed a nice steak there and tried the famous coconut cake dessert (very light and delicious); La Mer was outstanding in terms of ambience and food. We tried the tasting menu which was subtle and delicious. My fish was so fresh and delcious. The souffle dessert was out of this world! The resteraunt looks over the ocean and the atmosphere is very romantic. Great for a special occasion!

On Wednesday nights guests are invited for cocktails and canapes on the the Hau Terrace. Gorgeous view and a lovely atmosphere - don't miss this.

The spa was probably the best experience I've ever had at a spa anywhere. My friend and I had a massage together and everything was in sync. The foot massage ritual was a nice start and the massage itself was very good. The little orchid placed under the massage table meant you had something nice to look at which was a great touch. Afterwards you can relax on the lanai and the little mochi they brought us with our tea were delicious!

We also had our hair done afterwards which was great. The ladies there were so funny and friendly. Really appreciated having the hair salon on hand!

Service as a general thing was just incredible - nothing was too much trouble! The little gifts left in the room, the way the door staff remembered us and help us with our copious shopping bags, organsing a private island tour with a great driver.

The hotel is a little further away from the main shopping area but you can walk there. We tended to take taxis which we always got straight away.

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: we were upgraded to a partial ocean view room which was just lovely - the lanais are large enought t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatkatiedid84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Halekulani in HI. The room and view were wonderful and luxurious. The staff at the hotel were incredibly attentive and very gracious. We lost a button on a garment and they provided 4 different colored buttons for us to use! That was incredible. The facilities were top notch and the location is excellent with incredible views of Diamond Head! We truly could not have asked for a better stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a Diamond Head Ocean View on a higher floor! It is wonderful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrdirsteins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We just got home after our trip to Oahu. Our last couple of nights we treated ourselves to staying at the Halekulani. I did a lot of research before we booked and all of the great reviews didn't even come close to preparing us for our amazing few days there! Everything was first class and luxurious right down to the little things. Frank Hernandez, our concierge helped us out getting a reservation at a restaurant that we couldn't get into. Laying by the pool was one of the most pampered experiences ever. From the person who set up your lounge chair with a cover and towels, to someone handing out cut pineapple and coconut ice creams, to being served iced water and of course ordering those fabulous cocktails. Our room was sensational, with every luxury that you have seen. We order breakfast room service one morning and the guy delivering it happily set us up on our balcony table and then made sure we got a great photo out there. I could go on and on. I've stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels but none have made me feel as special as the Halekulani!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayrwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,322 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing