We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Resort in energetic Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite, Breakfast and Spa
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Tranquil Resort in energetic Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked through American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts. We arrived at noon and said our room was ready (ocean front), but if we were willing to wait to 3pm, they would upgrade us to a Diamond Head Ocean Front.

After relaxing by the pool and at the restaurant House with a Key, our room was ready. The room was gorgeous and definitely worth the wait.

By booking through AMEX, we received complimentary breakfast (either at Orchids or House without a Key), a free dinner at Orchids, and late check out.

Breakfast was buffet style at House without a Key, and a la Carte at Orchids. We preferred Orchids (try their Lobster Scrambled Eggs and puffed pastry). The Orchids dinner was Prix Fixe but still quite a nice bonus. House without a Key has nightly entertainment, as well the Lewer's Lounge.

The next day was a little overcast, so we decided to do a couples massage. It was definitely a relaxing experience.

The hotel concierge was wonderful in planning our activities, and helped us plan our drive around the island with good stopping points and restaurants along the way.

We were always greeted and chatted up by the valet staff, who had helpful little pointers about Oahu and the culture.

The only downside is the beach, which is on the smallest strip of Waikiki. The good news is that the beachwalk will get you to the best part in a few minutes.

The great thing about this resort is that it is on Waikiki but also feels like its a tranquil hidden gem away from it all. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rkmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    411
    135
    47
    31
See reviews for
577
1,072
60
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been staying at the Halekulani since the old days....when it was just bungalows on the beach. But now this is a true five star hotel. I said this is the best hotel in Hawaii, but that may be too limiting. One would probably have to travel at least all the way to Hong Kong (and maybe further) to come close. Start with a beautiful open plan, add service from every person working at the hotel and you have one of the best in the world. Guests are treated like guests in a home: what do you need and we'll make every effort to accommodate you. Pricey? Yes, but you get every dollar's worth.

Room Tip: The "partial ocean view" rooms are the best value....for the most part "partial"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalmyLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The concierge at the Halekulani, Wendy Wong, was absolutely fantastic. She helped plan our three days in Honolulu to perfection. The hotel itself is very, very good. The morning breakfasts divine, the location excellent and service good.

Room Tip: Watch the incredible sunsets....from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JymF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'm not sure why the Trump across the street gets such good reviews. When I travel I want a beach front hotel with top service. The Halekulani is the hotel in Honolulu. There are several other nice places, but I love my time at the Hale.
I believe Hale means home and the Halekulani is the home away from home that we all want when we vacation.
The Hale is right up there with the Four Seasons and may even be a little bit better.
The Halekulani has it all from pool to beach to Waikiki at the door.
Why is the Hale so wonderful?
Service
Service
Service

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryS349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin county
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Have enjoyed this hotel for many years. Didn't disappoint on a recent trip. Great location and actually not a bad value (tough to believe I know - but true). An oasis of calm in crazy Waikiki! And compared to the Royal Hawaiian (which sadly is now a disaster) , this is the only place to stay in Waikiki

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcritic94920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is the best hotel to stay in Waikiki. I have tried so many in the past but nothing tops the Halekulani. The location is brilliant, close to Lewers Street with lots of good restaurants like Ruth Chris, BLT (Donald Trumps Steak House), Taormina (great Sicilian Food) and many many more. Great pool facilities and the only hotel in Waikiki offering a resort area with grass and beautiful sun lounges. Good access to the beach. I have stayed at this hotel now twice a year for the past couple of years and can highly recommend the splurge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjonthetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband would describe me as a picky traveler with very high expectations. So I rarely leave a hotel without some complaints. But the Halekulani is wonderful. We splurged for 3 nights; by the time we left, the place felt like family. The service is warm, attentive and friendly across the board: from the concierge, to hostess, waitstaff, porters and pool attendants. Poolside, iced water and sunscreen are always available. There are plenty of chairs, so even "early reservers" won't deprive you of an afternoon spot. Throughout the day, fresh pineapple or ice cream bars are periodically brought by. Evening drinks (the very best Mai Tais) and gentle Hawaiian musical performers make for a relaxing end to the day. Waikiki is a bustling city, but once you enter the Halekulani from the street, you sense calm and tranquility. It's quite remarkable. Unlike some Ritz hotels I've visited, there's no "scene" here and no snobbery -- just tranquility and gentle pampering. To me, it's perfect.

Room Tip: There is a fair bit of City street noise with deliveries in early morning hours. Rooms closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellySW_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,239 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing