We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is really a fine hotel in every way. The rooms are extremely well thought out and beautifully decorated. They pay attention to small details like putting your TV remotes in a fake book by the beds so as not to detract from the decor.
Everyone we passed- no matter what their job- smiled and greeted us and seemed genuinely happy to have you as their guest.
The restaurants are amazingly good. Great service, food and ambiance. Call prior to your stay and reserve a table for Orchid's and request a table on the patio 30-45 minutes before sunset and experience a beautiful Hawaian sunset to make the meal really special.
I can't say anything wrong about the hotel, but the prices ARE high. We paid $780.00 +++/ night for a Diamond Head ocean view room. Not sure I would pay that again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank activetrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,692
    426
    145
    52
    37
See reviews for
616
1,127
62
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Hawaiian holiday. Excellent location for the buzz of Waikikki, great access to the beach and shops. Fantastic room and views and loved its history. Particularly enjoyed the cocktail party and the jazz club.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Elegant, classy hotel. Room are nice, but nothing special (we had ocean view on 12th floor). Pool is lovely. No beach chairs. Breakfast included and very good. Restaurants a tad stuffy. Not sure we'd return. Bed was nowhere near quality of Four Seasons or a Westin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie_Garrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a 3 night stay. The staff in every area of this lovely hotel were outstanding. Susan, the concierge was extremely helpful finding us a rental car and surfing lessons. We were forgotten during our meal at La Mer, and Steven, the manager of the restaurant, was apologetic and accommodating to the point that our meal for the next night was free. The rooms were well appointed, but I don't think the extra cost for the upgrade to ocean view was worth it. Mostly we saw the top of the restaurant. We ate all our meals on property including the breakfast buffet-the birds were a nuisance, however. Happy Hour on the lawn with the Hawaiian music was absolutely lovely. This is where we will stay for every trip to Oahu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

What an wonderful stay! I enjoyed every minute of it and really, almost opted to stay a few days more. The staff there was ready and welcoming when I arrived almost at midnight! They probably could tell I was tired and hungry because they immediately assisted with my bags and asked if the could assist me in getting something to eat. I appreciated that thought and immediate offer to accommodate me.

For the remainder of my stay, I was in complete relaxation because of the facilities, the location and especially the staff. They really are willing to do what you need and are so super friendly doing it. It was always nice to come back to my room to relax after a busy or just from sitting out on the sand. I liked that where I was staying was away from the fast pace of the tourists and everything in Honolulu.

I will most definitely stay here when I return this year!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. My suite was on the lower level so that I could have a lanai and walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexNRP069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently spend 3 days and 2 nights at the Halekulani Hotel in Honolulu and it was great. Excellent rooms, excellent ocean view...beach access and walking distance to other hotels and beaches. Their 5 Star Restaurant is World Class! Highly recommend for couples and special occasions. Best breakfast restaurant in the World...what a view and setting! Hotel is walking distance to 6 other restaurants that are very good. Great location in downtown Honolulu.

Room Tip: Request Full Ocean View Rooms...all the rooms have a partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked a last minute holiday to hawaii for 5nights. Booked 2 garden view king rooms and got upgraded to a partial ocean view rooms. Rooms simple, elagant and clean. Complimentary water and turn down service every night with a little surprise. Service lovely nothing is too much trouble. Booked our car and activities with concierge daily - very helpful. Great Breakfast. Location you dont get better than Halekulani! Fourth time to hawaii - first time at halekulani - i will be back to stay here.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is great if you want to save alittle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_L_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing