We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Halekulani Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$226
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$204
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$254
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$420
$336
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$245
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,678)
Filter reviews
2,678 results
Traveler rating
1,922
497
163
55
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,922
497
163
55
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshouse without a keyla merhouse befitting heavenlewers loungecoconut cakefour seasonswaikiki beachdiamond headroom checkunderstated eleganceocean frontpool servicefive star hotelhawaiian musicour honeymoonconcierge staffturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
1,017 - 1,022 of 2,678 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you are familiar with the philosophy of wellness and balance at Canyon Ranch in Tucson, AZ, you'll find the same care here. The practitioners are superb. The Spa Halekulani is hands "on" the BEST spa for massage, facials, manicures, and hair in Hawaii. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: I thought I had "seen it all" in the world of luxury hotel rooms. The Orchid Suite has a separate cold plunge, in addition to its jacuzzi, heated toilet seats, etc.! Blissfully quiet on Waikiki Beach.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times and it always feels like home. The staff is extremely friendly and cordial. The rooms have special amenities with a surprise gift every day. The bathrooms are luxurious and equipped with all you would possibly need. Beds are super comfortable. Orchids and La Mer are excellent and the Hula Show at House without a Key during sunset is worthwhile. Lewers Lounge is quite romantic with great jazz. There is everything to like at this very special hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am writing this review and frankly I must admit not being a fan of Hawaii. Flying that far we much prefer to find ourselves immersed in exotic destinations, where there is a mix of cultural difference, white sand, turquoise water, pristine ocean views and close to nobody in sight.

Halekulani is all the opposite. It is a huge concrete building right downtown in the buzz of Honolulu. It's like being in a large convention hotel thinking that we're on the beach and trying to feel somewhat exotic, but being right on Fifth Avenue in New York in the busiest parts of the avenue.

The hotel is vast and rooms are spacious. Expect to pay for them, it's not cheap. But if you go, make sure that you ask for a photo of the view from the room or suite. We had a suite on the 5th floor and our view was great, overlooking Waikiki beach and the volcano. But we had family in the same expensive suite on the 3rd floor and they could only see pipes and flat industrial roof top from other parts of the hotel. The 2 extra floors made a huge difference. I would ask for the 7th or 8th floor even. You may almost feel alone from your balcony!

If you like it busy, you are always a step outside and right into the shops and very busy surroundings. But you will see that the hotel itself is busy. It is filled with Japanese visitors who obviously do not like to be in the sun too much, so they walk on the beach fully dressed and often with "floaties" even inflatable "Ducks" perhaps because they can't swim. And the beach at the Halekulani is unbelievably tiny! You get a very tiny spot of sand and there is a lot of traffic.

In front of the hotel there is a Surf Shop. We did take surf lessons, everybody from our oldest 23 year old boy to our youngest 10 year old daughter. They are remarkable. The instructors are absolutely fantastic. They cared so much about us having fun and being safe it was exceptional. And the waves there are exceptional. The water is warm, the waves are smooth and between them there is no wind, no ripple, everything is relaxed and smooth. We all were able very quickly to ride the waves and frankly we would have never stopped!

We went again and again and took all the video and photo shoots that the surf shop offered us and they are so memorable! If we ever return to Honolulu we would go back to Halekulani because while not exotic it was very comfortable and the driver for us would be to go surfing with these guys again. We tried surfing elsewhere in the Maldives, in Maui, etc... but we never had so much fun and were never able to surf the waves the way we did there. We are thinking of going to Japan and perhaps stopping there along the way for 3 days or so just for that... and maybe to play golf again because the golf in Honolulu, especially the ones close to the scenic mountains where LOST was filmed, are simply amazing. The photos from there are just unreal.

So Halekulani is not exotic, but its a comfortable place with access to world best surfing for the entire family, lots of shops and dining options, superb golfs and some nice trekking tracks as well.

Enjoy it, but ask for a high floor and a photo of the view from the room you are booking, very important!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and insist on seeing a photo of the view from your room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BonVoyageFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in July 2012. Halekulani is heaven. Elegance and class in a fabulous location. Excellent service from all staff, the concierge service being particularly outstanding. Nothing is any trouble. Whatever you want or need they sort it. Room thoroughly clean. Beautiful swimming pool and just through a gate to the perfect water of Waikiki. We were on the 11th floor with a partial ocean view room. The only downsides was from very early in the morning there is the constant sound of reversing vehicle warning indicators from rubbish and delivery trucks on the street below. Breakfast was a bit chaotic. Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bortam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for the holidays, and had an unbelievably relaxing time. Service was impeccable, with the in-room papaya and lime greatly appreciated. We had visited House Without a Key and Orchid's numerous times the past few years, but loved the hotel experience too. Great location, walking distance to everything, and VERY quiet evenings compared to other places in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews