We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ...but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite, Breakfast and Spa
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing ...but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ok this was the last leg of our honeymoon and we selected an Ocean View room.

Beautiful setting and great location

The room was all that we expected and more, the staff are magnificent ( they need to be as the hotel as we were told by an outsider is a non union employer and they have a one strike policy with staff, one mistake and you are gone).

Every thing with the Hotel is excellent with one exception ...... when you are paying $800 per night for a room (after taxes ) how come we have to queue for Breakfast and in the evening for cocktail for 20 to 30 minutes...... where else do you queue for cocktails?? The pool is nice but people reserve their spots at 7 am!!!

The organisation around Breakfast and evening spaces an Room without a Key need to be reviewed.

Apart from this this hotel is without fault and was a wonderful conclusion to our Honeymoon. We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phillip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    411
    135
    47
    31
See reviews for
577
1,075
60
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in two separate rooms, both were lovely.
The daily Japanese weddings on the lawn were fantastic.
The food was yummy ($$$) morning miso soup at the buffet was a favorite. Cocktails yummy, strong.
Why is this a 4 star and not 5?
1. Concierge services were mediocre. Handing me a brochure is not what I expect. Several times we consulted and tipped them only to walk away feeling like we still had to arrange our own trip.
2.The worst toiletries I have ever used in a luxury hotel. What about these would make me want to visit their spa? Nothing!!!
3. Pool attendants made us feel like we were in the way and their overly serious tone made the pool area very boring. Good if you don't want to swim with your kids and have fun. You will be glared at,

The beach directly outside of this hotel is TINY.. No beach service there. You have to move elsewhere for a place to sit and rent umbrellas.

I would stay here in the future for a couple days at most, but then would likely move to outrigger or Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coloradomichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'll be brief. I love posh hotels. I don't subscribe to the belief that a hotel is just a place to sleep. The hotel sets the tone for the whole trip. The Halekulani made this hotel snob quite happy. We actually started out at the Royal Hawaiian. Even though that hotel has it's charms, it simply wasn't what I was looking for. So we moved over to the Halekulani and booked via Amex Fine Hotels & Resorts. The lobby is airy and markedly less frenetic than neighboring hotels. It was immediately calming, which is quite rare in Honolulu. The service is excellent. We checked into a Ocean Front room on the second floor, just above the spa. I would def request that room again. What was really nice is that I could walk up the lovely staircase which ascends right on top of a fountain/water feature and never needed the elevator. The restaurants at the Halekulani are really quite good. I'd rec the House Without a Key and Orchids for lunch and breakfast. Orchids is also lovely at dinnertime. Service was really outstanding at Orchids. What is definitely not to be missed is L'Aperitif at La Mer. It's the gorgeous bar inside La Mer, and it serves really interesting cocktails paired with an amuse bouche. It's a really cool spot. Go. I didn't get the chance to eat at La Mer but it looked really good. Also not to be missed is Lewer's Lounge which is a cozy jazz bar in the hotel. We also did afternoon tea which was lovely. To conclude, the best thing about Honolulu is the Halekulani.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms above spa on second floor have great views and are easy to zip in and out of. Clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

You don't stay at the Halekulani for beach access or for any other mediocre purpose.this is a leading hotel of the world for a reason. Opulent and sumptuous atmosphere but warm and homey at the same time, the Halakulani specialises in treating each guest as a welcome family member. We loved the surprises at the nightly turndown and also all the invitations to attend cocktails with the manager, afternoon tea and performances.... I absolutely advise you to Join LHW - Leading Hotels of the world before you go. The membership cost is $150 per year but the benefits are huge- back fast for two each day, invitations to private gatherings and the service just improves because there is an extra incentive for staff to ensure you have a great time. We booked a partial ocean view - beautiful, but the LHW membership also guarantees a room upgrade on arrival so again, it can't be beaten. We just LOVED our stay and will return in another year to do it all again! Also don't miss out on dining at La Mer- to say it is stunning is really missing the point. It is an experience for your stomach, your soul and your well being. We dined in all of the restaurants and found them all great - I have a craze on fresh pineapple now! The Lewers Lounge was a pleasant surprise - a real jazz club with entertainment that was world class. You won't see the type of screaming drunkards you'd find at The Outrigger next door or the Aussie Bogans you now find down the road at the Moana Surfrider - that's what happens when a hotel is featured on Hone& Away! You will also really enjoy the proximity to all the shops and the fact that the Concierge will arrange everything for you at your convenience - including tours and trips out to the Waikelefrom Premium Outlet! Our verdict on the Halakulani? HEAVEN !

Room Tip: Join the LHW at lhw.com and save as you get an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KiraBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast of B.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Fourth time staying at the Halekulani, and it has only gotten better. The rooms have been renovated to an understated perfection. Muted relaxing colours on walls, floors and furniture . The bathrooms are immaculate and bright with seperate shower from the tub. The food at the "House Without a Key" is still good with varied selections however there is a definite lack of any "specialty" foods such as gluten free. The pool is the best in Waikiki with plenty of lounge chairs. The only suggestion is that their "Boutique" could be a little better stocked. But then it is a very short walk to markets and shopping. Great location with excellent views of ocean and Diamond Head depending on your room choice. Staff is very accommodating and friendly. Concierge arranges everything taking all the fuss out of arrangements. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, get a room in the Tower facing Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauimadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalon1025
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The BEST hotel in Oahu, fantastic rooms, service, location. The Halekulani never disappoints. Friendly, caring service. I've been staying here for 12 years and it has really become a second home. Many thanks to all the wonderful staff that make the halekulani above all the rest

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avalon1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Have been from D.C. to Australia,Japan and all of Europe but when it comes to service and friendliness and desire to please their guests no one is better than the Halekulani hotel on Hawaii on the island of Oahu!! The sunset is unreal, food excellent view super but the service sets it apart!!! Can't wait to go back and now live in Fort Lauderdale!! From the time you pull in till you leave expect nothing but their best!! Thank you Halekulani for a great 8 days

Room Tip: All rooms are good with a super view and pool views we liked the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coach3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing