We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Hotel Service Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Service Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Halekulani for 7 days in September and had a fantastic week. Apart from the hotel location which is first rate the service at this hotel is, by far, the best service we have ever had at any hotel anywhere in the world. A warm rather than hot dinner at one of the restaurants saw a refusal to charge us for our meal and wine, a request about information from my wife on cosmetics saw a call back from reception with location and a pricelist, my wife mislaid her PJs and she was given some free of charge....just some of the service provided without question as was a refusal to charge for local calls.
A great property with lovely facilities, access to the beach and uncrowded pool area. Unbeatable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,692
    426
    145
    52
    37
See reviews for
616
1,127
62
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The upsides - Great location, views from room, food and staff service is impeccable.

Downsides - I think for the rooms it is expensive but its location is what you are paying for. The pool is small, loungers are at a premium and rooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Circumnavigator222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed here a number times and my most recent stay was great again! The service and staff friendliness is first rate. Rooms are impeccably maintained. The business center is first rate as well as the gym. The best Jazz lounge in Waikiki in their Lewer's Lounge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prpleace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great check-in as once the credit card was swiped, we were taken around the hotel by the receptionist who took us up to the room to complete the check-in process - nice touch.

We had a Diamond Head Ocean Front room on the 8th floor which looked out over the sea and Diamond Head. The other rooms view will be blocked by the Sheraton next door so if you want to guarantee the view, book this level of room!

The room was practical and clean. Bathroom was accessed through the wardrobe sliding doors - nice touch as with them open, you could shower and still look out to the view if you wanted. The hotel is popular with Japanese tourists and is a calm oasis from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We ate at House without a Key and had drinks watching the entertainment and the food and drinks were excellent. Sadly, we didn't eat at the other restaurants so cannot comment on those.

The beach area out front is quite small but walkways in front of the hotels either side take you to the longer Waikiki beaches.

The hotel is perfectly located on the beach and near to the shops on Kalakaua Avenue for high end shops such as Louis Vuitton, Tiffany etc and 10 mins from Ala Moana Shopping Centre. This hotel was a perfect choice for our short stay in Honolulu/Waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetePHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWTHORNWOODS, Il
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great location with small but very clean rooms. This is a great hotel to stay at if you are looking to read a book and chill. There are no beach bars, pool bars or music playing during the day like the other hotels along the beach. If you are looking for that type of place it is just a short walk away.
The beach though small was great and not crowded. The staff is very attentive to your needs and friendly. I look forward to staying here again next year when I return for more R&R.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelalot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is excellently situated right at the Waikiki beach. We had a diamond head ocean view room- very nice to see the iconic view every morning! The hotel has a graceful and elegant feel. Many weddings were held in the courtyard. Pool area was small, but did not need to spend any time there. The included breakfast buffet was simple but met our needs (rice, miso soup, pickles, smoked salmon and steamed vegetables for me; omelet bar, cereal, bread, cheese, bacon and sausages for DH). Every night at turndown there was a small little gift, which was a very nice touch. Shower was small but excellent functionality. One improvement was at checkout- the staffer at the checkout desk was brusque and seemed unfriendly. We had a very late flight out. The check out staffer did not mention the hospitality suite. It was the very helpful and friendly bag valet that mentioned that there is a hospitality suite with lockers and two showers that can be used by guests after checkout. This meant we could have hung out at the beach and showered before changing into our cold weather airplane clothes. The hospitality suite is also the business centre. Please note that suitcases cannot be brought up to the suite- but small carry bags can be locked in a locker for change of clothes. There are also complimentary beverages- coffee, tea, cold drinks. We wished we had known about this ahead of time, so we could have worn our bathing suits on that day.

Room Tip: Don't forget about the hospitality suite if you have a late flight out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surreygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Everything about this hotel is service, service, service. Wonderful attentive staff either having a drink, dinner at Prchid or La Mer, or staying for a holiday. The spa is amazing, a couple massage with lava rocks.

A honolulu must

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing