We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My new husband and I were on our honeymoon and stayed at the Halekulani for 5 nights and 6 days after a 3 day stay at The Wynn in Las Vegas. All I can say is WOW!!! Let me start off by saying that it is by far one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen! Everything is so clean and fresh. The entire staff is very friendly and accommodating. The pool area is spotless! The pool staff is always on hand asking you if you need anything. My husband and I are not big drinkers but the drinks that were being made for other guests looked incredible! We ate lunch and breakfast at the House Without a Key several times. The buffet breakfast was very good and the turkey sandwich and burger for lunch was great! A couple of mornings we had breakfast on the lanai. They come in and set up everything for you on the lanai. Nothing like eating a romantic breakfast with your new husband while listening to the waves and enjoying the beautiful weather! This was my first trip to Hawaii and it will definitely not be my last! If I ever go back to Oahu, I will definitely be staying at the Halekulani! :)

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,761
    457
    149
    52
    38
See reviews for
641
1,180
66
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed there for 10 nights and the Hotel and Staff was exceptional from day 1 to day 10......The room we had was as good as Suites that we have stayed at in the US, if not better. I'm ready to go back now and would not stay anywhere else. Mick and Suzanne.

Room Tip: Ocean View was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a wonderful stay a Halekulani to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary! From the moment we pulled up we were greeted with Aloha! Amazing spotless view rooms with champagne and chocolates waiting for us from the manager! The pineapple and ice cream by the pool were a treat! The staff was first class and always call you by your name! House without a Key for sunset and hula! Great weekend..back to reality..but driving over the Pail back to Kailua ain't so bad:)

Room Tip: Diamond Head Views are breataking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is the best. full stop. the service is 1st class. We were greeted at the lobby, our luggage whisked away and after we had checked in, we were personally escorted to our room and shown all the features of the room.
We had a view over the pool and ocean and it was just lovely. At night from the lanai, you could hear the live music from the bar downstairs .
We mentioned that it was our honeymoon at reception and when we returned from dinner the 1st night, there was a bottle of champagne on ice and glasses waiting for us in our room with a note from the manager. Neither my husband or myself are champagne drinkers so we left a note with housekeeping thanking them for the champagne but that as neither of us drink champagne, please return it so it is not wasted. The next day we received a phone call from the manager asking whether we would prefer a bottle of red or white wine instead. SO nice . and this was how the rest of our 3 night stay continued. When we went down to the pool, they made up 'beds' for us and then handed us towels. We even had a guy come round at one point, giving us complementary ice blocks which was great on a hot day.
Overall this was a great hotel, though we didn't use any of the hotel restaurants, it was definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We can only reiterate all the fabulous reviews this hotel has previously received. Spotlessly clean, food is fantastic, walking around this looks like the best hotel in honolulu. There are lots of weddings and the staff are very busy but they could not do enough for us. Somebody mentioned that the pool is not very big we suggest they walk a few feet further to the largest pool on the planet! On the last evening we enjoyed beautiful canapes and cocktails courtesy of the manager which was a wonderful way to end our holiday. The best hotel we have ever stayed in and we are well travelled. A trip around the island of Oahu is a must as it is so unspoilt. This was a 17 hour flight for us but we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billington127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed at the Halekulani with the kids. Not intrusive, no pressures, absolutely caring service. Casual protected environment. Some ideas. Make sure you press for breakfast included. Huge smorgasbord fresh fruit etc. NIght meals dine across the street at Denny's but don't do it late 'graveyard shift'. Found there the kids ate plenty & loved the desserts always around $40 the lot. Next to the Halekulani the Sheraton was monstrously overcrowded. Pools full of aggro and little room to move with 100's of deck chairs around 1 small pool with good sunset view, while the big pool was chaos.People swinging hammocks playing football in the water. Halekulani poolside is very serene and polite. Royal Hawaiian looked tired. No atmosphere all gawky tourist no style any more.
The treat of the trip for my 11yo daughter was the surf school which filmed her riding simple long waves. Very easy to do and safe and the coaches were fun.

Room Tip: At the Halekulani make sure you get Diamond Head views. This is the closest to the ocean otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrismurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed a week at this hotel and can not fault any of it. It is situated in an excellent position on the edge of waikiki beach close to restaurants and shops. The rooms are beautifully furnished as is the rest of the hotel. As for the staff they could not do enough for you and made you feel very special.

We cant find anything negative to say about this hotel and highly recommend staying here if you are planning on visiting Oahu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50 & Fab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing