We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so sure”

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Ranked #260 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Inspired by Italian trattoria cuisine, culture, and conversation, Romano's Macaroni Grill has been proudly serving unforgettable meals that leave a lasting impression to our deserving guests since 1988 - with knowledge, care and Italian charisma infused in everything we do. At Romano's Macaroni Grill, we know that for our guests any night out is a big night out - and it is our responsibility and privilege to treat it as such. That's why we start every meal off right: With a bottle of wine at the center of the table, while you explore our menu of expertly handcrafted rustic dishes and Italian classics. Warm distinctive touches, like our signature honor system wine and bustling open kitchen, create a memorable, sensory experience that you'll remember long after you leave the table.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so sure”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service was awesome--Our waiter had alot of energy--The food was great---The temperature was TOO cold, and the restaurant had a interesting "odor"----

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    62
    19
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oops”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lots of little small items added up until I felt like I was in an episode of mystery diner gone bad.
Pros: Seated quickly at 1:00 on Friday for lunch. Restaurant 1/4 full. Food tasty. Hot food was hot and cold food cold. Waiters were friendly and courteous. Waiter was new and I felt a little sorry for him, but he knew the specials.
Cons: Hostess tried to place us in a bad table by the server station, but we asked for and got a window booth instead. Bad start, trying to place us at the yucky table. Then it started...no water offered, balsamic vinegar top was leaking badly and starting to puddle on the table...We had to ask for a new one, waiter didn't notice. Waiter didn't ask how we wanted our food presented, we ordered a split large salad and appetizers each. We wanted it all at once, salad came first without our appetizers. The large salad was brought out whole, not split and plopped in the middle of our table. We said, "We asked for a split." "uhhhh."...the server removed it. Okay, good so far, guess they will bring it back correctly. Nope! server returns and plops same whole salad in the middle of the table again and said, "THE CHEF DOES NOT SPLIT SALADS." Really? Really? My bad, I mimicked the server and said, "The Chef doesn't split salads!". The server and waiters were honestly befuddled. Why weren't we told that upfront? Why didn't we receive two empty salad plates? Why didn't the waiter split it at out table for us, like the real Italian restaurant waiters do? Were we just supposed to graze on the salad with our own forks? Finally two small plates were given to us to sort out the situation ourself. I had to flag down the waiter for fresh ground pepper. After that, we were virtually ignored, but got sly looks from the other waiters as the word spread, and the chef came out by the serving station to talk story and kept glancing our way. In my opinion. The chef sets the tone for the whole restaurant. given that it was 3/4 empty at 1:00 on a Friday, why did serving the customer become such a hardship? We are locals, and there are a lot of other choices, so we will not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodSurfSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Aust
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Try this place, you will love it”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've been here a number of times and it never disappoints. Located upstairs in the Ala Moana Shopping Centre, it's a homely style Italian Restaurant with a separate bar and good food is the order of the day.
You can make it a big night or a quick meal if you wish, the choice is yours. And you can bring the family and it won't break the bank. From the freshly baked bread with tasty olive oil to fresh food from the wood fired oven, the menu is comprehensive traditional Italian fare with a few memorable dishes on offer. The Chicken Under a Brick is absolutely divine. We've never tried the desserts as the entrees are very filling but next time I'm hoping. Be sure to make a reservation as it fills quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude Waiter-Will not visit again”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First of all I would like to say that we have dined at several Macaroni Grill locations in California over the past 10+ years, and have always had a excellent dining experience. That being said, here are the details of our experience at the Ala Moana location.

I was traveling for business, and we arrived on a Sunday evening after a very long day and flight from Southern California. We had stayed in the area last year and was familiar with the location, but did not have a chance to dine there last year. There were a lot of dining options at this mall, however we selected Macaroni Grill because we wanted to have a good dining experience.

Once seated, we were assigned a waiter by the name of Sheldon. We immediately noticed that the menu was different from the California menu, so we had a few questions about some of the selections. The waiter seemed very agitated that we had questions and rushed us. Then a group came in and he was very friendly to them (maybe because he thought he would get a larger tip, who knows). He ignored us, never asking if we needed anything, or check on how the food was etc. so we asked for the manager, who assigned us another waiter. One interesting thing was that when we were discussing this incident to the manager, the waiter's comments were "whatever". Seemed very interesting that this water showed no respect to management, or customers.

This is not to say that we have not experienced poor service at restuarants, however we have never experienced rude behavior displayed here. I contacted the corporate office in Texas, however I don't even think this was addressed.
If you do visit that location, I would advise you to be concerned if you get this waiter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank butch2Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, WA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Stop Over”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just in town, shopping the mall, and hungry, we looked for a bite and settled into Romano's Macaroni Grill, having remembered a great memory of our visit there in Orlando many years ago. We fell into Happy Hour, and it made for a fine repast. With Tapas for two, and a couple of drinks, our stop was very pleasant. Wait staff was excellent. Food was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Applejacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing