We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great little neighborhood bar in the back.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asahi Grill

Asahi Grill
Ranked #121 of 2,294 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little neighborhood bar in the back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Known for their oxtail soup but Asahi grill has a cute little bar in the back with karaoke and nice pupus. The bar is small but they actually have quite a selection. Everyone is super friendly and very generous. We went in for happy hour at 4:30 which is from I think 2:30 and the regular bartender wasn't in yet and so the waitress poured heavy without knowing what she was doing. Of course we didn't mind : ) Plus she brought out some salmon bones with quite a bit of meat on them for herself but gave us the plate instead. So sweet.

Will definitely be going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seplin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    112
    33
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick Bite - Sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just stopped by for quick bite; I ordered a Tuna Melt and husband ordered Grilled Cheese. A little confusing about ordering the Deluxe. I wanted fries with my sandwich, but my husband didn't want any sides. He got forced into ordering one.

Anyway, both sandwichs were toasted well, and both meals totaled $10. Saw lots of others ordering Ramen; think I want to try that next time.

However, the Daily Specials were a little confusing. Was this a Japanese or Pilipino, or American restaurant? Spaghetti and Bitter Melon with Pork was on the menu twice a week. If I'm in the area again, I'll try some other menu items.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToniGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of those hole-in-the-wall places you dream about finding in a big tourist destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Two words... Oxtail Ramen. Awesome! The Asahi Grill is a little restaurant that most out-of-towners would never notice and I doubt it's in any guidebooks. Located just a few minutes from Waikiki, it's super clean, the staff is very friendly and the food there is simply great! Lots of stuff you're probably familiar with and many local foods too. From turkey with mashed potatoes and gravy, to loco moco and of course, their famous oxtail soup, everything we tried was delicious. My favorite by far, was the oxtail ramen. Have it with the fresh grated ginger and shoyu. So ono!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Ox Tail soup in Honolulu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

They serve the best oxtail soup in Honolulu after the coffee shop at Kalihi Bowl was closed. Nice place to eat after landing in Honolulu. Make sure to order large size. You can finish it easily.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kck0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good lunch, worth the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

After arriving in Honolulu and checking in at the Pagoda Hotel during the noon hour, it was time for lunch! A local recommended the Asahi Grill across the street.
We ordered one of the daily specials, Adobo Chicken and Pork which came with 2 scoop rice and mac salad and the other order was the house special of the Oxtail Soup which came with a side of rice. The adobo was a healthy portion of meat, enough to take home half the order but since we were traveling, could not. So we ate it all - very tasty, just enough vinegar & shoyu and would order it again. The mac salad was okay, would have liked to see some potato in it. The oxtail soup was very good too. Ono! Served piping hot with lots of meat with a flavorful broth.
They have a large staff of workers so service & food was fast. The place very clean.
Places like this are a dime a dozen in Honolulu and each place has its speciality. It's fun to try them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiku621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asahi Grill also viewed

 

Been to Asahi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing