We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little secret”

Phuket Thai Kamakee
Ranked #525 of 2,368 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A little secret”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Can't help but think that most people don't understand that food is not about...bland, sugar and/or salt
This place will tantalise your palate...and help you understand that there is more to food than 10% off Sundays. Lamb roast

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank coro35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had eaten here before and liked the food. I was looking forward to their fried chicken, which was an unusual dish for a Thai restaurant; it was crispy and very tasty in a different way. This time, the fried chicken was crispy, but very ordinary tasting. I could have gone to Zippys for this. Their eggplant tofu should have been flavored with a light yellow bean sauce, as stated in the menu. Instead, it came in a heavy brown sauce that was overly salty. The green curry was good; the shrimps were cooked perfectly, and the sauce was tasty. The good fortune salad was not balanced, with the fish sauce overwhelming everything else. One out of four is not a good result. Unfortunately, I don't plan on returning for a while. No complaints about the service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtravlr c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Thai food.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

G's: Ambiance, Food, service, courteousness
Ok's: not so crowded at noon

Portions were large and we had to skip the desert. Delicious Thai food again in a nice not disturbing central locale (Ward area). We had sea food with ginger, sea food combo, Thai fried noodles with brown rice, usual calamari and sweet iced tea was great. I would recommend this place and come again with family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USValib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not bad at all, but a few issues”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Four of us had dinner here on a Tuesday night. We had reserved a table, and it was ready for us, but we probably could have just walked in, as there seemed to be a few empty tables. We were seated right away, handed menus, and offered drinks. Thai iced tea, thai iced coffee, hot tea, and juice -- all came out quickly, and all were excellent. There is a huge back bar here, completely stocked with everything you could imagine, but alcohol is not for sale here -- they lost their license, and have been told they'll get it back soon, but nobody knows when. Meanwhile, if you want beer or other adult beverages, byo. We ordered Thai Spring Rolls as an appetizer; they never came. Our entrees were tasty and ample -- three main dishes, plus sticky rice for two, and brown rice for two. The mains: green curry with chicken, mixed vegetables with beef, and a whole red snapper, fried and covered with fragrant vegetables. The best dish of these was the vegetables with beef -- delicious flavor, good meat; the green curry was just fine, but nothing to write home about -- in a sort of sloppy sauce, with only a trace of curry flavor. The red snapper was smothered in a viscous and fragrant sauce, but the volume of sauce made it difficult to remove pieces of the fish. The fish itself was fabulous; if they'd served less sauce, we would have been far happier. Final note: one of our party has one particular food allergy, to an ingredient that was listed in many of the dishes -- eggplant; we mentioned this to the waitress, and she took special pains to make sure the kitchen knew about it. Overall, a good restaurant that I'd happily go back to again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djsmapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food once again”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

keeping with the tradition the food was delicious. the curry salmon and pineapple vegetable brown fry rice was the best I had. I did take out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaughn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Thai Kamakee also viewed

 

Been to Phuket Thai Kamakee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing