We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yard House Restaurant

Yard House Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Yard House is an upscale-casual eatery known for great food, classic rock music and 130 taps of imported, craft and specialty ales & lagers. Whether you’re in the mood for a grilled burger and a pint of your favorite ale, or seared ahi and a chilled martini, Yard House has something for everyone. Yard House is the perfect place to unwind and take a break - meet old friends for happy hour, or make new ones, celebrate a special occasion, or gather your family for dinner.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We ate lunch there our last day. It is right next to the Embassy suites which we stated at (4 stars for that). I'd pass it each night walking and there was always a wait. Finally went there for lunch and everything was very good from the food to the service. Also a decent value for Waikiki. Beer prices are very reasonable too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,222
    821
    217
    64
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had been to other Yard Houses in the past and were very pleased with our experiences there, but we left disappointed from this one. We arrived around 6:30 or 7 on a Wednesday night with no reservation and waited 30 minutes for a table, which is what we had expected. Location is good, right on Beach Walk, so we busied ourselves wandering into the various shops there. Once we were seated we waited for almost 5 minutes before a waitress stopped and took our drink order. Another 4 or 5 minutes before we received them. Considering we just ordered water it didn't demand the wait time it did. At that point we ordered our food and preceded to wait another 35-40 minutes for our food. We started with salads. The garden salad was basic as was the ginger soy salad- but the dressing was very good. The entrees were mediocre at best. I had the Mediterranean scallops with brown rice tabbouleh. For the price I expected more than 4 small scallops (they were barely bigger than quarters) and a small portion of tabbouleh. Two had the chili lime shrimp and it was lukewarm and the shrimp was very tough, almost in edible. The ham and pineapple pizza was okay, really nothing special. Overall, we left very disappointed and wondering what went wrong.

Helpful?
Thank Grape452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Happy Hour food and tasty strong drinks. Never disappointed and reasonably priced. Four drinks, two or three appi's for about $45. Wish we had one in Vancouver BC.

Helpful?
Thank HOTCOUPLEFROMCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“As expected - busy and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We love the chain of Yardhouse restaurants and was glad to see they are now in Honolulu. We live in Los Angels and frequent three or four of their locations at least once a month. I am an owner of a local micro and our beer is served in all of the Southern California locations.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Long Wait, Great Beer Choices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived about 7:45 pm on a weekday and waited about 45 minutes for a table. We were overwhelmed by the food choices and beer selections. We got a flight of 6 beers to taste so that we could choose a beer for later. Our appetizers consisted of the ahi poke stack, lobster crab artichoke dip and a vodka shrimp pasta. I couldn't say any of these dishes stuck out as being superb, kind of bland actually. The restaurant is very vibrant and since there are many choices, maybe next time the food will be worth our wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelmomFreeport_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yard House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing