We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit - ideal accommodation, clean, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
NZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return visit - ideal accommodation, clean, friendly staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is our 4th time at this hotel, it is clean, the staff friendly and helpful, the pool area just magic, OK the breakfast isn't much but it is onl;y breakfast, the rooms are kept clean, I will return again for another visit hopefully not too far in the future

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    551
    259
    61
    48
See reviews for
326
300
133
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights on our way from mainland USA to Australia. Room on the 9th floor OK although carpet in hallway needed replacing. Great pool and Bar areas Enjoyed the food. Thanks to Sharon and Bobby

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFoxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoa, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were staying in Kauai and booked an airplane/hotel deal through Expedia for two nights at about $400 total. I checked the hotel on line and noticed they offered free WiFi, a continental breakfast and the pictures looked really nice- I thought I was really getting a bargain. Ha, what a rip off. We took a shuttle from the airport to the hotel, making several stops along the way at real nice hotels and resorts. I as really getting my hopes up. When they came to the Sand Villa, it might as well been name the Sand Flea-ah. What an old looking, run down dump. Good thing we didn't have a car rental as they would have charged us $20 a night to store it. The person checking us in was really "short" with us. The room was small and the bed was a full size-both my wife and I are tall so our feet hung off the bed all night long. They had a small fridge and range. The A/C sits above the bed and was noisy and dusty. There was no ocean view, only brick from the one window and the pool from the other. The Wifi didn't work and it took the IT guy a day to show up to my room and fix it. When we got up the first morning, the lobby was full of Asian tourists- elbow to elbow. The breakfast consisted of toast, a small cup of pineapples, water and coffee. I took four pieces up to the room and two glasses of pineapple. When we got back to the hotel from Pearl Harbor the next night, we wanted to go to the pool, but again, it was full of Asians, literally hundreds of them. I guess they must really advertise in China and Japan, and cater to this group of people because I didn't see any other race there the whole time. They converted two rooms at night to a sushi restaurant, but it looked private so we didn't attempt to enter in. The bellhop was the only thing nice about the whole stay, as he stored our luggage for us and shared small talk while we waited for our ride back to the airport. I don't think we'll have to worry about coming back, especially since Honolulu is a joke as well- Pearl harbor unfortunately was a disappointment too. At least the flea market at Aloha stadium was worthwhile. The bus system takes too long to go anywhere and the beaches are full of 1960 wannabees. Stay away from here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We went to hawaii for 3 weeks and stayed at this hotel the first 3 days of our stay on Oahu; the room was quite big, we had everything we needed..king size bed, lanai, refrigerator, tv...perfect for the price and the location. After a month looking for a hotel under 100 $ this one was the best...one of the few including breakfast...(just a simple wiki-wiki breakfast) but good enough ;)...We went back to Oahu for our last 2 days and choose again this hotel..we knew what we were going to find, and that was good enough for us ;)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddyjaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I researched for over 5 months for a hotel in Hawaii near Waikiki beach. I also read many many reviews on all the hotels in the area. The Waikiki Sand Villa is the best in the area in my opinion. The hotel not only is very reasonable in terms of price but it is just 3 short blocks from the beach and it is a nice walk with many lovely shops along the way. Also you can take a nice walk along the canel just right across the street from the hotel. If you can please get a corner room above the 9th floor because it will give you view of the canel and decent view of the ocean. The hotel's location is close to the beach but yet far enough away so that you can have your peace. The staff especially Nancy Thong are the best with always willing to help you with anything you require. Other staff members Robert, Rey, Judith, Oscar, Henry and Bobby are there to meet your every need. So if you want a nice hotel within a limited price range please consider the Waikiki Sand Villa, I know that I will be back next year that is for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papino99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We were so surprised about this hotel. For less than 50 euro's per night we didn't expect anything! But the hotel was clean and the room was specious enough. I loved the toilet with the watertap that cleans your bottom....;-) It was just a short walk to the beach. And yes , breakfast was poor, but it is so nice that it is included! Just drop by and grab a yoghurtstick and you're off to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logowesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed here in March 2010, with my husband, kids 9 & 13, and grandma too. We picked the Sand Villa due to its proximity to the beach and shopping, as well as the price. A bonus for us, was that the hotel included continental breakfast, and had a hot tub. Not many hotels we researched in Waikiki had those 2 ammenities. We found the Sand Villa to be well used, but also clean and very friendly. It was great for us to get rooms that had 3 single beds (no kids fighting about sleeping arrangements) and the toilet/bidet was an interesting addition to the washroom. The bathroom has a dispenser for liquid soap and shampoo in the bathtub/shower area. I brought my own conditioner and was glad I did. Our room had a little fridge, coffeemaker and tv. The coffee is free only the first day, and then you can buy the packets at the front desk if you choose. We knew this in advance and packed some filters and coffee so we could enjoy coffee whenever we wanted. We used the valet parking which was easy and billed to our room at the end of our stay. This cost 15.75 per day. Our car rental was from Dollar, and we got a great rate by using the Entertainment book. Free breakfast was great to get us started in the morning, and saved on our overall budget. Two blocks to the beach was convenient, although the pool and hot tub area of the hotel was very nice and secluded with tropical foliage throughout, making it a nice retreat at the end of a busy day. Shopping and restaurants were only a block away. A nice feature of the hotel was free internet access in the hospitality room, and free use of the room at the end of the day when our flight left late in the evening. It had internet access so we could check our flight status, and a small bath with shower to freshen up. We asked for some pool towels before we checked out so we could enjoy the beach/pool area one last time before our flight. The hotel is located right on the corner of the Ali Wai Canal, and so there is a bit of noise from the traffic, and the emergecy vehicle station (the odd ambulance every day) but still less than if you stay right on Kuhio. Bottom line, we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdnchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,638 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,577 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Property: Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing