We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good location”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I travelled on my own and enjoyed staying at this hotel - especially the friendliness of the staff - everyone was friendly and helpful from the housekeeping staff to the front desk, tour desk (I didn't want a tour but to organize a shuttle back to the airport) and the valet. It was so easy to organize getting back to the airport - no need for me to ring and try and book a pickup - that was done for me. I loved the atmosphere at the restaurant and bar - I usually would not sit and have a drink on my own but the scene was friendly and bar open looking out onto the street, that I did, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Again staff super friendly - prices good.
The rooms were spacious and clean, with a good view (I had a corner room). The bed was very comfortable.
The price is very good and at least there is some breakfast (toast, fruit, juice, tea/coffee - which is all I needed) to start the day off on, and free.
Good comfortable friendly value for money.
Yes there may be noise, but I have stayed at other hotels and there still is traffic noise) but that is Waikiki.
I would stay here again if I visited.

Room Tip: corner room has a great view and sunny - if breezy one side you can go around to the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    555
    259
    61
    48
See reviews for
327
303
134
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very good value & location. Rooms are clean and staff are nice and polite. However do not expect 5 star accommodation. Rooms are basic but you get value for money.

Note the location is pretty noisy as its on one of the main roads.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tansc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed in when we arrived in Honolulu, and had the deluxe room looking in the general direction of the beach, but even with the cool balcony on two sides of the corner room, the amount of ocean we could see was only a tiny sliver due to other buildings in the way.

We booked directly through the hotel to get discount valet parking which was a nice perk - I suspect they have a tiny carpark and it's easier for them to have a staff member park the cars. They were prompt in parking/retrieving the car for us, so no complaints there.

We had a free breakfast included in the booking so went down to the dining area to discover our choice of 2, 3, or 4 pieces of tiny bread toasted for us, and a few grape jelly packets. We don't eat grape jelly (horrid stuff!) so they managed to rustle up a couple of strawberry jam packets instead. We also received a small glass of watered-down pineapple juice and a small cup of tinned pineapple. We think they were draining the pineapple syrup from the tins into the beverage dispenser, then topping it up with water. In any event, it was pathetic and ought to be culled immediately. The hotel would be better off shaving $5 off the cost of accommodation, and dropping the breakfast - it's dragging down the experience of staying there.

Location-wise, it's easy to find, and an easy walk to the beach.

We subsequently stayed in the Aloha Aqua Surf Hotel which is directly across the street - I didn't realise at the time because they have different addresses on different streets, but they're directly opposite the small street. I would choose this hotel over that one due to the better shower, larger balcony, and wifi in each guest room (not just the lobby), and they were almost identically priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MQ007b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Good things first - Waikiki Sand Villa is perfect if all you need is a place to sleep and shower. Loved the location, traffic is traffic no matter where you are in Waikiki. On the same street as Kings Village, enjoyed the easy access to the strip. Staff (minus Valet) was helpful and friendly. The rooms were eco-friendly, which we liked. Nice Lanai area if you absolutely MUST smoke. Cute restaurant with an airy feel downstairs, decently priced food and cheap drinks! Never made it out to the pool/jacuuzi, but checked it out and looked well kept. Real glass cups in the room were also appreciated, along with real ceramic mugs for coffee. Fridge was perfect, cant complain!
The bad - Didnt like that I reserved a queen bed, but got 2 twins. Also, Valet. Did not appreciate the extra 20$ a day that was not listed on their site, plus they were never there. We always waited 5-10 minutes just for them to come up to the valet stand, they were never even in sight. Once, the security guard came and got our car for us, unacceptable in my book. Also, the beds were SO uncomfortable. Maybe in a more expensive room they were better but on floor 2, we may as well have been back in the stone ages. Loved the TV, hated the remote that seemed to work on it's own terms. The shower was an excellent size, but they could stand to update their shower heads. Free beach towel rental was much appreciated. All in all, it serves it's purpose, but don't expect anything fancier than a motel 6.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsWallace91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aulnay-sous-Bois, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is very well located 5min from the beach. Spacious room with a balcony but not a great view.Very bad soundproofing: very noisy outside and hallway.
Breakfast very poor too, just few slides of bread and a juice.
Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This economy hotel is a bit rough 'round the edges and good value for money, clean. As for continental breakfast.... so-so... restaurant/bar was great for lunch and supper... seemed to be a nice local pub in the evening with it's open airy concept. Employees very accommodating and very pleasant/friendly. VERY comfortable beds. Wi-Fi in rooms but also guests have access to a common area for use of computers and also in the bar/restaurant. Nice pool and hot tub, and not very busy. Great location to beach [a few block walk], close to all kinds of shops and island transit. One way road along canal is noisy on weekends... used by emergency vehicles to head toward Honolulu. Other than that it's a QUIET Hotel. Would highly recommend if you're on a tight budget. We would definitely stay there again when we return to the Island in future.

Room Tip: Maybe due to traffic along canal..noise-wise... ask for one on s.w. side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Good things first--the location is great. You're just three blocks from Kalakaua Blvd which is the main shopping, see-and-be-seen drag that parallels the beach, and you enter Kalakaua right where there's beach access. Other hotels further west force you to walk along Kalakaua for quite a ways before you can get through the shops onto the beach. Also, the staff is great, they really went out of their way to be helpful. There's an Enterprise car rental location just a block away which is also nice. But the very best thing of all is the "Hospitality Room." This is a room with computers, two full baths, and a couple of small couches which you can access all day and night after you check out at no charge. That way you can check out and store your bags, go to the beach, go out to supper, and still come back and shower and change into your travel clothes for the night flight back to the US. It's wonderful not to be wandering the streets hotel-less on your last day, or have to pay for another full night's stay. And the bell captain was very easy-going about letting us get into our bags over and over during the day. It was a priceless convenience which outweighs all of the negatives I'm about to list!

Negatives -- The circle drive comes right to the edge of the narrow lobby with the two elevators so close it almost feels like you're in a parking garage rather than a hotel lobby. The hotel is a 1960s concrete block with cottage-cheese textured ceilings and a horrible avacado green/mustard yellow paint job in the hallways. Our room had a musty, unused smell, but thankfully we were able to open the door to the tiny balcony and air it out in just one evening. I've never given two thoughts to thread counts on sheets before, but these sheets were so thin they should have been turned in to rags long ago. I thought toast and coffee/tea was adequate to start the day, but it was absolutely tacky to have a roll of industrial paper towels sitting on the counter that you had to tear off a sheet to use as a napkin. Not regular paper towels, mind you, but industrial brown paper with no perforations you had to grab with two hands and rip. Seriously? You can't afford napkins. That really bothered me.

All in all, it was fine if you are only staying for a few days and just want a place to shower and sleep. If you want anything more, pay the extra $20/night for the Ohana East or $40/night for the Sheraton Princess, both on the same street as this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrinkledpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,834 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilima Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
935 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
621 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Property: Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing