We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location Great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location Great price.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great price for Honalulu. Rooms were small but clean and had a balcony. Employees were friendly and very helpful. There is no hair conditioner or body lotion provided so you need to bring your own. Valet parking is available for a small fee.I did really enjoy my stay here and will be back again on my next visit to Honalulu.If you want a nice Hotel in a good location and for a reasonable price, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35805Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    546
    259
    60
    47
See reviews for
323
296
133
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Waikiki is such a bustling place, so it was nice for the hubby and I to come back to a quiet, relaxing part of town just a few blocks away from the crowds. We stayed at the Sand Villa for 7 days, which included free internet and a small continental breakfast, which consisted of: 1 croissant, 2-4 pieces of toast, canned Dole pineapple, pineapple juice, and coffee or tea. For the price well under $100/nt, we had a clean room, AC, a bidet, and friendly service. While we were there in late-July to early-August, they painted and repainted the elevators at least 3 times, so usually only one of them worked. Their happy hour was pretty popular, with friendly servers & bartenders, and we even met some of the locals who stopped by every few days to shmooze and drink. We rented some bicycles for a few days, and the front desk told us we could keep the bikes on our lanai upstairs to be safe, which was a pleasant surprise for us. We did our laundry once during the stay ($2 wash, $1.50 dry), printed our boarding passes downstairs ($0.10/copy), and utilized their free pool towel service many times.

Overall, I was happy with our experience. It's not a luxury hotel, but it was a good location, friendly service, and a great deal.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view, but usually cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liljudy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great value for Waikiki, and centrally located to the beach, Diamond Head, stores, and Ala Wai Canal. They have a wiki wiki breakfast, which is pretty plain, but still free. Their hotel bar had friendly bartenders, and their food wasn't too bad. They also have a pool and hot tub to relax in after a long day at the beach or sight seeing. If you're on a budget, and looking for a clean quiet place to stay, than this place is for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ofes32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

During my stay I paid just over a $90- a night, the rooms are neat, tidy, air conditioned and mine had a great corner balcony. The foyer area was good and staff were available to help with bookings. The bar had a nice menue and a light breakfast was included in the nightly rate. Free internet with use of a photocopier for a minimal fee as well as a laundary was available to wash your clothes. Under building parking available for under $20- a night.
The hallways are in need of new carpet and a coat of paint though.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, best value !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAustralia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at the Sand Villa for one week. We were on the tenth floor with a canal view. The beach was within walking distance: 5 or 10 minutes, depending on the lights at the crosswalks. (Don't jaywalk in Waikiki; if you're caught, it's like a $150 fine.)

The staff was friendly, and everything was clean. The breakfast, as everyone on Tripadvisor mentions, was minimal, but since we knew that going into it, that wasn't a big deal. The beds in our room were definitely harder than we're used to, but not too hard to sleep. The pillows were very, very flat. I have some neck problems, so that was a bit of an issue for me. In the interest of fairness to the hotel, I did not ask the hotel if they had any better pillows. I had read a few reviews saying asking for that sort of thing was fruitless, so I didn't bother.

We had free wifi and had no trouble with connectivity. The valet parking was quick and professional.

Most nights were fairly quiet as far as street noise. A few times we were awoken by sirens or by noise from the bar downstairs. Generally, it wasn't much of an issue.

Because of the value, I would probably stay here again, but I would bring my Tempurpedic pillow.

Room Tip: This hotel does offer smoking rooms on the lower floors. If that bothers you, go for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Timanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at the Sand Villa on 2 occasions during a recent trip. The staff were awesome, helpful, accommodating and treated me like family. If you want a friendly hotel, in a great location, value for money, safe, clean, bar open till 4am, good food, then I recommended the Sand Villa.
I never went down for breakfast (I don't get up for breakfast @ any hotel-I'm on holidays), but ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant numerous times. The staff at the bar were all friendly and provided great service and every item I ate from the menu was well cooked and of great quality.
As a single female traveller I felt safe at this hotel and walked the streets at the early hours.
All the rooms I stayed in were clean and provided all the facilities I required. Great value and I will be staying at the Sand Villa on every return trip to Oahu. The valet parking took the headache out of looking for parking and the valet staff promptly retrieved my car. Recommend this hotel to anyone for a truly ALOHA experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place is good value for money if you are on a budget but want to be central. Close to the beach and close to lots of shopping and food options. Also very close to bus stops which was very good. Rooms were okay. Clean and tidy. Just the asbestos ceilings that weren't very nice and the sound proofing was a bit lacking. Also the message light on our phone didn't work so we didn't know when our sailing trip had been cancelled and still got up at 5am. Overall though it is a good value option for the location. We didn't really eat the breakfast because it was just toast, we got cereal and milk from a near by Food Pantry instead.

Room Tip: We were high up so had a resonable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,803 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,553 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,628 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Property: Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing