We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central Waikiki”
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We have just got back from staying at this hotel and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with it. The location is great, yes it is not right on the beach but it takes about 5 minutes to walk to it. It is also 1 minute from a supermarket (Food Pantry) and short walks to lots of restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is a little dated and could do with some modern decor in the rooms, but it is clean and has plenty of amenities (a bar, pool, jacuzzi, a sushi bar etc). The rooms themselves were an adequate size with a queen bed and a single (maybe upgrading the beds to doubles would be better though), with a balcony - we were very high up and had great views over the golf course and up to the mountains. The staff were very nice and always helpful.

Overall a reasonably priced hotel where I would most definitley stay again, maybe not in December though as we did get quite a few cloudy and rainy days - not that I can blame the hotel for this though.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dated
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    546
    259
    60
    47
See reviews for
323
296
133
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

I stayed in 6 different locations in Waikiki in the spring.
The standard room was dated and somewhat small with old carpet by comparison to the other 5.
I rate the hotel above average because of the pool.
The highlight was definately the pool area.
If you are a traveller that really looks for the pool then this would be more pick.

It was very serine,quiet and beautiful and memorable in the way it was designed with palm trees, birds in the trees and vegetation around.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alohaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

Very clean hotel for a decent price. We paid $89 USD for a room with two beds and a balcony overlooking the Ala Wai Canal. RElatively roomy, well lit. Had a computer room where internet access was available and it was free to use. Nice little restaurant downstairs that served decent food and drinks and it wasn't very expensive either! There was also a little booth that sold some japanese food...also not expensive. All in all, i would definitley stay there again!

  • Liked — price and cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StarGazer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

If you're on a tight budget with some class, I would recommend to stay at the STUDIO hotel rooms at the Sand Villa Hotel. Hotels with kitchens can be a problem anyways so I usually don't pick that criteria especially if I'm going to be out and about all day.

Service was great and the people were very nice. I didnt expect so much before getting to the room since it has a 2 star rating. However, I was surprise that we did get a great view, and the room was actually pretty good. We slept comfortably, the bathrooms were fine and clean, and the service was great. Everyone there was friendly to us.

So if you're on a tight budget, you're planning to be out most of the day during your stay, and you want to stay in a room equivalent to a holiday inn or something, then pick this place.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JQuest81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2007

After a week's stay my family and I were watching TV one evening when suddenly a rat ran across the kitchen floor. The family screamed and scurried up onto they beds while I contacted the desk. They were polite but unsurprised and moved us to another room. No hotel staff so much as came up to help us move or to investigate the situation.

All week long some of our food and snacks seemed to be disappearing from the kitchen area but we thought little of it. Now we know why. We had been sleeping in a room frequented by at least one rat that entered through a hole in the wall behind the entertainment center. This experience served to destroy our entire trip and has had a lasting effect on my family. I politely asked for one evening's room compensation but was granted only about $100 - about half a night's rate, which I believe was unfair and added to our disgust as well. The on-duty manager was polite but apparently at the mercy of his superior.

I would certainly advise one to find different accommodations. No price is low enough for staying at a rodent rest stop. The entire episode is unfortunate and should never have happened.

P.S. Watch for ants in the kitchenette drawers.


Disgusted

  • Liked — Friendly employees
  • Disliked — cleanliness, ants, rodent
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviator100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

waikiki sand villa has an easy to navigate website and a responsive email help desk which was part of the reason i booked a room there. the price was attractive too.

the hotel pool was the scene of many late afternoon naps, and not just by me. other guests had cottoned on to this excellent activity. the pool was cold, thank goodness. and was open until nine at night. the cocktail bar in the hotel also had a super cheap happy hour (but they wouldn't let you take glass pool side so you had to drink it out of plastic cups - only a minor downside).

the hotel room itself was small but very functional and seemed to have pretty effective air conditioning. we even got a nice view of the canal and golf course. given the concrete build up of waikiki this was an unexpected delight. the free internet in the hospitality room and the free (fairly minimal) breakfasts were a bonus too.

everything you need in waikiki is in walking distance, with an abc store all of about twenty paces away.

  • Liked — the price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank homeperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We have just returned from 14 days in Honolulu, staying at the Sand Villas. We cannot fault this hotel, the rooms are clean, the staff friendly. The breakfast is enough to start the day, you can always add fruit/yoghurt if need be. We will stay again when we return for another holiday. Thank you Sand Villas for making our holiday an enjoyable one.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Maybe a bit small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,800 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,552 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,628 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Property: Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing