We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice super hotel!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waikiki Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is still one of my favourite hotels, it is small scale and over the years I've stayed here several times with familymembers and friends. It is not one of these skyscrapers, and it is 2 blocks from the beach. The reception is only open during the day but the staff is very friendly and helpful. I did not make much use of the kitchenette in the room but the option to use it is there..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 765 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Neat little hotel a few blocks from the beach...nothing fancy, clean rooms with air....used to be a great value...last October (low season) small room was around $65 a night...not cheap for what you get, but not bad. Made a reservation for this October, was stunned to see same room has gone up to $90 dollars! Front desk clerk was very apologetic, said many long time customers were going to other properties. This will also be my last stay there....way to many other choices in area for a reasonable rate. I hope the new owners take a long look at rates.....lean times may be coming again and people don't forget something like this.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as possible to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Aloha Dave A,
We look forward to seeing you in October. I think for the $65 a night rooms you are referring to our Economy room with kitchenette. They are currently $80 a night until high season. Since your last visit we have added some amenities to our rooms. Wifi, coffee and a majority of our rooms have new carpet already. Since you are staying for longer than a week, the room averages out to $68 a night +tax. The $90 a night room is a different larger room. I hope people don’t forget this one. We did take a long look at rates. We are still less than the vast majority of hotels in Waikiki for any given time. The average price for a room in Waikiki is often 2 to 3 times more than our average price.
Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is actually more similar to a motel. Rooms access is outside, reception closes at 8.00pm but they left a locker with our key inside with a combination agreed to unlock, nice, we arrived at 11pm...the room is clean. The bed comfortable. The kitchen allow you to cook even meat and save money. The air conditioning works but it is strange the room is too hot. You can leave windows open when out.there is an elevator you don t find in motels.from reception they borrow beach towels, umbrellas, paddles..it is really nice to enjoy honolulu and waikiki and to visit the island. There is a public parking just in the front where you can park at 20usd per day that is average in waikiki.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lioncubcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Aloha Lioncubcv,
Glad you enjoyed your kitchenette and put it to good use. I am sorry about the air conditioner. Sometimes they break down and we don’t know until that happens. We usually like to get to them once they start to malfunction. We do have limited parking (5 stalls) available for $20 a day but probably on your stay they were all reserved.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Waikiki Prince is still a super deal. Prices have gone up a bit in the past couple years, but so has everywhere else. It's nothing fancy-schmancy for sure, but it's always clean, and you're in Waikiki- how much time are you going to spend in your room anyway? They usually have rooms with the little kitchen available and that can save you even more $$. And you get a lanai! Two blocks from the beach! Front desk staff is very helpful. If you need a nice clean place to rest your head after a tough day at the beach and want to save your money for actually doing fun stuff, go for it here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EddieWent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were expecting a budget hotel but this place is much more utilitarian in appearance than we expected. I have relied on tripadvisor in the past and until now have almost always been pleasantly surprised. This time however, we were very disappointed.
Although the carpet appeared new and clean the room was very basic and quite dark. It had only a double bed which is good because the room was rather small. It appeared quite barren since the walls consisted of painted concrete blocks with no decorations. The appliances really looked old and and stained as did the shower stall. The small balcony faced a similar building and the surroundings, although only a block or so from the beach seemed rather grim.
We had asked for a top floor room, not realizing that the tiny and rather dingy elevator only went to the fifth floor and we had to lug our large suitcases up a narrow stair-case to the sixth floor. My wife took one look at the room and said "we are not staying here!"
The one redeeming feature was that the staff was extremely nice (hence the two-stars rather than one) and did give us a full refund as we were very fortunate to find accommodations at a higher end hotel on very short notice.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Aloha ED W,
Thank You for taking time to write us. Our hotel is “Utilitarian”, we have useful things like wifi, kitchenettes, and other basic amenities. I think people come to our hotel for the utilitarian nature. If you have gone to our website you would have seen that our walls are indeed pretty barren. I am not sure what your expectations for a hotel are for wall decorations. Our website also states that the sixth floor must be accessed by one flight of stairs. You requested the highest floor, so we put you on the 6th floor. On the 6th floor the balcony can fit two people on chairs with a small table comfortably. Most of our appliances are old. All of our balconies face a parking lot and then the street. We don’t really have a view; our building is a low rise so we do not really get the million dollar views of Waikiki Beach. Most guests travel to the beach to get a view (roughly 2 minute walk). I think you are looking for a boutique hotel or a high end luxury hotel rather than a budget hotel.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The pictures make it look outdated, which it is, but it was super clean and great location, safe and very spacious. Spent a week here with my gf and don't think you can find a better place for the money. One block walk to the beach ( main beach) . There's a full grocery store a couple blocks away so we filled the fridge and used the kitchenette every morning and ate on the balcony. Only downside was wifi was in the lobby only, but its Hawaii, so get off the computer. Would stay again if looking for a budget place close to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha Mike D,
It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay back in April. We hope to have you back soon. Our high speed wireless internet is now available in all of the rooms. We recently added complimentary premium 10% Kona coffee daily . So you can have a taste of Hawaii with your breakfast in the morning.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A fantastic budget option. Not only was this the cheapest hotel we could find on short notice ($90/day for a normal two-bed room, $70/day for a small single-bed room), but it was also just a block from the beach and even included a kitchenette in the room (stove, fridge, utensils, pots/pans)! The rooms were a bit dirty and were cleaned only once ever 5 days, but that's OK considering the price. The staff were very helpful and even let us store our luggage behind the desk after we checked out. I only found out about this place on TripAdvisor — I don't think they show up on Hotels.com or any of the other popular booking services. (More rooms for the last-minute traveler!) Don't confuse this place with the significantly more fancy Prince hotel on the other side of Waikiki.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha Archagon,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are glad you found us on Trip Adviser. Yes we do not have partners on third party sites and do not plan on having any. Reservations are only through our website or by phone/email. All of our prices are pretty much straight forward. This helps us keep prices low and reservation system simple.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
325 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,919 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
883 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,540 reviews
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Central Hotel

Address: 2431 Prince Edward St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Central Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing