We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good but probably our last time”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waikiki Central Hotel
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the 3rd time and the location is still the best. But this time we got a smaller room than we usually get so it was a bit more cramped. Our kids are getting bigger so we probably need to find a bigger hotel next time we are back. We'll miss it because staff is friendly and will miss the freebies the hotel gives you for the beach. But if you're traveling for only 2 or have kids younger than 7 then it's still the best deal in the area. Can't beat the price for being 2 short blocks away from the beach. Aloha Waikiki Prince!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Waikiki Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 765 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been staying here for the ;past 3 yrs and have loved it however.... This yr was quite different. Arrived to find rm half done. Bathrm not cleaned from previous occupant and had to make my bed,lined was all in a ball on corner of rm. Had no hot water from sat thru mon with no notice from anyone. When I asked about it Monday am they said was fixed,however for rest of stay,only lukewarm. Never needed to use cold at all. Plus side,still very cheap and close to beach. Will continue to stay there.

Room Tip: make sure you go to Farmers Market at King's Crossing on fri or mon. Fresh fruit great and chea...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yugogirlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pros: This hotel is certainly the best value hotel. It's one block from Waikiki beach, about a 1-2 minute walk. The staff are incredibly kind, friendly and helpful. The rooms are no frills, but get the job done fine for the price.

Cons: The hotel is a bit dirty and outdated. Not gross dirty, just not super clean. I had no problem staying there, but if you want something extremely clean and polished this isn't it.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel and I would certainly stay there again. I would recommend it to anyone who wants an inexpensive hotel in Honolulu that is still nice and comfortable. Even though it's a bit dirty and outdated, it wasn't a big deal to me and I considered this minor. It was comfortable and nice and the staff were fantastic. The location is great, right in the heart of Waikiki and one block from the beach.

We stayed here in January of 2013.
If I had to grade this hotel I would give it an A-

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Spencer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This place was great! Wish we would've stayed here longer. When my boyfriend and I first arrived in Waikiki we stayed right next to the Waikiki Prince at the Hostelling International, we picked the hostel because we usually stay in hostels and it seemed more familiar to us. We stayed at the hostel for 2 nights then we were going to the north shore for a couple of nights and wanted to book a night at hostel for when we got back, but it was all full, so we went over to the Waikiki Prince and realized we should have stayed there all along!!!!

HI Hostel: not so friendly staff, good basic private room w/ private bathroom, table, chair, NO A/C $64/night

WAIKIKI PRINCE: Very friendly staff, elevator :) , GREAT private room w/ fridge, toaster, coffee maker, T.V.,HAD A/C !!!! bigger bathroom than HI hostel, and balcony! FOR ONLY $ 60 or $62/night (can't remember). So cheaper than HI with so much more!!!! It was the smallest and cheapest room they had but definately all that a traveller needs (and more - for us apparently - having a T.V. was luxury beacause we're cheapos). Of course, no dorm beds at this place, so a single person would still have to pay the $60.

Didn't need to ask staff for any travel advice, so not sure how informative they would have been, but I'm sure they would've been super nice!

Thanks!

Room Tip: Had a room on the 5th floor, it was one of the "very small rooms", corner room, had a balc...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Liza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a no frills hotel, 1 minute walk from the Waikiki beach. The price is excellent for location. I would say this hotel had just what we wanted and nothing more. The staff is very helpful. The room we got had a fully equipped kitchenette using which we could prepare light dinners. We borrowed boogie boards and beach towels from them. The only thing negative about this hotel is the road noise. The delivery and garbage trucks start making the noise early in the morning. Try to get a room at higher floors if you can.

Room Tip: Get a room in the higher floor to avoid road noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 349er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

ALOHA.....wow....what a gem.This hotel might not be pretty,but it has what we all want...Location..Location..Location!!..It is not a posh hotel,but it has everything one wants on hols!!..A 2 minute walk to Waikik iBeach....great restaurants on literally every corner...and an ABC Store every way you turn..lol!!The rooms are old,but clean.(Maid service is about every 4 days),but if you need new towels..etc,just a call to reception and it happens.It is noisy,but nothing that a pair of ear plugs wont fix!!..Anyway..why does one want to "sleep-in" on holidays!!..Get out there,to the beach!!..If possible,ask for a room on the top (6th) floor.You get a view of the beach.The staff were friendly and helpful.I cannot fault this hotel.I will DEFINATELY be back......Mahalo!!

Room Tip: ask for the 6th floor...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Leeduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wow! What a gem! Found this hotel through TA and I am highly recommending to everyone who would like to experience Hawaii on a budget! Though the hotel might seem a bit old (well, most of the buildings in Waikiki are nostalgic...adding to the beauty of it!), the room is clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped! From the stove, microwave, even up to the utensils and dishwashing soap with sponge! How cool is that! Toiletries and bath towels are supplied too. Each room has a veranda, and ours gives a partial view of the beach! The building is just a few blocks away from the beach itself, that's really a big plus! You can borrow beach towels, chair, mat and boogie board for free! WIFI is only available at the reception. Everything is just near Waikiki Prince, ABC store, a Japanese restaurant (Jinroku - which is good!), Me's BBQ which serves really cheap combo meals and Coconut Cafe (love the smoothies there!). The staff are exceptional - very accommodating! We arrived in the evening and found a sweet note on the resident manager's door (which I still kept!) giving directions to our room (ready with the AC turned on so we could relax immediately after a long flight!). I'd love to go back again to Waikiki and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chic_chef81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
236 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
851 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Central Hotel

Address: 2431 Prince Edward St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Central Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing