We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
A TripAdvisor Member
london. UK
Reviewed November 6, 2004

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights in October 2004 as part of our honeymoon, we booked a Deluxe Ocean view room through expedia which turned out to be a partial ocean view, the room was dirty with heavily stained carpets the bedspread smelled of mould the windows did not shut properly, the shower was a pathetic piece of cheap plastic, the bed was old and uncomfortable, the hotel lobby and restaurant had a foul fishy smell because of the oceanarium, we complained to the management who triad explain to us that deluxe ocean view meant that you had lean over the balcony and risk falling to see the sea, they offered us drink and diner vouchers!
This is a Two star hotel.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

2,450 - 2,456 of 3,608 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2004

We stayed at the Pacific Beach for 11 days in September 2004. The hotel was pretty much what we expected for a 3 star. Pleasant staff, a great location right by Waikiki Beach and our room was a decent size. However, the main lobby definitely had a funky fishy odor which was emitted by the aquarium in the lobby restaurant- the Oceanarium. The smell was pretty hard to ignore each time we passed through the lobby. The hotel decor is a bit retro (circa 1982), but is kept clean. The rooms themselves are more modern. All in all it was worth the price considering the location and staff service.

Thank blsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2004

My mother and I just got back from a 4-night stay at the Pacific Beach Hotel, and we just loved it. We had an Deluxe Oceanview room, and woke each morning facing Diamond Head. Gorgeous! We were in the Oceanarium Tower (rear) on the 29th floor, and you could hear some music playing in the evenings from below. I'm guessing on the beach, or perhaps something going on at the Marriott Beach Hotel.

As some others have mentioned the carpets could use a steam clean, but the rooms themselves are clean. You are given new beach towels daily. The pool is very small, and on the 3rd or 4th floor (I forget which right now), along with a jacuzzi, but you are steps from the beach. There is a breakwater that keeps the waves from being too much in the beach directly across the street from the hotel. At around 6:30 they have a torch lighting ceremony, and hula show. We didn't see the show ourselves, but heard about it.

They also have movies on the beach on the weekends. Not sure if this is a year-round thing or not. There are some chairs set out, but you can bring your own blankets or towels if you prefer. They were playing "Mean Girls" and Walking Tall" this weekend, so not first run movies, but not stuff that's years old.

We had originally booked the Marriott but changed to the Pacific Beach due to the price. We were going to stay in a corner oceanfront at the Marriott but ended up with this room which I think was really nice for nearly half the price, and the location is only one block away. It's actually closer to central Waikiki by one block, however the Trolley does stop by the Marriott. It was only about a block and a half to the Duke statue to catch the trolley from our hotel, so still very convenient.

The staff was very friendly. We had a clock radio that we couldn't get to set the time. It kept resetting when you turned the light on and off, like you pulled the plug or something. We called housekeeping and they sent someone up to fix it.

The buffet breakfast was included in our rate (something not offered for the room at the Marriott, so that was another plus here). I enjoyed all the choices of food, from pancakes, regular and turkey bacon, sausage, french toast to two kinds of scrambled eggs, country potatoes, various pastries, salad bar, lots of fresh fruit and orange or papaya juice and milk, plus cold cereals. The only thing missing that I wouldn't have minded having was oatmeal. Oh, they had steamed rice, fried rice, and a Japanese soup also. If you get the buffet with your room, it's well worth it. If not, I'm not sure of the price, but I believe some other reviews here mentioned it's $16.00, so kinda high.

The 3-story Oceanarium was awesome. It was cool to watch them feed the fish also. I will say that unless you're prepared to pay $29.95 plus tax and tip for a meal, steer clear of the dinner buffet. We ended up eating there for dinner one night, and didn't know the cost until we got the bill. It is a great deal if you're a huge seafood lover, with King Crab legs, various shelled fish, and peel and eat shrimp, along with prime rib, and all the trimmings.

As others have mentioned, the elevators can be slow, but more than this is the fact that if your room is high up, you may end up stopping 4-5 times every time you go up or down.

Everyone was friendly, from the storekeepers to the restaurant staff to the housekeeping staff. Our room was ready when we arrived around 1, even though check-in isn't until 3, so that was much appreciated.

I would definitely stay here again.

5  Thank ladyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Walnut Creek, CA
Reviewed October 11, 2004

We just stayed for 8 days at the Pacific Beach Hotel. We had an oceanfront room on the 16th floor. Everything about the hotel was great. The staff was friendly, ready to help you at any time. The room was cleaned twice a day with soiled towels replaced by fresh ones. The bed spread was turned back each night with mints and flowers left on the sheets. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2004

Stayed @ pacific beach Hotel for 5 nights and it was FABULOUS! I think you have to have an OceanFront room to make this hotel worthwhile.
Definitely staying here again.

We were on the 11th floor and woke up to the beautiful waters. Couldn't hear any noise the whole week. Elevators had it's good times and bad.

Moderately spacious Lanai and room. Nice vanity area with big mirrors. Empty fridge to store water. Free coffee w/coffeemaker in the room. Small bathrooms, maid service was good & friendly.

I prefer the eastside of Kalakaua because you can walk down the street and see the beach in front of you on one side. Closer to the Outrigger and Surfrider this is not possible due to the beachfront hotels.

Definitely check out the Outdoor Tiki bar & grill @ the Aston Waikiki @ sunset. Great food and music!

Save your money instead of a city (other hotels)view @ Outrigger or Sheraton, get an Ocean Front for cheaper @ PBH!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2004

We stayed at The Pacific Beach Hotel in Feb. '04. The motel is pretty much what I'd expect of a 3 star motel. The cleaning staff was very helpful and friendly. The rest of the staff, dining room and reservation counter were rather indifferent. As a matter of fact they weren't very helpful or friendly. They seemed too busy for the customer service thing. The main thing that comes to mind is the strong smell that was in the lobby. I guess it was the aquarium. Now the aquarium was awesome. The aquarium was impressive and fun to watch while eating. It was just that smell that got to us and discouraged us from eating there every day! Anyway, we won't stay there when we come back next year.

Thank denimom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2004

This hotel continues to be a great value. It's location is great, the rooms are clean, the AC is relatively quiet, and I haven't had any problems with the service. It was pretty busy last time we were there, but was still quiet inside. Step outside and Waikiki beach is steps away. Parking is pricey, but it is everywhere in Waikiki. We had vouchers for the breakfast buffet included in our room rate, so that was great. The pool is very small, but that's ok when the ocean is right across the street.

    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Over_the_River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,268 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,713 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286 (Formerly Pacific Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $256 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Hottest hotel opening in 2018" by USA Today, Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach is a modern and tranquil oasis in the heart of Waikiki that pays homage to Queen Lili‛uokalani's long-lasting heritage. Alohilani will welcome all guests into an unforgettable setting which blends Hawaii’s cultural heritage with an elegant contemporary style that’s uniquely... Aloha Chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelPower so you can book your Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing