We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay at the Pacific Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Puyallup, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful stay at the Pacific Beach Hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I satyed at the Pacific Beach Hotel for 6 nights for our romantic getaway to Hawaii and our stay at this hotel was fantastic! We stayed in an Oceanview and the view was amazing!

The staff was friend, knowledgeable, and helpful. The room was clean, well-kept throughout our stay, and the bed was very comfortable. Sure you could say the room was a bit dated, but if you are coming to Hawaii, most of your time should be spent outside! Another perk was the hotel has filtered water stations throughout the hotel, which was great for filling up our water bottles and staying hydrated.

This hotel has a great location, right accross from the beach, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

As some reviews noted, there is a bit of noise, but this is just basic street traffic such as busses and the occasional ambulance siren going to rescue some surfer who face planted into a rock or something. It wasn't enough to disturb me and many hotels would have this same noise.

All in all this was a great hotel, provided a comfortable nights rest for our Hawaii adventure.

Room Tip: If you want to pay a bit more for a view, it is well worth it. Request either an ocean front or ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Aloha Jason F,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. Our team is very delighted to hear your comments and we appreciate your kind words. I am glad that you enjoyed the eco-friendly water bottle which is refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel. Our hotel was awarded by the Waikiki Improvement Association for the eco-friendly guest water bottle program which eliminates an estimated 350,000 bottles per year from ending up in a landfill. Thank you for staying with us and we cannot wait to have you back next time soon!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    1,396
    566
    203
    141
See reviews for
1,053
1,183
172
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great stay. Fantastic Brunch next to the largest private Aquarium that I we have ever scene Full of reef fish that you see in local waters. Walk across the street to the beach and park. Walk to every thing we wanted shopping and food. Short city bus trip to Diamond Head cost only $2.50 both ways.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Aloha Collin N,

Thanks so much for the wonderful 5-star review and staying with us on your first trip to Hawaii! I am pleased to hear that you had a fantastic brunch at our award-winning Oceanarium Restaurant which has three-story 280,000 gallon indoor aquarium. We also have mermaid shows at 5pm and 9pm every day. Come back again and enjoy the dinner next time. We’ll see you soon.

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hi we have just come back from a week staying at the Pacific Beach Hotel in Waikiki.

I bought the hotel stay though Groupon and from some of the write ups that I read on tripadvisor ... I was expecting it to be a noisy dive.

To my surprise, it was awesome. We were given a beautiful room in the beach tower (facing the beach) on the 17th floor. That's the top floor in the ocean facing wing (the hotel has two towers city facing side and the beach facing side).

Being on the top floor was great since it was away from most of the street noise and the 24 hour gym that some of the other people on tripadvisor wrote about. (FYI - The 24 hour gym is located on the 5th floor and I was worried that we would be up all night with noise but it was not a problem at all.)

Our room 1723 was incredible. Nice and clean with a mini fridge and microwave. I brought a hot plate so we could cook up our own breakfast in the morning (both to help save money and get us out and about earlier). It turned out to be a great idea and I'm glad I bothered to do that in the end.

Being right on the beach, we'd pop down for a swim or a walk and then pop back into our room for lunch and pre-dinner drinks. We did a few day trips to the North Shore and Hanauma Bay but the best part was being able to come home to our hotel and our great room. Our view honestly was far better than the view of any of the bars restaurants so we really took advantage of that. The outside deck facing the ocean is if I'm honest where I spent most of my time sitting and reading my book. I was after a VERY low key holiday and having been to Hawaii before - doing nothing was high on my agenda! I just wanted to relax, walk, swim, read...and have some very restful sleeps. Be away from the busyness of my life at home with the kids.

If you are going to Honolulu, definitely check out The Pacific Beach Hotel.

If you want a really quiet and relaxing holiday and room like I did, I recommend that you call the hotel before you arrive to ask for a beach-tower/beach-facing room; on one of the highest floors possible.

Room Tip: Beach Tower is a must. If you want a really quiet and relaxing holiday and room like I did, I recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Aloha Nancie W,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor and rating us 5-stars. Hope you are doing well in Canada. I am very happy to hear that you had an awesome stay with us. The view of Pacific Ocean from our Ocean Front rooms is spectacular and I am glad that you enjoyed it. Please think of us as part of our ohana and come back again soon!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Pacific Beach Hotel is a wonderful property located in the heart of Waikiki. I have stayed in a dozen properties in the Waikiki area while leading a group of 150 + travelers from the mainland. The Pac Beach is at the top of the list for location, food, service and value. They will take care of every need!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Aloha EMD007,

What a wonderful 5-star review! Our team is thrilled to hear your praises. Please let us know when your group is coming back. We think of you and your group as part of our ohana (Hawaiian family) so come again soon! Take care!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I had a hard time finding this hotel as it is located on Liliuokalani Street but my GPS did not locate that. After a couple of times looping on Kalakaua and Kuhio I was able to locate the hotel. When I drove to the valet area it was very slow moving. When I finally made my way to the front I was told that they were full and that i could self park. I noticed that there were people dressed in formal wear. I later learned that Castle HIgh School was having their Prom there that evening. I thought to myself, I am in for it with large parties and noise. After returning to the hotel (following my dinner at Iron Chef Morimoto's restaurant) to my surprise, it was quiet and it seemed as if everything was under control. The furniture was a little dated, but for the time I spent in the room, it was perfect. I will plan on staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Aloha Gerald F,

Thanks so much for rating us 5-stars! I am delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be perfect for your stay. When you come back next time, you now know where we are. Please visit us anytime!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I visited for 6 nights in April with my partner. I had previously stayed at an upscale resort and had major hesitations about staying at this hotel due to some mixed reviews.
I was pleasently surprised by this hotel and I am so happy we stayed there!
The location is great, not only with a breath taking view of the ocean but also surrounded by shops, resteraunts and a nearby bus stop which served us well.
The beach opposite is sheltered so great for families or those not confident in swimming but is adjacent to an open beach packed with surfers.
The hotel is large but welcoming and comfortable . Could use some up dating but that is purely aesthetic. We found the staff friendly and had no trouble having any problem fixed.
We didnt utilise the resteraunt but could see their famous oceanarium which is as grand as it sounds! Seemed a bit pricey and given the location of nearby resteraunts we had no need to eat there.
There is a daiy fee which really should be added to the overall price even though we expected it, it still felt like a rip off. We did make use of the free wifi though and the towels can be taken to the beach.
Overall a great experience and yes we would stay again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Totoro1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Aloha Totoro1984,

Thank you for coming to stay with us all the way from Bisbane. I am excited to hear that you had a great stay with us overall. We want to ensure that our guests feel comfortable during their stay. When you miss the beach, you can always come back again for another visit. We can't wait to see you soon!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

For the cost, location, and convenience this hotel can't be beat. The view was amazing. Location was perfect. We didn't even need to rent a car. Tour pick ups were right next to hotel. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Our room was ocean front with a superb view. The accommodation was a little dated, but very clean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Aloha Sharon K,

What the nice compliments! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you found our location to be perfect and enjoyed the spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. Please come back again soon and visit our extremely helpful staff!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
287 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,884 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Property: Pacific Beach Hotel
Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing