We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Situated on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki Beach, this hotel (n 1956) is amazingly convenient to just about anything. It is at the start of The Bus route 8 which goes to Ala Moana shopping centre - this means you get a seat on he outward bound journey. It is within walking distance of everything from Diamond Head (it was hard work but we did it), and Fort Worth Army Museum.

The hotel is somewhat dated but it does not matter as the guest services are right on the mark. There is now a $20 per day (plus tax) amenity charge which gives you standard wifi access, a "free" re-usable water bottle, free local and long distance local calls to 60 minutes, reduced entry fess to a number of places we didn't want to go (gym and spa) and discounts for young children eating in the main restrauant.

The overwhelming feature of this hotel is the three story fish tank (oceanarium) which is the lynch pin of the one and only restrauant.

Reasonably priced for what it offers - treat yourself to on ocean front room and be reminded of things important to 1950's architecture/interior design.

.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Aloha CatherineOz,

Thank you so much for the 5-star rating! We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. The Pacific Beach Hotel truly is located in the perfect location. I am so happy to hear that you especially enjoyed the service and the very impressive 280,000 gallon oceanarium. We can't wait to welcome you back again on your next trip!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,606 of 3,475 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had originally checked in to a hotel next to the convention center that turned out to be a complete dump. We found this hotel on line and booked a room that was much nicer, had an ocean view and was cheaper. Its an older hotel but the people who worked there seemed to be very happy and it showed in their work. Get a room on the west side of the hotel for fantastic sun sets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joecooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Aloha joecooool,

WOW! We are blushing after reading your review. Thank you for the very kind words! We are especially impressed with your TripAdvisor stats with 99 total reviews of which 26 are hotel reviews in 42 cities around the world. We are honored to receive compliments from such a well-traveled individual. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful, happy employees who are full of aloha! Please consider us your home away from home when visiting Honolulu. We'll see you soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Right in front of Waikiki beach, this hotel is very nice. There is a nice view to the ocean and to the Waikiki beach. It is really close to the statue of Duke and close to the main attractions in Waikiki area.
Very well served with transportation from the aiport to the hotel and also to other places in the Island (like buses and cabs).
Room was spacious and always clean. It was not noisy at all and the sleep quality i had was amazing.
The only annoying thing is that they charge an additional fee per day that I did not know about. So it is not a cheap stay, so for solo travelers a hostel right accros the street from this hotel would be a better option (price and companion wise)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giselef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Aloha giselef1,

Thanks for staying with us last April! We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, views and amenities. I apologize that you were not aware of our daily amenity fee before you arrived. We are continuously reviewing all of our reservation partners to ensure that this information is provided prior to booking with us. We want our guests to have all the information they need before reserving a room with us and our amenity fee should never be a surprise. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Pacific Beach Hotel again soon.

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Location of this hotel was great. Central to everything and right across the street from Waikiki beach. Rooms were dated but clean and room had a great view of Diamond Head. Ask for an oceanview room for views of the beach and DIamond Head. We spent very little time at the hotel as do most people so it worked out well as it was just a place to sleep at night. Hotel breakfast and dinner buffet very expensive. Would stay here again. Staff was helpful and friendly. Air conditioning needed to be upgraded. Had one temp and ran all the time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Aloha Teddy F,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We agree that the furniture and decor need to be updated, but we are very happy to hear that you felt the room was clean. Our housekeepers take great pride in their work and they really do an amazing job. We are very thankful to have such a passionate group of people working with us. You will also be pleased to know that the entire hotel will be getting a complete makeover. Part of our renovation does include new air conditioners in all of our guestrooms that will be quieter and much more efficient. Please come stay with us again on your next trip to Waikiki. We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Good location for Waikiki. A umber of decent restaurants within walking distance plus good shopping. A bit tired, needs a makeover. Very dingy lobby and restaurant. No bar worth mentioning. Excellent concierge service. Only one restaurant

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardPrice64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Aloha RichardPrice64,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thanks for staying with us during your Hawaiian vacation! We truly are located in the perfect location and we agree that our Concierge truly are the "Local Experts". You mentioned that the hotel needs a makeover and we agree. We are very excited for our upcoming renovation that will begin toward the end of this year. In the meantime, our room rates are set lower than the other resorts in Waikiki. We are confident that your next visit will exceed your expectations. We'll see you on your next vacation in paradise.

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days at Valentine's. The hotel it's is no better then a Best Western. Old, run down smells bad. The old running AC doesn't go on and off it's noise has one level. The decor is old and blah. Rusty and caulking missing. Small bathroom, small refrigerator. And to top it off. The elevators take forever and it's an Asian invasion. Rude , rude fine a better spot

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank llara86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Aloha llara86,

Thanks for spending Valentine's Day with us. We certainly appreciate your feedback especially from a local Oahu resident. Please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations. The good news is we are planning a complete renovation; however, in the meantime, we have reduced our rates because we know that the furniture and decor needs to be updated. Even though a renovation is needed and planned, we are very fortunate to have a staff that is full of aloha and takes great pride in their work. Our housekeepers truly do an amazing job of keep the hotel very clean and all of our employees have a genuine passion for delivering true Hawaiian hospitality. Come back and see our improvements the next time you are in Waikiki.

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Pacific Beach during our recent visit to Hawaii. Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help improve your stay. The only downside was the pool area and overall decor of the hotel. The pool is small and needs some maintenance desperately. Pool area is also very bland and has an institution feeling, needs to be greened up. The rooms contain furniture that has seen better days and renovations should be considered soon. I recommend you shop around, may find better accommodations for the money.

Escaping winter

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Racebddy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Aloha Racebddy24,

I am so glad you could escape winter in Canada to come visit us in Hawaii! Thanks for staying with us and thank you for sharing your comments regarding your visit. I am very happy to hear that you thought that the staff was friendly and always willing to help. As you mentioned, our guestroom furniture has seen better days, I am very happy to hear that you felt the hotel was clean and comfortable. We agree that a renovation is needed and we are very excited that plans are being finalized. You will be happy to know that our renovation plans include a complete transformation of our pool area as well. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again on your next getaway.

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
342 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,576 reviews
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286 (Formerly Pacific Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $232 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised to open as the hottest new resort in Hawaii in fall 2017, ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach will be a modern and tranquil oasis in the heart of Waikiki that pays homage to Queen Lili‛uokalani's long-lasting heritage. Alohilani will welcome all guests into an unforgettable setting which blends Hawaii’s cultural heritage with an elegant contemporary style that’s uniquely... Aloha Chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing