We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Nearby Hotels
$606
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$699
$599
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$780
$740
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$500
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$519
$494
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$249
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$549
$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$779
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$659
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,637)
Filter reviews
3,638 results
Traveler rating
1,151
1,483
613
225
165
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,151
1,483
613
225
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetocean frontoceanarium towerwaikiki beachhuge aquariumgarlic shrimppartial ocean viewdiamond headabc storerenovated roombeach towelsour honeymoonhigh floorking bedcorner roomshops and restaurantsabbie
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,753 - 1,758 of 3,638 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel for someone who wants a great downtown Waikiki location at a discounted price. The rooms are a little dated and worn, but they were kept very clean. The beds were particularly uncomfortable. That being said, my family was overall pleased with the hotel. The staff was outstanding. They were very nice and provided us with an upgrade to an oceanfront room, just for asking. My husband mentioned that it was my birthday and the hotel provided a birthday cupcake, champagne and champagne glasses in our room, at no cost. The hotel is not right on the beach. You have to cross the street to get to the beach. Some of the other downtown hotels (ie. Royal Hawaiian, Hilton Hawaiian Village or Moana Surfrider) are right on the water, so you can lay by the pool and walk straight to the ocean. This hotel's pool is on the 4th floor, and you have to strain to see the ocean. The pool is very small for a hotel. It is probably more appropriately sized for a backyard pool. The hotel provided nice soaps and lotions along with a toothbrush and toothpaste. They also provided room slippers. We were pleased to have saved so much money by staying here vs. One of the higher cost hotels. If you plan to spend a lot of time at the hotel and want a really beautiful place, this is not the hotel for you. If you just want a home base for sleeping and leaving your things, this place is great. I would stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank VacantVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Aloha VacantVacations,

Thanks for choosing the Pacific Beach Hotel as your home base while visiting Waikiki with your family and celebrating your birthday! We are preparing for a complete renovation of all our guestrooms and public spaces, in the meantime we are offering reduced room rates given the dated decor and furnishings. We have already began replacing mattresses since sleep quality is a very high priority for guests - we wanted to make this a priority with our renovation plans. We are also planning a major upgrade to our pool area... stay tuned for more details....

We can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit. We'll see you soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We arrived. Decent. Our room was in the tower and it was nice, but the noise from the street was awful. We were on floor 35 4 floors below penthouse. We requested a partial view room facing the mountain, so we asked if there was another room. The provided us another room on the 11th floor facing the mountain and much better partial view of ocean. Yeaaa...culdn't see t he mountain, but it was quieter on that side of hotel. My husband has a Rx for Norco (Vicadin) and his entire prescription was stolen from our room except for 10 pills. We complained and of course nothing happened. Not even a complimentary drink. It was awful. Now, he is in pain (back injury), and we can't get our room cleaned without a manage present...totally ruined our trip. Sucks because we were stuck there for 10 days. The aquarium was dirty and we caught one mermaid show but unless you are in the middle she doesn't swim and smile at you. Disappointing. The pictures are so staged. The buffet was nice, but not as beautiful as in the pictures, plus very expensive and you need a reservation. Perfect location but staff steals.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantilly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Aloha Chantilly62,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. I am very happy that you rated our location 5-stars! Our location truly is the perfect spot! Thank you for also bringing your concerns to our attention. My apologies that your concerns were not addressed to your satisfaction while you were still here. As it is extremely unusual for anything to go missing from our guest rooms, I would like to investigate your concern further. If you have a moment, please email me at baker@pacificbeachhotel.com. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in their work so I would like to get to the bottom this.

Thanks again for your feedback and I sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Pacific Beach Hotel again on your next trip to Waikiki!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

A fantastic location, right in the middle of Waikiki Beach. You have a great beach area right in front, and you have plenty of dining & shopping in either direction. The rooms were dated, but clean & larger than many in Waikiki. There was a fridge & balcony where we had a "partial ocean view" to the side. We unfortunately did not have a room with new matresses, so the beds were pretty firm & bumpy. We still managed to get some decent sleep though. As far as noise, it was average for Waikiki, and I really don't know many quiet places in the heart of the city. It is just a busy city. If you are a pool person, this may not be the place for you. The pool was mediocre at best. Very small & on the side of the building so seemed shaded most of the day.

I was able to find a special deal if you booked via you mobile phone, but beware your "deal" becomes less of a bargain when you add in their daily "resort fee", and if you have to park a car on top of that, forget it. Added resort fees are a HUGE sore spot with me. If it is not an optional fee, and every guest pays it, then include it in the price, period. For me this is the equivalent of a bait & switch scam and just doesn't sit well. I would perhaps be more tolerable if the resort fee was minimal, but the Pacific Beach charges $20 PER DAY plus tax, for "amenities" which are a complete joke. The only amenity that we used was the water. You receive a $.50 cent disposable plastic water bottle at check in & you can fill it through a machine containing filtered tap water. Is this worth $20 per day? Not even close. You can buy a whole lot of 2 for $99 bottled water at ABC for $20. Another so called amenity is a "discounted" pass to the adjacent fitness center. I inquired at the fitness center, and they advised me the "discounted" price was $15 per day! Wow, what a deal, said dripping with sarcasm. These extra "fees" amount to over $100 for a 5 night stay, which is insane. I know this is a trend amongst hotels, but that doesn't mean it is good business practice. Thankfully, most of the Outrigger/Ohana properties do not charge amenity fees & hopefully this continues, because this is likely where my next stay will be.

TIP: We found an awesome happy hour special at the Top of Waikiki. $5 Sky Vodka martini's & discounted appetizers, with views to die for! It was absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: Go with a higher floor to avoid some of the street noise. Partial ocean view room still had great views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Aloha traveltosun,

Thanks so much for taking a moment to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Great tip regarding happy hour at the Top of Waikiki restaurant and I agree the views are amazing. It sounds like you really enjoyed the location of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Thanks for the 5-star location rating! You really can't go wrong being located right across the street from the world-famous Waikiki Beach! I also appreciate you sharing your thoughts regarding our resort fee. To remain competitive in a market where most resorts do charge an amenity fee and as a convenience to our guests, we have combined our most widely used services and amenities in our amenity fee. Most of the other resorts in Waikiki charge $25-$35 while our amenity charge of $20 (plus tax) per occupied room is a daily charge and includes: wireless internet access (in-room and throughout the property); use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages, and Putting Green (equipment included); Children 4 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet; Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada; our award-winning Eco-Friendly logo water bottle refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel. We will soon be opening a fitness center that will be included in the amenity fee and will be available to guests 24-hours a day in addition to the discounted pass to 24-Hour Fitness Super Sport Club. As you mentioned, there are some resorts in Waikiki that do not charge a resort fee; however, these particular resorts typically charge extra for all of the added amenities. I hope that this explanation helps clarify and provide some additional perspectives on amenity fees.

The next time you return to Hawaii, I hope you choose to stay with us again. Consider yourself part of our Hawaiian Ohana (family).

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here on Jan14 for 2 nights.Our room was clean and comfortable and an average size 2 bedded room.Housekeeping did a great job in giving us anything we needed and the front desk staff provided excellent fast service!This hotel is right across from the beach and lots of shops and restaurants close by.The hotel has a great restaurant on site called Oceanarium which is actually a upscale buffet!Food was very good and excellent waiter staff.Dinner buffet is 47 dollars per person and that is average price for Hawaii,and i might add they had excellent Prime rib and seafood!Other restaurants very close within walking distance are mac 24 ,mcdonalds,Burger King,Eggs n Things and other local establishments.Overall,It was a great stay and this hotel is also one of the least expensive in Waikiki!I would definitly recommend it to anyone!!Also,I did forget to mention that in the hotel restaurant oceanarium you are dining looking at a very large aquarium of fish and stingrays and if you are at the right time you can see divers go in and feed them.It was great!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Aloha John W,

What a wonderful review! Thanks for the 5-star rating and thank you so much for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you had such a great experience. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

After reading some bad reviews of this property we were pleasantly surprised to find such a lovely hotel position in the main street. We stayed in an ocean view room with magnificent views. Staff were friendly and very helpful and would certainly recommend to those on a moderate budget and not expecting 5 star.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to avoid traffic noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steino15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Aloha steino15,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments on TripAdvisor. I am very please to see the 4 and 5-star ratings for your experience! Our ocean view rooms truly do have magnificent views.... and then there are our Ocean Front rooms that are even more amazing! We try to keep our room rates a bit lower than everyone else because we know that our furniture and decor is a bit dated. We are looking forward to our upcoming renovation that will give us a fresh new look. Come back again soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews