We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Totally awesome!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The bathroom was a little rusty, kind of pricey if your on a budget but other than that the service was really good and the hotel is right in front of a beach. I would have to save up money again to stay here for the full experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha Michelle B,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Mahalo for your appreciation for our staff as well as our central Waikiki location . Should you return again, our concierge and front desk is always happy to direct you to some of the many off-site options in the area that may be of interest to you. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    1,327
    543
    190
    139
See reviews for
1,002
1,117
163
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We loved the service, the room was clean, nice, bathroom was very nice. Towels for the beach were a added bonus. Food great in cafe!!! Lower priced but great quality. Fantastic restaurant! We were impressed with the price we paid, it was very low for the service and quality and location. Location location location, and then my daughter was able to see us on the beach since there is a live web cam. I want to plan another trip as soon as I can.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view, but get the partial ocean,city view. If we had picked the ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha Kandice J,

Mahalo for your review!! An excellent service experience is so important to all of us at the Pacific Beach Hotel and we are thrilled to hear how much our associates exceeded expectations and how much you enjoyed your clean appointed room. It's awesome to hear you got a chance to try out our live web cam! Here is also the link to the live web cam should you ever want to revisit it: http://66.175.76.125/ Thank you for choosing our hotel & we look forward to your next return!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for about 4 days. We really enjoyed it, the staff were very helpful, the rooms were immaculate and cleaned everyday to a high standard, we were even given towels to use for the beach. The restaurant is fantastic and we had our breakfast and evening meals here most nights... The snow crabs legs were awesome and the restaurant was packed,,there was so much choice of food and it was all to a high quality. The serving staff were polite and cheerful too..
The only bad thing about the hotel was the long queues and waiting times at reception,,,Usually there were only 2 people there and many people waiting to check in, check out and whatever else...really not good enough...But otherwise a very enjoyable stay...

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and to the front overlooking the beach if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schamp1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha Schamp2959,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your most recent experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall accommodation. We thank you for being a loyal diner at the Oceanarium! We do however apologize should you feel the front desk was not as efficient as possible. We will notify our Front Desk team to ensure that we are fully staffed at all times. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the next opportunity to serve you!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maalaea, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for our anniversary. I would have given the Pacific Beach Hotel an excellent rating if the rooms had been updated. My view was amazing, the staff was great and amenities were ample. The location couldn't have been any better, we did not rent a car and everything was in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beach Tower and the views were great. We had an Ocean View room but also had an ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha Candy S,

Thank you for taking time to review us. We are delighted you chose to stay with us for your anniversary celebration! Sorry if you felt our hotel aesthetics needs a little improvement. Please know we are in the stages of modifying our hotel & we are excited to share our updates with you! Mahalo for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to you will stay with us in the near future to enjoy all that we have to offer. Happy anniversary again!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights with family and I was definitely not impressed. The hotel has a great location, with nice staff, the rooms were very clean and the view was pretty good of the ocean. Although, we didn't get enough towels, the pool closed at 9pm, and breakfast wasn't included, only one elevator worked and when we checked out we waited 20 minutes for the elevator and it smelled like dirty sea food. We also had to pay $25 for parking which for the price we payed for the room I think is ridiculous. But, if you're looking for an awesome location then this hotel is for you.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha Jessica W,

Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our central Waikiki location. However, it is truly disappointing to learn you were not impressed at every turn. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the elevator not working properly. I understand your frustration in having to wait for the elevator & we regret any difficulties you encountered because of that. But it is our hope to welcome you back again in the future & we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are on a budget but longing to be next to Waikiki beach (which usually puts you back several hundreds of dollars) - this is the place for you!

However one need to cope with Motel 6 look-alike dated interior, bathroom with rusting areas, a huge gap under the entry door and an overall feeling of everything being damp even though the AC was on max throughout our stay.

On the bright side the balcony with partial oceanview was a lot better than expected.

Room Tip: Oceanview room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Per P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha Perper78,

Thank you for taking time to comment regarding your most recent stay. We understand guest room presentation was a concern for you and we will be using your feedback to improve. Please know we are continually working to improve our on-property experience & we are in the stages of modifying our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback again & we hope to have the chance of serving you again.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Loved this hotel. I was only there one day, business traveler with one day to kill. There was a beautiful and very expensive restaurant with this awesome aquarium, with quite a food spread, or, for someone like me..on my own and just anting to eat, there was a small cafe where you could get a good breakfast or lunch for under $10. I didn't stay for dinner, but presumably they had a dinner deal too. Right across the street from the breathtaking beach, beach towels provided in your hotel room. Free wifi, there is a little ABC store inside the hotel that sells everything from clothing and all kinds of souvenirs, to snacks, sandwiches, beer and wine, all at what I considered reasonable prices given that we were in Hawaii. Only draw back was most flights back to US do not leave until late at nite, and my late check out cost me almost as much as my room…however that was their policy and I hadn't checked on it befre making my reservation, so really shouldn't complain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha Sue T,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Everyone here at Pacific Beach works together like a big family and we strive to provide superior service to ensure that all of our guests have an amazing experience whether it is for leisure or business. Thank you for choosing our hotel again and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another exceptional stay!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Property: Pacific Beach Hotel
Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing