We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but long waits at reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for about 4 days. We really enjoyed it, the staff were very helpful, the rooms were immaculate and cleaned everyday to a high standard, we were even given towels to use for the beach. The restaurant is fantastic and we had our breakfast and evening meals here most nights... The snow crabs legs were awesome and the restaurant was packed,,there was so much choice of food and it was all to a high quality. The serving staff were polite and cheerful too..
The only bad thing about the hotel was the long queues and waiting times at reception,,,Usually there were only 2 people there and many people waiting to check in, check out and whatever else...really not good enough...But otherwise a very enjoyable stay...

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and to the front overlooking the beach if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schamp1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Aloha Schamp2959,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your most recent experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall accommodation. We thank you for being a loyal diner at the Oceanarium! We do however apologize should you feel the front desk was not as efficient as possible. We will notify our Front Desk team to ensure that we are fully staffed at all times. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the next opportunity to serve you!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 3,482 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for our anniversary. I would have given the Pacific Beach Hotel an excellent rating if the rooms had been updated. My view was amazing, the staff was great and amenities were ample. The location couldn't have been any better, we did not rent a car and everything was in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beach Tower and the views were great. We had an Ocean View room but also had an ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Aloha Candy S,

Thank you for taking time to review us. We are delighted you chose to stay with us for your anniversary celebration! Sorry if you felt our hotel aesthetics needs a little improvement. Please know we are in the stages of modifying our hotel & we are excited to share our updates with you! Mahalo for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to you will stay with us in the near future to enjoy all that we have to offer. Happy anniversary again!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights with family and I was definitely not impressed. The hotel has a great location, with nice staff, the rooms were very clean and the view was pretty good of the ocean. Although, we didn't get enough towels, the pool closed at 9pm, and breakfast wasn't included, only one elevator worked and when we checked out we waited 20 minutes for the elevator and it smelled like dirty sea food. We also had to pay $25 for parking which for the price we payed for the room I think is ridiculous. But, if you're looking for an awesome location then this hotel is for you.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 18, 2013

Aloha Jessica W,

Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our central Waikiki location. However, it is truly disappointing to learn you were not impressed at every turn. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the elevator not working properly. I understand your frustration in having to wait for the elevator & we regret any difficulties you encountered because of that. But it is our hope to welcome you back again in the future & we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are on a budget but longing to be next to Waikiki beach (which usually puts you back several hundreds of dollars) - this is the place for you!

However one need to cope with Motel 6 look-alike dated interior, bathroom with rusting areas, a huge gap under the entry door and an overall feeling of everything being damp even though the AC was on max throughout our stay.

On the bright side the balcony with partial oceanview was a lot better than expected.

Room Tip: Oceanview room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Per P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Aloha Perper78,

Thank you for taking time to comment regarding your most recent stay. We understand guest room presentation was a concern for you and we will be using your feedback to improve. Please know we are continually working to improve our on-property experience & we are in the stages of modifying our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback again & we hope to have the chance of serving you again.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Loved this hotel. I was only there one day, business traveler with one day to kill. There was a beautiful and very expensive restaurant with this awesome aquarium, with quite a food spread, or, for someone like me..on my own and just anting to eat, there was a small cafe where you could get a good breakfast or lunch for under $10. I didn't stay for dinner, but presumably they had a dinner deal too. Right across the street from the breathtaking beach, beach towels provided in your hotel room. Free wifi, there is a little ABC store inside the hotel that sells everything from clothing and all kinds of souvenirs, to snacks, sandwiches, beer and wine, all at what I considered reasonable prices given that we were in Hawaii. Only draw back was most flights back to US do not leave until late at nite, and my late check out cost me almost as much as my room…however that was their policy and I hadn't checked on it befre making my reservation, so really shouldn't complain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Aloha Sue T,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Everyone here at Pacific Beach works together like a big family and we strive to provide superior service to ensure that all of our guests have an amazing experience whether it is for leisure or business. Thank you for choosing our hotel again and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another exceptional stay!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Pacific Beach is a nice hotel, great location, nice amenities, close to the beach and other events, activities and shopping along Kalakaua Ave. However, it has to be the noisiest hotel location on Oahu with all the street noise from buses, garbage trucks, sirens, motorcycles and horns all night and day long. This was our second stay here in 5 years and certainly our last. Never thought the noise would be this intolerable.

Room Tip: Maybe try a room facing facing Diamond Head to minimize noise exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha Jerry O,

Thank you for being a returnee and I must apologize that this time around you were dissatisfied with your visit.. I am sorry to learn that the noise levels coming from the central streets affected your stay and nights rest. Though we are grateful for your feedback, we wish we could have had the opportunity to address these concerns with you at the time of your stay. Our staff are always available to accommodate you. Should you decide to return again, we will be sure ensure your stay is more than excellent.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Central location for beach, shopping and restaurants. Lovely view in partial ocean view room. Good buffet breakfast but although it finished at 10am they had started clearing at 9.40am and some guests were caught out.
Good value. Rooms very clean and tidy.
Definitely would stay again.
Because it's on the street and beachfront it's can be noisy but you're on holidays so shouldn't matter.
Pool very small.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view floors 8 and up,room numbers 110 to 117 good views of beach and strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha Carolyn,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are delighted you chose to stay with us and we couldn’t be more pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your overall stay. However, I apologize that both the noise levels coming from the streets and your experience at the Oceanarium may have hindered your five star rating of us. We value your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to fully impress you. Mahalo for taking time to review us again!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,187 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,582 reviews
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286 (Formerly Pacific Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $239 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised to open as the hottest new resort in Hawaii in fall 2017, ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach will be a modern and tranquil oasis in the heart of Waikiki that pays homage to Queen Lili‛uokalani's long-lasting heritage. Alohilani will welcome all guests into an unforgettable setting which blends Hawaii’s cultural heritage with an elegant contemporary style that’s uniquely... Aloha Chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing