We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunsets and cocktails on the balcony every night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunsets and cocktails on the balcony every night.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

When looking for a Hotel to stay at in Waikiki to celebrate a very special occasion, we spotted the Pacific Beach Hotel on Trip Advisor and weighed up the price and location vs other hotels. We booked an Ocean Front room and it was perfect for what we wanted: the corner room was big, had sensational views of the beach and the friends we were travelling with all ended up on our balcony at the end of each day for sunset cocktails.
The rooms were clean, the pillows were great and the service from the majority of the staff was very good, particularly Jocelyn, who's determination to ensure we enjoyed our stay was excellent...thank you!
We also had dinner in the Oceanarium to celebrate the reason for being in Hawaii - the atmosphere and Mermaid Show was unique and the food was very good.
Overall, I would certainly recommend the hotel, but would only stay in the Ocean Front rooms...it's very special to wake up to watching the surf of Waikiki and end each day with a perfect sunset...and dinner in the many options available within close walking distance to the property. Mahalo!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Aloha Michael B,

Mahalo for your five star rating! I would also like to thank you for reaching out to me personally through email. I am very pleased to hear you & your wife enjoyed our accommodations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another exceptional vacation trip!

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    1,405
    574
    210
    145
See reviews for
1,067
1,197
174
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were a little concerned after reading some reviews but we have found this hotel to be just fine. We has water on the bathroom floor and called the desk. Someone came to fix it in 5 minutes and cleaned up the water. The service is great and the restaurant is very good. It is a bargain compared to some of the other properties on the beach but it is not lacking in amenities.

Room Tip: Ocean view is better than expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJBLTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Aloha PJBLTB,

Thank you for your review and sharing your impressions regarding your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our efficient staff and room accommodations. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your time here in Hawaii. I understand that there are a number of hotels in the area, so I sincerely hope when your travels bring you back to Pacific Beach, you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingley, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Pacific Beach in Sept 2013. Our room was lovely and clean, bed comfy and surprisingly quiet considering its location. If you are considering staying there and you are not a smoker make sure you request a non smoking room. We did not even realise these were available for a few days after check in and would have asked had we known. We had a partial ocean view room which was spacious and had a balcony overlooking other hotels and the water. This was fine for us as really you don't spend a lot of time in the room gazing out the windows anyway. We did not eat in the main restaurant but did have breakfast etc in the cafe. We found the staff very friendly at all times. The wifi was good most of the time, however connection did appear less reliable when there were lots more guests staying at the hotel. Overall,I think Pacific Beach was reasonably priced, I would definitely recommend it and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view, higher floors, non smoking available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Aloha Margaret K,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay. We are happy to know you enjoyed your overall experience here at Pacific Beach. I want to thank you for your loyalty to us & we definitely look forward to serving you again!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice Hotel; clean and well kept and perfect location. Walking distance to the beach (1/2 a block) and a lot of other turist-y things. On my first day I decided to walk around to explore and ended up at a little shoping area a couple blocks down and it was great. Ended up buying all my souveniers there. They had a lot of local, hand made jewelry and more.
The hotel rooms arn't super fancy but if you are looking for a great location without spending a lot of $,, this is it. Besides, who goes to HI to stay in their hotel room all day?!?!?!?!
I have no complains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carodr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Aloha Carodr01,

An excellent experience is important to all of us at Pacific Beach. Thank you for choosing our hotel & we are happy to hear your overall accommodations was great. We look forward to having you back!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is so close to the beach and international market. It also has breakfast for only $5.oo each morning while you enjoy the atmosphere outside. I would like to mention Crenscia the housekeeper on the 10th floor kept the room immaculant. I definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donnadavis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha DonnaDavis2013,

Thank you very much for your five star rating! We greatly appreciate your kind comment regarding one of our housekeeper. Please be assured that your kind praises will be shared with this exemplary employee. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback and it would be an absolute pleasure to serve you again soon!

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect. Directly across the street from the beach and within easy walking distance of virtually everything. Cheeseburger in Paradise is on the opposite corner so you have a good casual restaurant a few steps away. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was very friendly. We had an oceanfront room on the 11th floor and the view was fantastic. The room was clean and comfortable. Furnishings were simple but were in good condition. My only CON on the furnishings was there was only one relatively small dresser so storage space for clothing was rather limited and we kept a bunch in the suitcases (there were three of us packed for a two week vacation). The beds were comfortable and we loved listening to the surf at night as we slept. The Oceanarium in the center of the hotel was amazing. Do not miss the free mermaid show, particularly if you are there with kids.Their restaurant runs alongside the three story tall tank. It is a buffet type restaurant and the menu seemed heavy on the seafood side. Neither myself. my wife nor my son eat seafood or very little of it so we never tried it but the restuarant was always busy so I am assuming the food was good but I can't fairly rate it. It looked really nice though. All in all a great experience. I saw some negative reviews but I have only my own experience to go on and I can say that my room was cleaned spotless each and every day. Also, if you fly Hawaiian Airlines sign up for their free miles program and you get a GREAT rate at this hotel. We did. Tip: If you are going there for a special occasion let them know. We were there for our 10 year anniversary and filled that out in the comment section on-line when we made our reservatiion. A bottle of champagne on ice along with 2 Pacific Beach Hotel champagne flutes were waiting on the table when we entered our room. Was awesome to sit out on the balcony that night sipping champagne in the moonlight listening to the waves. One other tip, if driving to it you turn left on the one way street right after the McDonalds on the corner and the entrance is on the right after the outdoor cafe. I circled the place 3 times my first time there before I figured out how to get in. I would have no issues staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms at the higher levels will offer you a better view and a bit of a buffer from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandAinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha JandAinAZ,

I am very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to hear how much our hotel accommodations exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you all back to Pacific Beach very soon! Again, Happy Anniversary to you and your wife!

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If your idea of a 4 star hotel, is plastic shower curtains and beat up furniture, then by all means book at the Pacific Beach. We just returned from a weeks holidays. We were very disappointed in the accommodations. When you look at the pictures on the website for the Pacific Beach, the rooms look very nice. However the pictures are very deceiving. The rooms are really old and the furniture has long since outlived it purpose. The mattress was so worn out that you could feel the springs through it. There was still hair in the bathroom from the previous guest. The plug in in the bathroom only worked for the first day. We read the reviews before we booked and thought that sometimes people exaggerate about their experience, but we were wrong. The bad reviews are correct. The hotel does not disserve a 4 star rating. I would give it a 2 at best. There are only 2 positive things that I have to say about this hotel; 1. location is fabulous, directly across from Waikiki Beach 2. the concierge desk, particularly Kailey, was terrific. Other than that, my advice for my fellow Canadians and other travelers, spend the extra could of dollars and stay at the Sheraton. T&S Rhyno

Room Tip: The hotel down the street has a great view. Stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharmane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Aloha T&S Rhyno,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I apologize that you felt our guest room presentation and accommodation fell below your expectation. I assure you that we will utilize your feedback to improve on all areas. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us and we will take your comments on our housekeeping standards and amenities into consideration. Please know we are in the stages of refreshing our hotel to improve guest experience. Should you need to address your concerns directly, don't hesitate to reach out to me via email at jnemoto@pacificbeachhotel.com. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,470 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Property: Pacific Beach Hotel
Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing