We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Priced in a Central Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just came back from Waikiki last weekend and stayed at this hotel-It is very convenient!. The location of this hotel is great! It is right in the center of all the happenings in Waikiki. Everything is in such a walking distance. There are stores in the hotel including an ABC store. There is a bar/ coffee shop downstairs and they have happy hours from 2-5 with $5 mai tais. There is a buffet restaurant downstairs with an aquarium but we didn’t eat there. We thought the prices were ridiculous- $24 for breakfast? I usually only have coffee and pastry in the morning so $24 is just too much!

Anyways, the beach by the hotel is ok but way too much crowded- it is kid-friendly and the water is shallow. The hotel’s beach section is right by the walkway so lots of people walking and you can hear the busses and car noises and since we are up for something more relaxing than that we walked further out of the beach- it isn’t a far walk so it’s great! The International Market is close and if you want to go shopping – the stores are closeby too.

Also, checking in was a breeze. The drawback was their daily resort fee which is $20 per day so be wary of this when you book your trip since this is not usually inclusive of the prices when you book online. The resort fee includes towels, wifi, etc.. we didn’t have any problems getting clean fresh towels every time we needed them so it’s all good. Meanwhile, we really didn’t use the wifi so I don’t know if the connection is good. On the other hand, check out wasn’t bad either, we had a later flight and the check out was at 11am. You can leave your luggage at the bell desk and pick it up once it’s time for you to get to the airport. In our case we left our luggage the whole day till night since our plane didn’t leave till 10pm and this was not a problem at all. The service was accommodating at this hotel and we don’t have any complaints.

The rooms we got had a great view of Waikiki beach, you get a great view of the sunrise and the sunset every day. Our room was facing the street where the hustle and bustle is at but you won’t have a problem with noise as long as you keep the balcony doors closed. The balcony has lounge chairs, the room was clean and housekeeping maintains it every day. We stayed at 7th floor.

The pool was not good but we really didn’t care because who needs a pool when you have the beach!

Just a few suggestions to add- I think they should waive the parking fee for their hotel guests or maybe at least get 1 free parking day! They have a parking which we used for one day and it costs $20/ day! Also, a hospitality room would be a nice thing to have for those who have later flight and still want to go back to the beach and needed a shower before catching their return flight.

Overall, It’s a good place to stay- the prices are reasonable, location, service and rooms were great!

Room Tip: Oceanfront, Next time, I would probably pick a room facing Diamond Head. Also, higher rooms are prob...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M_sizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha M_sizzles,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay. We are happy to know you enjoyed your overall experience. We care about our guest's experience and we appreciate your positive feedback to everything we had to offer. Mahalo again and we hope you will stay with us in the near future.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!

Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,412)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,719 - 1,725 of 3,413 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great Location - just a block from Waikiki Beach. Room was spacious and clean. A number of activities available here and restaurants at hotel and near-by. Balcony provided a decent view of the ocean. Liked the free basic WiFi connection as well

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms had nice view and were a little less expensive than ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha Tim M,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your recent stay.
We couldn't be happier to know you enjoyed your room accommodations and our prime hotel location. We truly appreciate you choosing us for your stay and we look forward to your return!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,

Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel was very nice, clean rooms. Staff was very attentive. Lines were a bit long at check in, but we didn't mind, because we were in paradise. Didn't eat at the seafood restaurant with the wall tank. Pretty though. We did eat at the surf and turf place outside, they had a lady dancing the dance of love. Pool was being repaired, we used the pool at the hotel next door. Good location across the street from the beach, you can walk to all the high end shops. When we travel we like to do the tourist trap things, also we like to go where the locals go for good food and shopping. I do suggest renting a car, we were able to tour the whole island, went to some great parks, beautiful beaches, no tourist just locals and they are very friendly and laid back.it is a must to bring your own or rent a Garmin or what ever navigation. You will kick yourself if you don't. They only use a portion of the alphabet and you will need it!!!! For shopping avoid the flea markets in the tourist zone you will pay double. Go to the stadium flea market. I believe it's the stadium where they host the bowl games. Same stuff much cheaper. Also, there's a place to get real Hawaiian food called Ono's I think. You have to wait outside because its so crowded to get in and it's a dump, just don't think about the surrounding, because the food is great! Just tell the lady you haven't tried the food and she will hook you right up! Also, there is a bakery further down the street names Leonard's Bakery and its great. They have donuts that are bigger than a donut hole, but twice as good and these breakfast sausage wrapped in a pastry are so good! The dinner cruises are a lot of fun. the performers are so pretty, guys and girls. We had a wonderful time. All in all, it was a great honeymoon and we are planning to go to one of the other islands next year. It is expensive, but you plan for that. OMT!! When you rent a car ask for a Honda it will save you a few pennies on the gas. It was over $4.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the ocean, we awoke to the breeze and sounds of the ocean everyday.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha Ann L,

Once again we would like to congratulate you on your honeymoon!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves in paradise & we are very blessed to have shared this experience with you!
Thank you for your valuable feedback & it is very kind of you to share your tips with fellow travelers.
I definitely agree with you on all the food suggestions you have provided. Very tasty indeed!

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!

Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel is located right in across Waikiki Beach. It expands a whole block and has many amenities on the first Floor. They also have a Oceanarium, this is huge and its located at their restaurant. They have a show and buffet, etc.

Check in is at 3pm and you are always greeted by friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel because of its easy access to the beach, cleanness, welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carloperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha Carloperu,

Reviews such as yours remind us why we love to do what we do!
Thank you for your kind wordsof what we have to offer from our helpful staff, Oceanarium & central location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another exceptional stay.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!

Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

good location ...... good rooms........ good food ........bad pool deck only has sun afternoon and you can not order food or drink only machine to buy a coke Wonderful fish in a large tank to enjoy with food

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha Netpower,

Thank you for your review! It is always our pleasure to provide you with the very best. We couldn't be more delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We will be going renovation with our pool deck in the near future & we hope to welcome you again soon once this is completed.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!

Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rather pricey for the room with a view of the street and sounds of same!

Paying for location which was not horrible, but certainly not what was described.

Rather difficult for taxi cabs and other vehicle service to drop off and pick up people as they are not allowed to drive up to the door of the hotel. We had to haul our luggage across a busy street and then into the hotel. No luggage racks available. It's a crowded area and traveling with children and hauling luggage, etc. was a concern.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nswvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just spent Labor Day weekend in an OCEANFRONT room. The view of Waikiki Beach was spectacular, especially since I like to surf at Queen's/Canoe's. The room itself needs updating, but having stayed here many times before, we knew what to expect. The staff was friendly and helpful.

What was disappointing was the LOUD music coming from the 24 Hour Fitness located on a lower floor at 9 am. Sunday morning. I work out 6-7 times a week, so I understand that people like to exercise. But, the music was so loud it made enjoying the view from our lanai impossible. I'm sure other guests were impacted as well.

I am a kamaaina, live here on Oahu, and want our tourist to have a pleasant stay in Waikiki. I hope that management can handle this problem in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms are very ordinary, but the location is terrific. Also, if you get an OCEANFRONT room, the vie...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oahusquid x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Aloha OahusquidX,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
As a Kama'aina resident & being familiar with hotels here, we are delighted you choose us as your staycation home. Also, I will discuss your comment with the management team regarding the loud noises from our fitness center. I apologize for the inconvenience it caused you. It is feedback like yours that helps us improve our daily operations to better serve our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share it & we look forward to serving our fellow Ohana member again!

Mahalo,

Jocelyn Nemoto
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,526 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
600 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $188 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing