We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, staff and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
france
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great location, staff and room”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Booked a room with partial view on the ocean and was pleasantly surprised.
Receptionist staff friendly and professional
location of hotel is great ( facing ocean )
room really clean with amazing views on the beach
great rates

really enjoyed my 2 nights at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bedugul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha Bedugul,

Thank you for your review and sharing your impressions.
We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our rooms, staff and amenities.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall & look forward to serving you again!!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,

Jocelyn Nemoto
Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    1,398
    566
    205
    142
See reviews for
1,054
1,187
173
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Pacific Beach Hotel is in a great location on the Waikiki beach.Beautiful sea walk in front of it.I would say better location than the Hilton Village. Our ocean front room was spacious,with fridge and microwawe.The toiletries were more and better than we had in the Hilton for twice as much price.Walking distance from the Zoo.We had seafood dinner in the hotel.It was pricey but delicious.The restaurant in this hotel located in front of a tree level aquarium.How neat is that!!
From the room we could see the street with tones of lights and of course the ocean.My choice on Waikiki beach would be this hotel next time.Probably only if ovean front view provided.
The negative was: The check out time was 11:00am not 12 as we tought and we were coming from the beach at 11:03 and the door was locked.The reception told us to go back to the door and the security guy will come up and let us in.He did after a short while and he said he is here to" escort us out".We needed 20 minutes to shower and we left.I am still wondering if the guard was serios but it was a bit harsh to kick someone out immediately for this honest mistake.

Room Tip: Ocean front definetely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Pacific Beach Hotel is getting a facelift during the next year, across the street from both the Waikiki Beach and Waikiki Marriott make the location exceptional. If you are a member of 24 HR Fitness the gym is right there too.
Head to Eggs 'N Things for breakfast, get there early the line goes out to the curb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here one night before cruise. The price was right and it was on Wakiki Beach. Arrived late afternoon, entered the lobby and noticed an odor of mildew mixed with the smell of smoke. It felt dirty. After waiting in life 30 mins., we went up to our 10th floor partial oceanview room with a balcony that had a view of the small pool on a patio on the sidestreet.

The room was basic, clean and didn't smell except for the carpets. Rooms need refurbishing. There was a king bed, two night tables and a table with two chairs. A large screen TV, refrig.and coffee maker included the ammenites. All was clean. The bath was older, but very clean. You can see the pictures I include. We had a nice view from the balcony from the side of the building, but if the door was open, the construction on the street was loud as was the traffic and smell of cars.

The fish tank in the restaurant was nothing great!! I was disappointed. The whole lobby just felt ickly. The beach across the road was filled with homeless during the night and even the day, where the matresses and carts were still in place. There was no place to sit in the shade and there was strong police presence. The beach itself was a letdown. Maybe it was just that area of Wakiki.

Glad we stayed just one night. But got a good nith sleep.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better to not hear construction noise and city noise. We were not on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It all starts with the check in. The line to check was at least 20 min due to the "Island time" style staff. Nothing in this hotel is efficient. First off the elevator you will sense the pungent aroma similar to a leaky 1800s abandoned home. Step into the room, although a great view, please notice a different but similar moldy smell. The shower drain plug had to be removed and placed on the black mold edge for keeping to keep the water from getting high enough to reach your ankles. We ventured down to eat at the cafe which was closed due to a new AC unit being installed. No problem, as a sign stated we could eat in the Oceanarium Restaurant. We were excited for a brief moment only to have the rude staff, that we obviously interupted, point at a table that had tightly wrapped 7/11 style sandwiches. There were no drinks and we could not sit in the restaurant because they were closed. When you book, please note there will be more fees at check in. Checking out, if you want the receipt, you have to stand in the long check in line. Needless to say, we left and moved on to a better place, relax, and not get sick from all the mold.

Room Tip: The view was great. But that's it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Scottstravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Y, Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Pacific Beach Hotel. We take all our guest feedback very seriously and have shared your comments with the team at the hotel. Your feedback provides information that is valuable and assists us in our improvement. We strive for total and copmplete guest satisfaction and apologise that you experience was less than perfect.
We are very excited for what the future holds for the Pacific Beach Hotel we are consistently enhancing the guest service and are in the planning stages of a multi million dollar complete property renovation.
If your future plans bring you to the Waikiki area we would ask you to give us another opportnity to provide memorable caring attentive guest service.

Mahalo,
Charles Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, OK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but we had the seafood buffet at the Oceanarium Restaurant. Reservations are highly recommended (may be required--not sure as our daughter had taken care of the arrangements prior to our arrival to Oahu). The featured dish on the buffet was Alaskan King Crab. At $49 per person, you can bet there was a LOT of crab put away at our table! I am not a big seafood person but there was plenty of other non-seafood items to choose from such as prime rib, made-to-order pasta bar, salads galore, breads of various kinds, and several desserts (including a soft-serve 'ice cream' machine and a chocolate fountain). The best part of the experience is the beautiful "oceanarium"--a HUGE semi-circular water feature that has numerous types of salt-water fish. Our daughter had requested a table next to the oceanarium so we could enjoy the fish swimming right next to our table. For an extra fee, you can have a "Happy Birthday" or "Happy Anniversary" sign made and a SCUBA diver dives down and waves it around for all to see and for photo-taking opportunities. The SCUBA diver also feeds the inhabitants (not sure if that is on a specific schedule or not or we just got lucky!) which creates quite a stir in the tank to get to the food. She fed the "little fish" some what appeared to be leaf-lettuce by attaching it to a clip on the bottom edge of the glass so the fish would have an eating frenzy right next to our table while the larger fish ate something else she fed them from above. The wait staff did an ok job--nothing exceptional but not bad either. The restrooms were a little musty smelling and the carpet had seen better days. Otherwise, the experience was great. It was just a block away from Waikiki Beach so after dinner we walked over to it to experience a beautiful sunset, walking in the water and sand.

Room Tip: Don't go by the photos online for hotel rooms but the photo of the Oceanarium is pretty accurate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Y, Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am pleased that you had a good experience at the Oceanarium Restaurant. It is spectacular and many people love to dine with us.
I appreicate you taking the time to tell us about your complete dining experience and I have shared you comments with the Food and Beverage team. Your comments help us to continue our growth and improvement in our service delivery and the ambience of the restaurant.
We look forward to your continued patronage in the future and once again appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your dining experience.
Mahalo
Charles Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERTA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you have no other choice and have to book here, try not to get stuck with a room over the 24-hr fitness centre (at least two fitness sessions a day were broadcast over the loudspeaker and reverberated up into the rooms of this hotel). And if you have concerns about your stay, be sure they are dealt with ASAP, as they don't take customer service seriously here.

I've been to Honolulu four times in the last two years and this was by far the worst hotel I've stayed at. I booked on-line and paid for an oceanfront room ... there are 17 floors of ocean front rooms and when I checked in (at 3:00pm), I was given a room on the 6th floor. A 6th floor oceanfront room at this hotel also means obstructed view and hey, look at all the peeling paint on the rooftop and pigeon poop. I had asked, four different times, to move to a new room. I was told to pack my luggage and they would move my things to a better room while I was out during the day, BUT IT NEVER HAPPENED! I even wasted time in line at the front desk, waiting for keys to this "imaginary" new room I was told I'd be moved to. I'd finally gotten frustrated with the poor service (each time I spoke with someone, I was told a different story) and asked for the manager to call me ... well, I spent two more days in this hotel and NEVER heard from them. Horrible hotel (service, staff, decore, rooms). And the comments you've read about the dated decor are very true ... the clock radio in the room was from the 1980s, so be sure to bring your chargers :(

The location is good but that's the only plus about this place.
I would recommend the Aston Waikiki Beach, Modern Honolulu and Sheraton Princess over the P/B/H.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheri-Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Y, Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. I sincerely apologize for our lack of caring attentive guest service and for the lack of follow through during your most recent stay at the Pacific Beach Hotel.
Your comments have been shared with all the managers at the hotel and this will serve as a great learning experience and tool for us to improve and be better.
We do realize our hotel is older and we will be investing a lot of money into improvements in the next few years.
Our guest service is an ongoing and daily training exercise and we are always striving to improve and be better.
Thank you once again for your comments and we hope that you will try the hotel again when you return to the Waikiki area and experience true caring attentive service in action.

Kind regards,

Charles Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,440 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
289 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Property: Pacific Beach Hotel
Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing