We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel in Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed over spring break (end of March) for a week. We had a partial ocean view room. It was clean, spacious, and ready when we arrived. The only thing that seemed wrong is that the remote to the TV didn't work...but we didn't care since we were there for the beach and not the TV!! The staff was friendly and helpful. Like many of the hotels in the Waikiki area, there are several stores including an ABC store on the first floor of the hotel. The ABC store closed after midnight which made it very convenient since everything seemed to close before midnight.

One thing I must complaint about this hotel is that there is a parking garage for their guests....but it costs $25 per night to park there!!! This is a lot of money to pay for guest parking!!! We had to drive around close to 30 minutes a day to just find parking. Free roadside parking is very very very hard to find in the area and the nearest street parking is about 2.5 blocks away!! There is another hotel (I believe its called the Waikiki Banyan) located 2 blocks away that has a parking garage for both their guests and public, 24 hour parking for $12!!!

Another thing not to expect from this hotel is free breakfast. There is a breakfast buffet available for $23 per person. Skip that and head over to Eggs 'n Things about 100 yards West on the strip for some really really good breakfast for half the price. Or hit up the crepes store at the beach side entrance of the hotel for some bomb crepes.

They have a giant aquarium which is cool, in the dinning area. There is a Mermaid dinner which shows nightly at 9pm for $50 per person which includes the dinner buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mongoshrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,414)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,844 - 1,850 of 3,414 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good service and good value for your money. It is an older hotel and definitely not luxury accommodations. The pool is small, parking and resort fee (for beach towels, wi-fi, bottled water, local calls) add $45 to the cost, and the lower floors can hear street noise. However, the location is great, across the street from the beach and at the end of Waikiki, but still a part of the main area. I thought the beds were okay, but the coverings, which consisted of a thin blanket between two sheets made it seem "cheap." I was okay with it because I've always disliked having bedspreads that are not changed between guests. I also like the complimentary toothbrushes as that is something someone in our family always seems to forget to pack.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CM808CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We got an ocean view room - worth it as we had a lovely view of the Waikiki strip, as well as beautiful sunsets. The hotel is conveniently located, all the Waikiki attractions and shopping are within a 15 minute walk, tops. A big plus here is access - you can self-park, and there is plenty of parking at all hours, not like some of the other mid to budget hotels here. Parking is $25 a day but that's a going price. Best feature, you walk out the front door onto Kalakaua and the beach!

The Room: The room is a little dated (no fan in the bathroom, average fittings/furniture), but there is a bar sink/counter, microwave and small fridge, and a balcony with 2 chairs and a table that make up for it. Beds are comfortable, 3 good pillows each, adequate linens. Normal towel/toiletries offerings.

The Hotel: Very nice and friendly staff, always welcoming and asking if we needed anything. This was contagious as all the guests we shared elevators with were equally friendly!

There is a very nice lanai/coffee bar area with good pastries and coffee that faces the side street. At night there is karaoke/drinks, and nicest part, you can hang out with kids/family and not buy anything, it is an open patio seating arrangement.

The only negative was the lobby area during the afternoon/evening hours that the restaurant is open - there is a very strong and pervasive odor of seafood and garlic in the entire lobby, as the restaurant is open to the lobby area. It's not offensive but you'd better not be offended by fish/garlic smells!

Based on the view, convenience and friendly staff, we would definitely come back in the future.

Room Tip: The ocean view room was lovely, but you will get noise from the street level until late evening.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leotheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel is very nice (not as old as we expected)
The partial beach view (which is with no addition to the price) is reasonable
The pool is very very small and shaded most of the day but the beaches are right across the road..
U should add 20$ extra to the room price for bla bla bla (WI Fi, towels etc...) and 25$ for parking.
Location is wonderful- the best! Right on the main street where all the action is and the beaches across the street
Big disappointment was the Gim which is very nice but in addition payment of 12$ (per use) to hotel residents :-(

Room Tip: Partial sea view is enough- no need to add 50$ to sea view (unless it is free :-))
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ilevi0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We chose Pac Beach because we got a good deal on Book It. We paid for partial Ocean View for a free upgrade to Ocean View, and when we got to the hotel we found out they had further upgraded us to Ocean Front, which was amazing. It was a great view of the ocean and a relaxing little balcony to sit in the late day sun. The room itself is pretty spacious, but it has some weird quirks, like why is the bathroom tiny but there's all this room on the other side of the bathroom for a vanity area? Why not take that out and make the bathroom bigger?? Also, I thought we had booked a king bed but ended up with two full size beds, but that wasn't a big deal to us. It's also across the street from the beach, not right on the beach, but we were fine with that too. It was very very close, and the beach area was very nice.
The day we checked in, there was a very long line to check in, and some lady complained she had been standing in line for 45 minutes. I don't know if I buy that... we waited maybe 20 minutes. But every time we walked by the front desk, I saw that there was a line there. I don't know if that's just a staffing issue (could they hire more people?) or what, but when we did deal with staff, they were very friendly.
One more thing: this hotel is apparently popular with large groups. We didn't have any problems, but heard some people complaining about loud groups of teenagers on their floors. Perhaps the upgrade to Ocean Front is the reason we avoided that mess?
TIP re the Oceanarium restaurant in the hotel: very expensive (45 bucks for a buffet dinner!!) and not that great. The main attraction here is the Aquarium (which was very cool, especially to my 7 year old cousin) and the crab legs. My family member who loves crab legs got his money worth of food... not sure that I did. I'm glad we went because my cousin LOVED it, but I wouldn't go back. My advice: go there just to check it out, maybe grab a drink at the bar and call it good.

Room Tip: Ocean Front has amazing views, but no sound of the ocean waves, just street traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Aloha Tess K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you were upgraded to one of our oceanfront rooms and you were able to enjoy the beautiful views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach from your balcony. We are so happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our very popular centralized location, which offers an array of shopping and dining options. The Aquarium in our Oceanarium Restaurant is one of a kind and enjoyed by all ages. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Mahalo nui loa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We arrived one day early due to our miscalculation of the international date line on our flight from the Southeast Asia. That caused some confusion at the reception but it was quickly resolved.
The hotel is located in one of the best (if not the best) location in Waikiki Beach. Rooms are spacious and well equiped. The staff was pleasant, smiling and helpful.The Oceanarium restaurant in the hotel is known in Waikiki area for its excellent buffet. It is hard to believe some of the negative remarks of other travellers as I could not find a negative even if I'll try very hard.( If I have a problem in the room I request that the room be changed.) I will definitely recommend the hotel and we wish we can return here in the near future. Oahu Island is beautiful and offers everything you ever dreamed of before coming to Hawaii..

Room Tip: As usually, the higher, the better
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richardg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLukela, Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Aloha for your gracious responses. We pride ourselves on hearing such reviews and strive to stand out from our competitors. Mahalo Nui Loa for choosing Pacific Beach Hotel for your vacation destination. Look forward to your future return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked in September and requested a King size bed, we got twin beds, it would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor.
The staff are rude, surly and few appear to be able to speak English.
In the first 12 hours we had the bed lights repaired, the standard lamp replaced and a very noisy fridge replaced, result the lights worked and the fridge was quiet -that was because the replacement didn't work at all.
On the second day my wife attempted to iron a blouse , the ironing board was broken.
Eventually we contacted the duty manager and he changed our room, in reality the new room was no better.
The smell of garlic from the restuarant was so strong we could smell it outside our room on the 35th floor.
Unless you are japanese this is not a suitable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 787johnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,526 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $188 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing