We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 day stay at Pacific Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago in the newer tower and it was much cleaner. Our room, 803, was a bit dingy. The staff is great, but the hotel dated. Also the smell of the restaurant buffet permeated up through the 3rd floor which made walking to the parking lot unpleasant. The Hotel is in a great location though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the mauka side, the taller, newer tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpoutingHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 3,521 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Straight across from Waikiki Beach and easy walking distance from everything in Waikiki + on bus routes. Room clean and comfortable & great value. Beach towels provided. Breakfast buffet in the Oceanarium was excellent. Service friendly. A number of tour desks located within hotel so made it easy to book everything on site. We stayed 4 nights prior to island hopping & then returned for 1 night at end of our stay & got to experience both towers. Go for the front beachside tower. Pool was chilly as in afternoon shade but the spa was great. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for room in the front beachside tower - partial or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmkmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was delighted that my first trip to Hawaii found me in this very well located hotel. We had a room overlooking Waikiki Beach which was great. The room was comfortable, very clean and best of all, quiet, despite the hotel's location in the centre of things. The access to restaurants, bus routes, the beach, walking, nightlife, pick-up points for tours and shopping couldn't be better. I would have liked a convenient ATM in the hotel as well as Wifi, but there was access to these in nearby hotels, so it wasn't a big deal. The staff were also great.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a beach view. The sunsets are spectacular, and for people watching, it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Aloha Carmel,

Thank you for taking the time to to give us your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable room and you found our location to be perfect. Close to shops, transportation, dining and Waikiki Beach. Our property offers fantastic views of Diamond Head, the beach and Waikiki Strip. Our staff is great and our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and hospitable experience. We hope you had a lovely first time to Hawaii vacation and appreciate your review.

Mahalo nui loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we booked an ocean front room to celebrate our anniversary. The room was clean and everyone at the hotel was very friendly. Beach towels are provided, which was nice. Although the pool was on the cool side, the hot tub was wonderful. The hotel is across the road from the beach, which is convenient, however you don't have the "feel" of an ocean front room until around 1:00 a.m. when the traffic slows down and you can then hear the ocean. The street is pretty busy and you can hear the traffic, even on the 10th floor. the location is excellent. It is within walking distance of other restaurants and shopping. And tour groups picked us up at our hotel.

If you like a large breakfast, it is best to book the breakfast with the room and take advantage of the discount. It has a variety of American and Japenese foods and fresh fruit. The orange juice seemed watered down. They charge a little over $20 for it normally but its discounted when booking a room with it. Although there is a McDonalds accross the street and an Egg restaurant a short walk away.

There is a restaurant outside of the hotel that cooks on a wood fire grill. The large lobster tail was excellent.

There was some negative reviews on this site, but we had a wonderful stay. We were in room 1025.

Room Tip: The higher the better to cut down on street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirmanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Aloha BirmanGirl,

Welcome to the islands! We are pleased to hear that you chose us to celebrate your anniversary and that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is great! Close to restaurants, shops, the Waikiki Strip and right across from our beautiful Waikiki Beach. We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our gorgeous view of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach from your oceanfront room. Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and friendly staff. Our team strives to meet our guest expectations and makes sure they have a memorable experience during their stay. Thank you again for your feedback and hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Mahalo nui loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Pacific Beach in October for the 3rd time, the first being 20 years ago.It is not the most modern hotel in Hawaii, but it is clean, the food is lovely and the staff could not be better. We requested an Oceanfront room, and the view was magnificent.The hotel location is SO convenient and a lot less expensive than the more upmarket hotels.We will not hesitate to stay there again and I often recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: I would suggest that if possible , book an oceanfront room. It is a bit noisy but really worth the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Aloha Tonilab,

We appreciate your continued business and your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you found our location to be perfect and your room clean. Our Oceanfront room panoramic view is really magnificent. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our Oceanarium restaurant and our friendly staff. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Mahalo nui loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was really friendly from the restaurant to front desk. The room was quiet and mostly clean. The room was quite big with a nice partial ocean view. The bathroom was very small but it worked. We did the breakfast buffet on the first day. The waiter gave us a 30% off coupon (yay!). There was a lot of variety and a huge selection of yummy Japanese breakfast food. The aquarium in the restaurant was very cool. Being right across the road from the beach was really nice too. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennaMarie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Yes, the rooms are dated, but ours was clean, and pretty comfortable. We were booked into a room with two double beds, which are too small, so we were very graciously moved to a room with one king (on the 25th floor) with great views of pool, beach and area. We never used the pool. just went across the street to the ocean.
The restaurants on site were outrageously expensive, but there are so many in walking distance it wasn't a problem.
The hotel staff were very polite and accommodating; although they were stingy with the coffee packets in the room. When I asked for extras, housekeeping told me we were only supposed to get one packet each of decaf and regular, but as we like our coffee strong, and a couple cups in the morning, I wanted 4 regular packets each day. It was a challenge, but we did get them.

Room Tip: get up high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbygrayce, Public Relations Manager at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Aloha Kslinger,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to give us feed-back - it only helps us get better. I will pass your comments on to our executive team along with the department heads. You are so right we have a great beach location and close to everything. I am sorry you found the restaurant too expensive - not a comment we get often and I will pass on to our restaurant manager. The buffet is award winning and loved by locals and guests alike and has so much variety - something for everyone showcased by our Oceanarium - we truly offer a one-of-kind dining experience. Our team is looking into the in-room coffee issue and I have passed your comments along. Again, thank you so much for the feedback - and we hope you will come and visit us again in the near future. If I can be of any assistance at all please let me know - I can be reached at 808-441-4857 or graycem@hthcorp.com A hui Hou....Grayce McCullough Corporate Director of Public Relations and Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,212 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,635 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286 (Formerly Pacific Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $256 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised to open as the hottest new resort in Hawaii in fall 2017, ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach will be a modern and tranquil oasis in the heart of Waikiki that pays homage to Queen Lili‛uokalani's long-lasting heritage. Alohilani will welcome all guests into an unforgettable setting which blends Hawaii’s cultural heritage with an elegant contemporary style that’s uniquely... Aloha Chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing