We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel right on Waikiki Beach”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for just two nights on our way from San Francisco to Maui. Main reason for staying was to go to the Pearl Harbour exhibition - well worth a visit. The hotel is very typical of a Sheraton- feels almost like an airport lobby - so large, marble floors, lots of shops, but the staff were very helpful and the room (which we had on the top floor (31st floor!) overlooking the beach was very well equipped with views to die for. Only quibble was no mirror unless you were in the bathroom or using the mirror on the back of the bathroom door. Plenty of choice of restaurants and bars and the location was perfect- could walk right into downtown Honolulu without needing a car (just as well as traffic was an issue). Beautiful infinity pool overlooking the beach - what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: If you don't like heights don't go for the top floor - 31st floor balcony was a bit of a cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CeliaCM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Thank you for sharing your wonderful pictures. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 6,077 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Good: Best location, lovely gardens, amazing views, beautiful swimming pools, very comfortable bed,some very helpful staff (particularly Chandra and Kenzi who arranged for us to move rooms, housekeeping, and Jerum in the gift shop). Sitting in the rocking chair watching the koi and looking over the beautiful gardens of the Royal Hawaiian. Watching the turtles feeding right outside the hotel. Sitting on our balcony enjoying the amazing view.

The Bad:
We had to move from our first room because of the noise from the Rum Fire night club. In that room, even with the door closed and the TV on, it was still loud. Our next room on the Diamond Head side was better but we could not sit on our balcony in the evenings and had to keep our door closed to fall asleep. It continued until after 12:30 am on Friday and Saturday night and until about 11pm on Wednesday and Thursday.
Despite the hotel being non smoking, we had to keep our door closed to keep the constant cigarette smoke out.
The infinity (adults only) pool was closed one afternoon for a private function. The family pool was absolutely packed that day as the ocean was quite rough.
Little things like only Earl Grey and herbal tea in the room, we asked if we could have black tea instead but this was not available (at a room rate of over $500 a night); Asked at the front desk where the post office was and were told they did not know and could not even suggest anywhere that might sell stamps; The welcome cocktail was served in a plastic cup without even a garnish. One paper cup each provided in the room for coffee - they could not be reused so too bad if we felt like wanted a second cup.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but it could have been a much better experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have shared your feedback with our management team so they can address your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday and delivering the experience you expect. Thank you and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is basically part of a big mall with an all night party going on at its restaurant. It's incredibly loud and hectic and if that's what you want, great. We were initially thrilled to be upgraded to ocean view rooms with a fabulous view of Diamondhead until we realized that this meant we would be serenaded by novice bands, or worse, bad karaoke. If you have kids make sure to ask for quieter rooms.

We definitely wouldn't return to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank travelmp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your recent review of our resort. We appreciate your valuable feedback and have shared your concerns with our management team. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband was on a business trip and happened to tag along since it was Hawaii, hehe. I love this hotel and it's location. Even though we had a partial ocean view it was enough to hang out on the lanai and enjoy the view. The staff was extremely informative and helped us get shuttle ordered and answered all our questions. The views of Diamond Head and the ocean with the sea turtle bobbing their heads up is priceless!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marzipan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your fantastic review of our resort. We are thrilled you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki for four nights as part of our honeymoon. It is right in the middle of Waikiki and so close to most of the sights and restaurants we wanted to go to. I was really happy with the location and the hotel in general. It was amazing to be able to step straight onto Waikiki beach and have a view of the sea and Diamond Head from our room.

We booked an Ocean Front View room and were upgraded at check in to the SPG preferred floor and given a bag to take to the gift shop and fill with whatever we liked. We were above the infinity pool, but weren't at all disturbed at any time of the day. The room was simply and contemporary decorated and well maintained. It was also very spacious, with a king size bed, plenty of storage and a decent sized bathroom with great shower. The facilities also included an iron and ironing board, a flat screen TV, a hairdryer, quality toiletries and daily bottled water.

The staff really made us feel special and especially the housekeeping staff. We ate at The Edge of Waikiki, the Kai Market and Peets and had drinks at The Edge of Waikiki and the Rumfire Bar. All were great and it was really great to be able to grab a quick muffin or pastry from Pete's when we didn't have time for a sit down breakfast. We also had spa treatments at Spa Khara, which were some of the best we have ever had.

In addition to the bars and restaurants the hotel also includes a number of shops, an onsite photographer, a koi pond, 2 swimming pools, including the adults only and fantastic infinity pool computers and pool tables. I loved the infinity pool, but it was a shame that the hours of sun were limited due to it's positioning.

I'm so pleased that we chose this hotel for our special occasion and I can't understand how it ever gets a bad review.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your amazing review of our resort. Congratulations on your recent nuptials and we are delighted you chose to celebrate with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your honeymoon stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel is beautiful! We loved the infinity pool. I'm not a fan of the beach, so overlooking the beach from the pool is perfect for me. Really thankful that children have their own pool and the infinity pool is adults only. We were able to just relax and not worry about children splashing or running around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yewilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice relaxing time in our infinity pool. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. Mahalo and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I just came back from a trip to Waikiki and truly enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton. I was there on business and had a special rate. My wife joined me and we also spent the weekend there to celebrate my bday. I could only get a Partial Ocean View but the check-in person was nice enough to put us on the 26th floor which gave us a better view of the ocean even if partial. The rooms are spacious and modern, the hotel seems very up to date. They provide a free IPad in your room. The Kona coffee is delicious, try to make some with the machine in your room. The balconies are nice with 2 chairs. Note that the area is always loud, traffic never seems to stop, so high floor definitely helped. But what I liked the most about this hotel is its location. Right off the beach with postcard-like views at every corner. Enjoy drinks at Rum fire (better food than Edge) or the infinity pool and admire Diamond Head at the end of the famous Waikiki beach.
We used the Sheraton services to book a day trip to Hanauma Bay and everything went well, and was well organized (Random note: it seemed like we were the only non Japanese persons in the group, and all documents, music, etc were in Japanese). Same for the airport shuttle, on time and cheaper than a cab.
The staff was very nice but that seemed to be the case everywhere in this area of paradise.
The Links area was very convenient for printing documents like boarding passes.
If I had to point out some areas for improvement: Once again being SPG Gold is worth nothing, no upgrade available, even though it also happened to be my birthday and I had contacted them months in advance to see if I could get an ocean view (But they gave me a nice complimentary bag to fill at the gift shop for that), the hotel is not cheap (Sales tax only 4% but they have a bunch of other taxes for hotels that are high). The TV in the room could really be bigger (but hey you are supposed to be outside) and the internet was very spotty, going on and off often.

Room Tip: Ocean Views are best, if not at least get a high floor as the city is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. As a valued Gold member we truly appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Mahalo and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $330 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing