We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Sheraton Standard”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to Sheraton Standard”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We arrived in Honolulu late at night after a ten hour flight. We had pre booked and paid for airport transfer with RobertsHawaii as recommended on the Sheraton site. We waited a full hour before a representative appeared but he was unable to get a shuttle...this amidst pouring rain. The shuttle never appeared so after another one half hour we took a taxi to the hotel.
The Sheraton people (five) who are there to deal with luggage at the front of the hotel refused to get a cart and wanted us to leave valuable bags 30 feet away midst huge stream of guests with absolutely no security and stating that a Bellman would come. After 25 minutes still no Bellman and no cart and no security midst the mass of people and no one to help us with our bags to the check in area. Another hotel guest returning to the hotel helped my husband when no one else would.
At the main desk we were assigned a room and took our luggage with us up to the room but when we got there the bed had been slept in, there were dirty towels everywhere..the room had not been cleaned so now at one a.m. We went back to the main desk where we were reassigned to a room that can only be described as "very tired" as far as decor is concerned!
We were also charged a "resort fee" of thirty one dollars per day that we were totally unaware of. This is not a four star hotel. It. Is not up to the Sheraton standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mudge44in613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your arrival and have shared your comments with our management team so they can address your concerns with our valet, bell, housekeeping, and front desk teams. We are following up with Roberts to find out what happened and ensure this never happens again. We would appreciate connecting with you directly so we can properly follow up with you. Mahalo and a hui hou. 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    2,234
    847
    317
    252
See reviews for
2,041
2,077
162
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Walking into our ocean view room with a king size bed was a completed disappointment! There are no dressers, our night stand was a small fridge and the desk was on the other side. Door hinges were painted with rust coming through. A hidden charge of $31 per person per night was added - This covered your towels for the pool, water in your room and wi-fi. Really?? Happy hour was from 10am till noon. Where Mai Tai's a
bloody Mary's and beer were 1/2 price. $7 after that $14!!! The morning buffet for adults $26 per person and night $54 children $25! Every person we talked to that was staying at the hotel - US, Canadian, British and Austrailian - stated the same - Never Again. One couple from California compared the Sheraton to a Best Western - we compared it to a Motel 6. I will say the rooms were clean.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your recent feedback. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. With regard to our resort fee we are committed to making sure guests are aware of the fee (charged per room not per person) and the inclusions (wifi, parking, bottled water, activities, etc.) on our website as well as all third party booking agents, so your comment is very concerning to us. We would appreciate you contacting us at your earliest convenience to let us know how you booked so we can get this corrected immediately. We sincerely value your comments and look forward to connecting with you soon. Mahalo and a hui hou. 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sehraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The Sheraton Waikiki is fantastic. It is perfect for all types of people. It is in a perfect location right in the heart of the city with easy access to the Main Street of shops on its doorsteps and the private beach on the other side with deck chairs and activities. I stayed in an oceanfront room which had a fantastic view from the balcony. The room itself was very big and spacious. The interior of the hotel and the rooms are very modern. Downstairs in the lobby area is the best club in Honolulu called rumfire. Don't be disheartened that the club is in the hotel as u can not hear the music or people from your room. The great thing is that if u stay at this hotel u can have free entry to rumfire otherwise it is normally $5. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanduckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your great review of our resort. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great feedback. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
259 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I came with high expectations, and am very happy we chose this property. It is beachfront in Waikiki in the heart of all the shopping and people watching you could want. The Rum Fire bar has an outdoor area that has spectacular views. If you stay on the club level on the 30th floor, you can have continental breakfast and great happy hour included with your room price with awe inspiring views. We have ocean view on the 29th floor (2955) and it is a city and ocean view. The Diamond Head view is a better view, but there were none available for our length of stay. I would recommend a high floor on the Diamond Head side, but reserve early and be prepared to pay for the view. The staff here are very friendly and they make you feel welcome. We arrived on a Saturday night and the place was jumping at 10pm! There was a line to get into the Rum Fire bar. A couple different pools, but get down there early to get your choice of lounge chairs. Some have mentioned the resort fee which was about $32 a night, and includes WIFI, self parking, a large bottle of water daily, and some other amenities. Se be aware that fee is on top of the room & tax. Our room is a bit outdated and not quite what I expected of a Sheraton. The public spaces have all been updated and are beautiful. But our room seems a bit worn with old track lighting (some partially removed) and acoustic ceiling tiles that I am surprised still exist. Our room has connecting doors on both sides, so be aware that you can hear your neighbors at quiet times. Over all, I would stay here again but would book on the Diamond Head side - and would possibly pay the upgrade for the Club floor. Had our room been updated, I would have given the hotel five stars.

Room Tip: Pay for the Diamond Head side of the hotel on a high floor. Rooms with ocean view mean that you als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_from_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We truly appreciate your detailed feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared all of your comments with our management team and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was here for a class and the staff is wonderful. We worked with the meeting and catering people mostly. Elaine (marketing) and Jeff (catering) are both outstanding. The room worked out great for us (Wai'anae), and the view out to the ocean over the infinity pool is breathtaking. I enjoyed Peet's for breakfast before out class started in the morning, and also had the Dole Pineapple whip one day at lunch. After our class ended on Thursday, I even joined the free ukelele lesson! Very fun. I would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your first stay with us and appreciate your great feedback about working with Elaine and Jeff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Hawaii. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Ok when booking the hotel. I was very interested to spend a few days around the infinity pool. Turns out when you get there this pool is only open for guests over 18. Not that family friendly. This is not mentioned anywhere on the website.I would not of paid to go in a hotel on the beach front if I had of known this. (frustrating). Breakfast buffet was average and server was very rude on one of the days. Room smelt of smoke even though we asked for a non smoking room. Bags didn't get brought up to the room until we asked for a second time. They forgot to put the baby cot in our room on checkin. Vending machine on our floor was broken for the full 5 days. Asked the concierge about a hire car and they didn't want to help us as the on site Avis was sold out. Room was old and not that clean in the corners. I guess there were no major disasters but the sum of all the small things left me thinking I would most likely choose another hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesPatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We would appreciate connecting with you directly so we can properly follow up with you. We would also like to know which website you are referring to in regards to our age policy at our infinity pool because we could not find an area which does not list our infinity pool is reserved for our adult guests 16 years of age and older. Mahalo nui loa and a hui hou. 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

this hotel is huge and has everything you need for a beach holiday - the only challenges we found were around the bar/nightclub noise until after 1am - we moved to a higher floor and that helped. The executive lounge on 30th floor is probably worth the $100 per room fee as breakfast is quite expensive. The attached beach sports office who sail the catarmaran Mai Tai is worth checking out - they do 2 hours sails and were very proffesional. The lobby is pretty busy but you can take side doors and find yourself in the middle of the action of Waikiki - everything is at your fingertips. if you get a good rate I'd suggest you book it and ask for guaranteed high floor.

Room Tip: The partial ocean view rooms are much bigger than ocean view. Insist on high floor if you do get oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedheadwlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed our club lounge, location, and overall experience. We apologize for the noise issues you experienced and have shared your comments with the management team. Thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing