We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool bar service sucks”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pool bar service sucks”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Service was very slow. Our cocktails were literally virgin drinks. We told our server we didn't like them and we felt we got cheated on alcohol, she said well the alcohol is all portioned out. We ended up getting beers instead. It took a really long time for her to return with them. When the beers came, they were completely flat. Probably won't come back to this bar.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tacori121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback. We appreciate your coments and have shared them with the management team. A hui hou,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    2,235
    847
    317
    252
See reviews for
2,042
2,077
162
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here one night to treat myself while visiting home and I am so glad I chose this hotel. The entire grounds of the hotel are awesome. The is only described as post card perfection. The infinity pool, same description. This whole hotel experience, check in, room, pool, views, atmosphere make it worth your while. I spent about 6 hours in the infinity pool alone because it was just so perfect. This is the only hotel I would recommend to friends and family staying in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Diamond Head view at least 20 floors up or higher for that picture perfect postcard view. Trust me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirc808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your wonderful review of our resort and for sharing your great pictures. We are thrilled you enjoyed your brief stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

While not exclusive to Starwood, I am a big fan and a happy SPG. I am finishing a mileage run and made my initial visit (1 night) to HI. The reviews on Trip Advisor proved to be invaluable, per usual. I also reviewed other perspectives and chose this facility based on
1) proximity to the airport
2) being beachfront
3) always being satisfied with Starwood properties (I have never been unpleasantly surprised)

In summary, the people (staff) at the hotel, the shuttle service, the affiliated retail (including restaurants) are TOP NOTCH! Also, staying on east coast time, I had no problem viewing the sunrise which is spectacular from The Sheraton's private beach.

This hotel is a must if you plan to visit Waikiki. Keep in mind, it is my first visit to HI.

Kudos!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Happy_to_Contribute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your quick trip and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great as it caters for people of all ages. Families with young children can sit by a fantastic pool fitted with a slide & spas. Parents can watch their young children & sun bake on the chairs that overlook the pool and beautiful view surrounded by palm trees.

Anyone over 16 can chill out by the infinity pool where you can watch the turtles occasionally come up for a breath of fresh air. The infinity pool is a fabulous location for photos as Diamond Head and the famous Waikiki beach make up the background.

From Monday to Saturday at 9:30am I strongly recommend you go and join in on the free yoga held in the infinity pool. It's a great way to wake up and feel good before you devour the delicious food served by wonderful waitresses at The Edge.

The rooms are very spacious (although a little dated).


Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpatroulias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We've come back to the Sheraton Waikiki for the last several years ~ mainly because of the gorgeous poolside setting. It's the best pool on Waikiki beach and the infinity edge pool overlooks the ocean. To top it off, the poolside service is GREAT! Brett Greenberg took care of us and truly seemed to "care"...checking in with us a time or two during the day to see if we needed anything. Such a nice guy and he gives the already fabulous setting that extra touch of class. For us, it's a pampering experience...and what more could you ask for on vacation?!

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are always delighted to receive such great comments from our returning guests. We truly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Dayna took great care of us at check in and treated us to a spectacular room on our anniversary. The location is unreal. The pool is amazing. There are always pool chairs as long as you don't get up at noon. So much to see and do within 100 yrds. of the front door I can't mention it all. Very comfortable room, with AMAZING views. There may be more luxurious room to be had elsewhere, but the entire body of work that this hotel is... CAN'T BE BEAT!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napatodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your anniversary stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Although rated as one of few five star hotels in Waikiki, this place falls short of that rating. It is a very large high rise structure on Waikiki beach, but there is actually no beach in front of the hotel, just a sea wall. There is a very nice beach adjacent to the hotel, in front of the Royal Hawaiian Hotel, just a short walk along the sea wall. Our club level room had a gorgeous view, but was small and in need of some redecorating. The club level lounge was large but the food offerings were unimpressive. The staff was friendly but the hotel is so large it would be difficult to provide service one would describe as personal. The main lobby is in a shopping arcade that is always bustling with people, giving one the impression more of an airport or train station than a luxury hotel. If I return to Waikiki, I'll look elsewhere for five star qualities in a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north towards Diamond Head have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment. While our resort is large we are always looking for ways to make personal connections with our guests and provide the level of service you expect. Thank you again and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing