We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and views, rooms a little dated and very busy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location and views, rooms a little dated and very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you're looking for a romantic getaway, then perhaps Waikiki is not for you. I stayed 4 nights over a weekend on SPG points and was lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite on the 26th floor (using my suite upgrade coupons). The view from both balconies was fantastic, we could see the turtles feeding all the way down in the bay, and the suite was massive, with an Asian style chaise thing to lounge around on, in the sitting area. The décor is nice, but rooms themselves are a little dated. I liked that the wardrobe space is in the bathroom - after all, you get changed right after you shower, right? Bathroom had two sinks which was a plus. We could still hear pool noise 26 levels up. But as we were at the end of the corridor, we didn't hear any internal noise. Beds were pretty comfy.

Service - service at front desk and check out was great. We had a really helpful handyman guy come and fix up our suitcase when we arrived and he was very quick and thorough. Unfortunately he left really quickly and I didn't grab his name :(.

We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurants. We tried to use the infinity pool a few times, but it was normally super crowded with lots of people 'reserving' the loungers with towels but never coming back, and the staff didn't really do much about this. So you had to be early. The one thing that was annoying were the non hotel guests using the pool. The pool staff don't make any effort to police this, and I often saw people walking off the public beachwalk and use the pool, and they clearly had non-hotel towels. The beanbags are fun but to be honest - maybe it was just busy season and the weekend - the pool seemed to bring out the worst in people. Lots of queue pushers trying to grab beanbags and pool chairs and then the people who thought it would be fun to play catch with a hackysack in a crowded pool ... some better pool management would be nice. It was a nice pool. Not really swimmable as not deep enough and too crowded, BUT was fun watching the world go by.

This hotel is massive, the lift area (there are 8 lifts?) feels a bit like grand central station. We saw someone getting married at least once a day when we were there, seems to be very popular with the tourist buses.

The Gift-bag idea is fun (not sure if this is a Gold member only thing). There is mostly food and candy and drinks there but there are things like candles and mugs.

We didn't have a car so can't comment on the valet or garage.

The location of this hotel is central to Waikiki which is great. Right on the beach. Right in the heart of the shops and restaurants. Close to the bus stop if you don't have a car.

I would stay here again if the price was right, I don't think you can get away from the crowds in Waikiki.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welly_China_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We are working with our pool and security team to address your concerns regarding non-guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your nest Hawaiian holiday. Mahalo and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,176
    2,175
    823
    307
    247
See reviews for
1,975
2,010
160
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Sheraton Waikiki was a lovely hotel right on Waikiki Beach. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very welcoming. Check in was unusually and inexplicably long but otherwise, a pleasant place to stay. Very convenient to Honolulu sights like Diamond Head and Pearl Harbor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank butterandjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and apologize for the delay during check-in. We are currently working on a solution for the busier times. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A friend stayed at this hotel a year ago for one of our high school reunions. We were at a different hotel at the end of the strip. They invited us to come to the Sheraton pool one day and after floating on one of their many bright orange bean bag chairs for a few minutes I thought..."Why didn't we stay here?" It was so much fun. So this year when we went back to Waikiki I booked this hotel. No regrets, worth every dollar. The Sheraton has an infinity pool overlooking the ocean, so when you're in the pool you feel like you're also in the ocean. Plus, from the pool the view of Diamond Head Crater is awesome! From this location you can walk along the beach to eat at Dukes Restaurant, which is only a 5 minute walk, and also rent paddle boards, take an outrigger canoe ride, or just relax on the sand! We did it all....then walked back and hung out at the pool again! My only complaint is that they start taking away the floating bean bag chairs at 4:00, what's up with that? I'm guessing they want us to get out of the pool and get ready for dinner? At night we discovered their main restaurant with ocean views turns into an open air night club with a DJ! With the music playing and the tropical breeze blowing, it was such a great place to dance and have cocktails with friends. We didn't even have to leave the hotel! I can't wait to go back.
Tip: for a great hawaiian breakfast go to Lulu's Restaurant near the zoo, 5 minute drive, 15 minute walk (ask for Bernardo).

Room Tip: The Ocean Front room is amazing, the pictures you can take from your balcony are priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReJoyceJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you chose to stay on your return visit and appreciate your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Family of four enjoyed the pools and beach amenities. The Rum Fire grill was great and convenient. We liked all the close shopping areas and walkable restaurants. The SPG Gold member amenities were a nice touch (easy to check in, easy to get towels, easy to get a table). We would return to this location again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your recent review of our resort. As a valued Gold member we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. Mahalo and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We happened to attend a conference in waikiki and were assigned to stay in this hotel. The usual check-in timings are 3pm onwards, however we had arrived early from San Francisco. Guess we were not so lucky as the rooms were not ready and we had to wait for couple of hours hanging around the hotel. Finally, the rooms were ready at about 315pm and they made it up by providing us with higher floor and partial sea & mountain view. Room was big with a huge balcony. The mountain view from the room was breathtaking and we saw double rainbows almost every evening. Cannot hear any noises in the lobby or outside, hence we had good nights sleep. Our breakfast was arranged in Rum & Fire restaurant which had decent selection to start the day. Pool is big with ocean view and what a feeling of being in the pool while admiring the sunset. The hotel has souvenir shops, spa and other cool shops in the lobby area. If i happen to come to Hawaii again, this hotel would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Any floor with ocean view or mountain view should be nice. Sitting in the balcony and having a cup o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your wonderful review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Hawaii in the future. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent 4 nights here in October and while generally ok I would make 2 comments to Sheraton management - get your checking process sorted. Waiting an hour to check in after a long flight drives people mental.....and the rooms are in dire need of updating.

Having said that - Great location, helpful staff, brilliant view.

But would probably try somewhere else next time until rooms are updated and queues are sorted (breakfast queue too - and there really is no need for this - you just need another person seating people - ONE isn't enough at peak times),

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on top floor - there is a huge air conditioning unit immediately above you that vibrates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback. We truly appreciate your comments and have shared them with our management team. Currently we are planning for our next guest room updates and looking into ways to enhance our guests' arrival experience. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

And it wasn't even the high season! We got an amazing deal on this hotel or would not have chosen it (stopover in Honolulu, normally not a favorite destination; I'd rather go other places in Hawaii). I didn't go in with high expectations and the Sheraton didn't really do anything to improve my average thoughts about it already.

I'm not saying it was a bad stay, it just didn't inspire me to stay there again. Nothing wow about it. It was crowded, so crowded. Not enough pool space for all the guests staying there. I'm fair-skinned and like to stay in an area where I can get shade - the pool area didn't have any option to move the umbrellas around at all, and there were very, very few of them. The umbrella spots were taken very early on, both in the adult and kid areas. That really annoyed me. We had to pay for an umbrella on the beach instead just to get a little shade. No pool attendants taking any orders, to be clear.

The rooms were spacious, but needed refreshing. Clean enough, but not spotless. Lots of noise up and down the halls. The staff was friendly, but not overly accomodating. This is not a luxury hotel at all. Beds were VERY uncomfortable.

I could not wait to leave the chaos behind to a less populated part of Hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HL950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing