We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, big rooms but a little dated.”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, big rooms but a little dated.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice, okay sized infinity pool which can get a little crowded but when it's not full of people, it's really cool to chill and watch the sunset.
Room is big and clean and hotel is conveniently located in Waikiki.
Ordered room service and it was served in a baggie rather than a tray like most hotels.
Overall, good stay although renovations could be good and service could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniq26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your nest Hawaiian vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,250
    2,234
    847
    317
    252
See reviews for
2,040
2,077
162
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were expecting a pretty luxurious hotel, given the room rate (exorbitant, for those of us coming from Australia). Whilst the lobby, and public areas, of this hotel are impressive - the rooms are not. Very tired, ordinary décor, not at all what we'd expect for the tariff. We had an Ocean View room, with a balcony - but we felt like we were risking our lives by setting foot on it. The tiles cracked underfoot, and had crumbled away around the edges; pretty scary. We were travelling with friends, who received an automatic room upgrade on check-in. Given that we are Starwood Preferred members, I thought we'd have a chance of an upgrade, too, but were told "bad luck", nothing available.
I must say the pool and dining areas are beautiful. We were at the hotel for 7 nights, and couldn't get a seat near the pool until a mass exodus of guests after the 6th day; boy did we enjoy it when we were actually able to use the facilities.
One ridiculous experience I had in the shop at the hotel, was when I went to pay for 2 bottles of beer for my husband and our friend. I had only my room key on me (as we'd been by the pool), but the shop assistant refused to sell me alcohol without ID. I am 45 years old!
The location of this hotel is excellent, but it is a VERY large hotel, and therefore very crowded. People who are not guests of the hotel can freely walk onto the premises and use the facilities, which is disappointing for those of us who've paid a considerable amount of money for the privilege.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your recent review of our resort. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing experience. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We will fix the tiles you mentioned and we are working on a way to ensure no non-guests gain access to our pool areas. We are aware the ID procedure in the US is a bit more harsh then in other countries however business here must follow the laws otherwise they risk significant fines or potentially losing their license. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and take your concerns very seriously. We hope you will visit us again in the future. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

my husband and i stayed for four nights in the city view room we had a great stay the Infinity pool was amazing we were served all day by the bar staff and found in general all staff to be helpful and friendly watching the green sea turtles from our pool was fantastic only wish we could of stayed longer the rooms are not cheap - even the city rooms $400 per night only dissapointment was when we checked in as SPG gold members we were asked to be upgraded the staff didnt even check and said they were fully booked - I have my doubts about that! we also only learnt on our last night about the club level by another gold member guest so unclear why the staff did not mention this on our arrival

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we apologize for any misunderstandings you encountered during your stay. As a valued Gold member we truly appreciate your feedback and we will share your comments with the front office management so they can ensure better communication from our staff. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This property went through an extensive renovation about 4 years ago and it definitely shows. The standard rooms are fine, nothing fancy. But, there is so much to do at this hotel and the location is the BEST. For example, within the hotel there is a Baskin Robins ice cream parlor (genius) and several nice shops. And, just outside the hotel there is a food court just steps away with lots of choices. And, the beach location is perfection. Although there are TONS of tourists at Waikiki Beach, there is a reason why some call it the best beach in the world. Great sand and gently rolling waves mean you can relax with the kids. One afternoon, we played with a sea turtle in just three feet of water. The hotel staff said it was fairly rare to see one on this busy beach. Overall, a great hotel for families and couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esqtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your recent feedback. We are always thrilled to read such wonderful comments about our resort. We are happy you enjoy the enhancement we have made over the years and look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location. The staff are extremely friendly and very service oriented. I would highly recommend this hotel. The building is older but has been well maintained. Restaurant pricing is high with fair to good quality; therefore suggest that you eat offsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your recommendation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel would be great for families. We had a Diamond Head view and I'd say it'd have to be one of the best views you could get on Waikiki. We had booked a smoking room but when we checked in we were told that hotel had become 100% non-smoking. It would have been nice to have been told this before we checked in - one of the reasons we chose this hotel because it was one of a few hotels in Honolulu that had smoking rooms. There is a smoking area on Level 2 which consisted of a concrete roof top - no chairs - no shade.
It's a bit noisy but you have to expect that with so many families staying there.
Staff friendliness is a bit hit and miss - the guy who checked us in was really friendly. The woman who checked us out couldn't have been less interested in us (or her job!!). One nice touch - we left a tip every day for the housemaid with a thank you note - each day she left a note thanking us - that's nice and something I haven't seen in other US hotels.
I don't get the resort charge thing. Why not just increase the daily tariff?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvlerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and apologize for any confusion or lack of communication regarding our smoking policy. We would greatly appreciate knowing how you booked your stay so we can be sure to have the information corrected immediately. Thank you again for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was very surprised, in a bad way, by this hotel. Staff were generally very unhelpful and borderline rude with the exception of the club lounge staff who were actually very good. Room had items of trash in corners, pools were murky/unclean and seemed unable to cope with the sheer volume of people in them and associated dirt/sunscreen. Water coolers at pool NEVER had any water in them and only time pool staff spoke to us was to shout at my 2 sons who had inadvertently gone into the adult pool (no signs we could see to advise they were not allowed). When they went into the other poo, area and (again no signs) went into the slide area they were actually screamed at by an attendant as they were now too big for that pool. Food by pool was average but very expensive. When I asked why we had no robes in our room I was bluntly told only club guest got those and I was only a Platinum Starwood guest - first time that has ever been so dismissed.

There also seems to be a partly submerged wall in the water at the beach which my woife was slammed against by a wave.

Club Lounge (yes we had access to that but could not have a bath robe..) was actually excellent and staff there were warm and helpful.

Without doubt the worst and most unfriendly Starwood property I have ever stayed at. Just my opinion, but I would not stay here again

Room Tip: Book a club room as Lounge has excellent view and good breakfast. Upgrading when you get there seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 179Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We would appreciate connecting with you directly so we can properly follow up with you, as some of your comments are very concerning. Mahalo, 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing